ATI Radeon HD5670

Specs

Often on OC3D we have to take the specifications from a manufacturers webpage. Today, with the HD5670 being so hot off the press that it's still sizzling, we're lucky enough to have a slide from ATI themselves demonstrating the power that this card possesses.

As you can see the main point of interest here is that the GigaFLOPS rating is equal to the Nvidia 9800GTX which ruled the roost for a long while in its 8800GTX guise.

None of the ATI cards have similar theoretical performance levels, although the 4830 comes closest. As we all know though, pure operations per second is only part of the story and how the card goes about handling those instructions in a streamlined manner is just as important.

The other main point is the excellent clock speed. 775mhz is up there with many of the current budget sector cards so hopefully the cooling solution will be such that the heat generated will be well exhausted to ensure good HTPC performance and maybe allow a little headroom for the value-conscious gamer.

Proving the point that clock speed, like GFLOPS, isn't everything, this is running 25mhz faster than the 5850, but I severely doubt it will even come close in performance terms.

So like many things, on paper specifications are all well and good, but the whole architecture and design is the key to performance, rather than certain big figures.

Let's take a closer look at the card.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

14-01-2010, 00:39:00

tinytomlogan
The latest 5000 series card is here, is it as bargintastic as we hoped?

Continue Reading

14-01-2010, 03:54:34

Mul.
Looks like a very reasonable upper entry level graphics card. As a 400 stream processor GPU paired with 512/1024mb GDDR5, it screams DX11 replacement to the once loved Radeon HD 3850/3870 and GeForce 9600/8800 series and while it's specifications are dwarfed by the rest of ATi's range today, there's no getting around the fact that the graphics card is far from "slow" either.

It's performed very much as expected although I can't help but feel that the frame rate drop with Anti Aliasing is slightly abnormal, even for a graphics card of it's calibre. We'll see what future driver releases bring to the table.

A RRP is not bargain of the centure but is sensible when compared against the 105-130 pricetag for the HD 5750/5770. Aside being used as a graphics card for a machine for games, it's low power consumption/noise could make it an ideal HTPC or Workstation graphics card. Like it's bigger brothers it still seems to support up to three monitors and so it wins from a productivity perspective as well.

Edit - Retailers have posted their HD 5670's from around 70 upwards

http://forums.overclockers.co.uk/showthread.php?t=18102060

Froogle indicates similar pricing from smaller retailers. Disappointing.

Top review

14-01-2010, 05:08:58

tinytomlogan
At the time of writing no where had prices listed, 70 isnt great but still not that bad, however for 91 I cant help feeling that I would rather buy a 4870 for example, the only reason to buy this would be its size and power requirements.

14-01-2010, 22:06:56

Makol
is it worth upgrading to the 5670 from the 4670?

15-01-2010, 03:14:38

tinytomlogan
Its going to perform better but I personally would advise if you want to game on it to save your money and buy something better. If you dont want to game then you have no need to upgrade.

15-01-2010, 03:55:23

Makol
I'm just looking for a upgrade on a budget.

I can get 4850 for $120USD or the 5750 for $160USD, but the 5670 seems like a good deal for $99USD.

15-01-2010, 11:34:22

tinytomlogan
I would personally hold out for a 5770 if it was me tbh.

16-01-2010, 01:47:34

Makol
but wouldn't the 5770 be slightly bottlenecked by my cpu?

16-01-2010, 03:26:09

tinytomlogan
What is it with everyone going on about bottle necks all of a sudden! You need as much gpu power as possible dude, better to have too much than not enough. Bottle necks only really come into play when you are talking 2 5870s in your rig

16-01-2010, 03:33:24

Makol
ok thanks, I'm just asking about bottleneck since everywhere else I go people say "LOL Pentium Dual Core!1!!! BOTTLENECK LOLOLOL!!!111!!!!1!!"

17-01-2010, 08:58:55

denis114
Well, i think this card its better for people who build rigs just to save money and do basic things such as internet and games that a lot of PC's can handle. Games such as CS:S, CS 1.6 im pretty sure this card can handle this games, but i would not buy it its a low end card i would save a lil bit and get a 5770.

23-02-2010, 08:58:57

lionsden
hi i have the ati xfx hd 5670 1gb card and have found that it runs worse than my old nvidia 8500gt 512mb card at counter strike source most maps run at between 30 -35 fps and my old card ran all maps at 70-80 fps wether this is a issue with the drivers or counter strike im not sure but games like dirt 2 fallout 3 modern warfare 2 all maxed out run perfect.

23-02-2010, 10:28:49

Runebeard
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='lionsden'
hi i have the ati xfx hd 5670 1gb card and have found that it runs worse than my old nvidia 8500gt 512mb card at counter strike source most maps run at between 30 -35 fps and my old card ran all maps at 70-80 fps wether this is a issue with the drivers or counter strike im not sure but games like dirt 2 fallout 3 modern warfare 2 all maxed out run perfect.
Try running another Source Engine based game and see if that performs similarly. If so, then the likelihood is it's some compatability issue with Source that I would hope can be ironed out by a future driver update.

23-02-2010, 12:35:31

lionsden
hi runebeard thanks for the advice will give that a try and see what happens. also not sure if it did help i installed .netframework 1.1 as i never had it and some maps seem fine now just millitia not getting the fps seems to range from 19 - 100 so quiet inconsistent and do notice the lag when fps drops to that level but hopefully if it is a source problem then they will hopefully resolve it many thanks again.

23-02-2010, 13:58:36

lionsden
hi just a update i installed halflife 2 and lost coastal but as soon as game goes to launch screen goes black for several seconds and then reverts back to desktop have looked on steam forums and looks like this is a common issue with ati cards so just hope they fix the problem soon.

23-02-2010, 18:24:34

tinytomlogan
Have you got the latest physX ect installed dude?

24-02-2010, 12:43:31

lionsden
i did have but guy in shop insisted uninstalling it as i wouldnt need it as only nvidia cards use it plus having reinstalled pc every game i have installed doesnt seem to have installed it so was guessing i wouldnt need it but maybe worth a try.

24-02-2010, 12:48:59

tinytomlogan
Shift will not run correctly without physX, I think you may find that is your problem in this instance now you say it has been uninstalled.

24-02-2010, 12:53:13

lionsden
true tinytomlogan just did a google and your right physx does indeed work with ati radeon cards have just downloaded driver and will install now thanks for the info.

24-02-2010, 12:59:16

lionsden
ok tried that but still no joy guess i will have to wait till some sort of update is available but does make me wonder why they pulled halflife 2 from the bundled version unless they realised there was a problem themselves.

24-02-2010, 13:12:36

lionsden
just did a search for half life 2 ati fixes and seems there was a problem with catalyst once before and they bought out catalyst 4.12 drivers so im guessing its a catalyst driver issue in version 10.2 possibly

24-02-2010, 15:05:30

tinytomlogan
Give physx a try anyways dude.

24-02-2010, 15:16:42

lionsden
done that tinytomlogan still no joy even tried reinstalling directx but just looked on ati forums and found there are problems with all games running the u3 engine and also flight sims so i thinks its a case of just keep looking for new catalsyt updates till problem has been resolved other than that i can only think it may be a hard drive fault but cant see it to be honest.

24-02-2010, 15:26:31

lionsden
this was the only thing i could really see in crash log

half-life 2\hl2\media\Valve.avi (0xcd0bbf8,1,131072,1,0,0xf43fd24) failed with error 11: End of file

half-life 2\hl2_2707_crash_2010_2_23T18_27_56C0.mdmp
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.