Club 3D 7870 Joker XT Edition Review

Resident Evil 5 - DX10

Club 3D HD7870XT Joker Edition Review

Resident Evil 5 DirectX 10

We often comment upon how well Resident Evil 5 scales and despite any game at all being capable of providing a playable experience we still find it an excellent test of how an average game would perform on a given card, and the Joker HD7870XT is fantastic, almost up to GTX680 levels. 

 

 

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 Next»

Most Recent Comments

14-01-2013, 03:19:50

tinytomlogan
Hot on the heels of their success in the OC3D Best of 2012 awards, we take a look at an XT variant of the HD7870 from Club 3D.


http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...112856620l.JPG


Continue Reading

14-01-2013, 03:44:46

airdeano
finally a black PCB..
man this Club 3D is churnin' out some interesting feature cards..
thanks, Tom.

14-01-2013, 04:06:34

CEUOTC
Awesome card and great review TTL dude.

14-01-2013, 05:05:31

dragoonk
Quite some impressive numbers there for a card in that price range, and a black PCB at last. Someone has been listening.

14-01-2013, 05:19:31

Master&Puppet
These Tahiti LE cards are really exciting although I understand that there aren't going to be a lot, if any, of Tahiti LE releases from other manufacturers. It is intended to be a limited edition so get one as soon as you can...they might not be around for that long.

The TUL corporation are a major source for these releases (and TUL either owns or contracts supplies to Club3D, Powercolor and VTX3D). I'm only aware of Sapphire being the other manufacturer to release a Tahiti LE; possibly because of other major manufacturers not wanting to compromise on the existing 7870/7950 price point given the amount of stock they will likely have.

Cards to look out for:
Club3D Joker
Powercolor 7870 Myst
VTX3D 7870 Black
Sapphire 7870 XT

There is also not going to be an AMD reference Tahiti LE. Also worth noting that this will not crossfire with other 7800 "Pitcairn" cards but will work with 7900 cards which obviously have the same "Tahiti" PCB.

14-01-2013, 05:22:58

Koolzy
This reviewed version of the 7870 is a great value. With a nice look and with benchmarks that are better than any other 7870, also with some interesting results compared with other gpu. All of this makes this a great choice for any one that wants a good product vs cash. Nice review Tom.

14-01-2013, 07:02:50

S.T.A.L.K.E.R
Very nice review..This card is very good.I dont know for you guys,but i was always like more NVidia..I know that Ati is faster,but that PhysX from Nvidia are incredible..thanx for great review

14-01-2013, 07:25:14

jamed2017
Looks like a little beast of a card.

14-01-2013, 07:27:39

FTLN
Another top review, the time is coming for me to get a new system....

Do you think were gonna see anything from nvidia to counter this card, like a 660 with more shaders unlocked ???

14-01-2013, 08:35:06

xMBliss
Great review as allways. Was expecting to see a bigger boost in frame rates when overclocked, still a beast of a card for its price.

14-01-2013, 08:42:36

dampchimp
Really interested in this card, just wondered (if I can ask here), where you can get it for this price and with the free games?

14-01-2013, 10:16:53

badtaylorx
just to clarify....is this performance duplicated on ALL tahiti le cards, or just the joker???

14-01-2013, 11:23:00

Nerdfighter
Quote:
Originally Posted by badtaylorx View Post
just to clarify....is this performance duplicated on ALL tahiti le cards, or just the joker???
All Tahiti LE cards have the same core clock and memory clock, so at stock, the answer would be yes. Though I can't vouch for the Sapphire one, because as far as I understand, it hasn't gotten more processing units, but has a higher clock or something in those lines.

What I'm curious about is if the 3 Tahiti LE cards available in Europe: PowerColor 7870 Myst. Edition, VTX3D 7870 Black Edition and Club3D 7870 jokercard have the same cooler and PCB? The Club3D one is around 20 - 25 more expensive, I don't really understand why.

14-01-2013, 11:44:47

JiggaHertz
Really impressed by Club3Ds cards based along the 'cards' theme. Ace, King, Queen, Joker etc.

14-01-2013, 12:22:31

greybeard
tend to agree xmbliss i overclocked a 6870 with gelid icy rev2 cooling to 925 mhz i got 62 fps avg on the heaven benchmark just tried it out for fun

14-01-2013, 12:36:30

Maestro_P
hmm, seems Club3d is trying to get a better image among overclockers. I myself have never been a fan of the brand. Only seen ones that went bad even on stock settings. But that was with an old fx5700 so they could've come a long way since then. Really hope they get competetive with other brands, helps drop the prices

14-01-2013, 12:50:54

J-a-c-o-b
Found this on Amazon I hope, can someone confirm (preferably Tom) that this is the right one.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Club-3D-HD78...8185753&sr=1-2

14-01-2013, 12:55:43

xMBliss
Quote:
Originally Posted by J-a-c-o-b View Post
Found this on Amazon I hope, can someone confirm (preferably Tom) that this is the right one.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Club-3D-HD78...8185753&sr=1-2
yeah the joker one is taihiti le. besides it says it has 1536 stream processors, regular 7870 has 1280.

14-01-2013, 13:12:08

Hails13
It would appear the club 3d seem to be producing some good cards and the black pcb is definatly a bonus, will have to see how much money i have soon but the 5770 could do with an upgrade i think

14-01-2013, 13:17:21

J-a-c-o-b
Shweet, saved to favourites

14-01-2013, 13:36:49

Soda-88
It's been so long since I've seen Club3D cards... I actually had their Ati Radeon 9600XT paired up with AMD Athlon XP 2500+ (Barton; OCed to 3200+), it was amazing for what it costed me. Good to see them doing well with 7000 series

14-01-2013, 14:02:50

Dorkstar
Club3d has really made some impressive products since i've been following them over the past few months. Shame they aren't in the US yet.

14-01-2013, 14:43:25

Martynas
Really nice card from amd & club3d.

14-01-2013, 15:08:47

kharma45
And someone I know just bought a 660 a few days ago, ah well.

14-01-2013, 22:43:10

Mgutierrez33
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dorkstar View Post
Club3d has really made some impressive products since i've been following them over the past few months. Shame they aren't in the US yet.
True freakin story... I would love to get my hands on one o these cards for my Troll build I'm working on, but it seems the only tahiti LE card I can find stateside (atm) is the PowerColor branded card, and the heatsink on that one looks questionable at best. reviews peg the temps as being appropriately high as well .

Also, anyone got any ideas as to water block compatibility with this card? Kind of an oddball, so I would suspect that one doesn't exist (unless you get a GPU-only block)

15-01-2013, 05:04:18

Master&Puppet
Quote:
Originally Posted by J-a-c-o-b View Post
Found this on Amazon I hope, can someone confirm (preferably Tom) that this is the right one.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Club-3D-HD78...8185753&sr=1-2
Quote:
Originally Posted by xMBliss View Post
yeah the joker one is taihiti le. besides it says it has 1536 stream processors, regular 7870 has 1280.
You can also tell by the XT at the end of 7870XT. That's how most companies will be listing them.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mgutierrez33 View Post
Also, anyone got any ideas as to water block compatibility with this card? Kind of an oddball, so I would suspect that one doesn't exist (unless you get a GPU-only block)
Limited edition non-reference cards - I very much doubt anyone will be making waterblocks for these I'm afraid. I've checked cooling configurator and EK have no plans to make one for any of the 7870XTs.

15-01-2013, 05:43:48

iBeInspire
Would be a lovely upgrade for my aging 6850... Don't really have the money for anything other than crossfre now though x.x

15-01-2013, 07:03:12

yassarikhan786
Really fantastic card for the price and awesome review as always

15-01-2013, 10:35:32

powerfuse0
Quote:
Originally Posted by J-a-c-o-b View Post
Found this on Amazon I hope, can someone confirm (preferably Tom) that this is the right one.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Club-3D-HD78...8185753&sr=1-2
Did you order one of those? I would like to know what you got, if you got?

Because i'm looking at getting one of these pretty soon, and they're out of stock on the Kuston PC site that is linked in the review.

16-01-2013, 17:36:29

RizeAllard
It seems to be a real joker in this price! I hope it will be on shelves here too.

16-01-2013, 20:32:56

golemka
i want this card with that pedobear instead of my 5770 ...

17-01-2013, 09:55:38

powerfuse0
just ordered mine

11-02-2013, 14:02:45

Geee-master
Got mine and it's just awesome so worth the wait. Bought of amazon got it 3 weeks later. Truly epic card for the money

11-02-2013, 14:07:21

powerfuse0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geee-master View Post
Got mine and it's just awesome so worth the wait. Bought of amazon got it 3 weeks later. Truly epic card for the money
I got mine a couple of days after I ordered it. Got it from the site TTL said about. Kustom PC or something, Do you find that the fan it loud on 60%? & also does auto fan speeds make the card get too hot?

11-02-2013, 15:45:47

Geee-master
Quote:
Originally Posted by powerfuse0 View Post
I got mine a couple of days after I ordered it. Got it from the site TTL said about. Kustom PC or something, Do you find that the fan it loud on 60%? & also does auto fan speeds make the card get too hot?
Mine clocked at 1150 on the GPU and 1550 on the ram it is quite loud but not as bad as my old xfx 5870 that was way louder than the 7870 on 60% manual fan speed. The cooler is brilliant 32 degrees on idle

09-03-2013, 19:24:41

Rich_
would like to see how more 7950's scale on the 3dmark11 graph
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.