ATI 5000 Series Roundup

Conclusion

Conclusion

So what conclusion can be drawn from todays testing?

Firstly I'm sure a lot of you have come into todays review with a preconceived notion of exactly what card you'd like. In previous times the general consensus was to purchase the highest priced card you could afford and stretch if possible to the next one up. For single card purchases that would lead you into looking at the 5970 and pretty much stopping there. So let's start at the top.

HD5970

If our tests show anything it's that the £540 HD5970 is a poor purchase regardless of how much money you have available. Firstly it's the hottest card on test when run at stock settings. The only hotter card is the overclocked 5770. So straight away you have more heat to dispel and a high power draw. Secondly it's enormous at just over a foot long. There aren't a lot of cases around that will take such a behemoth, although we'd imagine anyone with over 500 notes to spend on their graphics will have a suitable case. Finally, and most tellingly, it just doesn't add up on a pure performance level. An overclocked HD5870 is close in most tests and £200 less, and the HD5850 Crossfire setup at stock speeds easily keeps up with even the overclocked HD5970 and is still £100 cheaper. An overclocked HD5850xf setup would blow it away. So if it suits neither the performance junky nor those looking for value for money, what should you buy instead?

Subscribe to OC3D's YouTube channel here

 

 

PerformanceHD5870
The HD5870. This is an amazing card. Truly outstanding. As a single card solution it is the equal of the last-generation king the Radeon 4870X2 at stock settings but with the power savings and heat reduction you'd expect from a single chip. It also clocks incredibly well. We managed to get the core to 1GHz on air and it coped although it was a little too hot for stability in our tests. Nonetheless being £200 cheaper than a HD5970 you could spend half of that saving on a water-block and then the sky is nearly the limit.Truly one of the best ways to spend around £330 you can find.

In Crossfire the HD5870 is far and away the fastest graphics solution we've tested. It reached, Crysis notwithstanding, the magical plateau where you actually wished for even higher settings because no matter how hard you pushed the game settings, or the AA/AF levels, it just laughed and carried on crunching numbers. A 4870X2 still stands up as an exceptional performing card and so with a HD5870 Crossfire setup being so brutally fast and its performance CPU limited, if you can afford the arse-clenching £650 price tag then it will serve for many years to come. Amazingly even that price doesn't seem as silly as it appears because if you brought a new high end single card every couple of years then you'd spend that anyway.

Subscribe to OC3D's YouTube channel here

 

 

GamerHD5850
Moving down the list to the HD5850 this was the little train that could. It's around £100 cheaper than a HD5870 at £230 and performance is around where you'd expect for the price. But my word does it clock. We hit a 1000MHz on the core and could probably have gone a little further. In its overclocked state it just about kept up with the HD5870 so if you're on a bit of a budget then it's easily worth considering. Again price comes into play when looking at Crossfired HD5850s. For a decent Crossfire setup you'd be looking around the £450 mark and the performance slots into about where you'd expect. Better than the £100 cheaper HD5870, about the same as the £100 more expensive HD5970 and quite a bit slower than the £200 more HD5870 Crossfire. Certainly on a performance standpoint the HD5870xf setup is where it's at, but the HD5850xf performs admirably by keeping up with the ever-more disappointing HD5970.

Subscribe to OC3D's YouTube channel here

 

 

 VFMHD5770
Finally the little engine that could, the HD5770. Naturally it doesn't give the immense performance of its bigger brothers, but conversely one can be had from around £115. Playable frame-rates at such high resolutions and detail whilst still allowing for immense AA settings it starts to look like it will be the bargain the 4770s were in the last generation. You could get Crossfire overclocked HD5770s for the same price as a vanilla HD5850 and suddenly we're all stroking our beards and nodding at the possibilities. If "Bang for Buck", or I guess as we're in the UK "Excitement per Euro" or "Pleasure Per Pound", is an important consideration then this is probably the best of the lot. Certainly if you're building a system to a reasonable budget then it has to be considered.

 

 

 

Subscribe to OC3D's YouTube channel here

 

 

Final Thoughts

Phew. I hope you enjoyed that all as much as we did. Making a definitive "buy this" statement isn't easy at all as there are some people who want the best regardless, others who want value for money, still others who just want a cheap card that can game a bit and finally those who want future potential.

Generally our advice can be whittled down to the following :

1) HD5870 Crossfire is as good as it gets, with a price to match. Water-cooled these would be mind-blowing in an OC Crossfire setup.

2) HD5850 is very impressive especially in Crossfire and best for those who can't justify a months wages on eye candy.

3) HD5770 is quite a pocket rocket and we look forward to testing a Crossfire setup, coming soon to OC3D.

4) HD5970 is over-priced and under-performing. HD5850 Crossfire is as quick for less, HD5870 Crossfire annihilates it for £100 more.

InnovationWhichever of the three single GPU cards we tested today you decide upon, you'll be pleased with the performance.The ASUS voltage modified BIOS certainly makes clocking of these cards a joy and we very quickly reached massive gains in a stable manner. If anything we reached the thermal limits of the cooler long before we reached the performance limits of the chip.

We really can't rate the BIOS enough to enable us to hit mega core speeds with stability and a total lack of artifacts. For this reason we happily give it the innovation award.

Once some third party cooling solutions hit the market the ATI Radeon 5 series will truly shine and the Nvidia GF100 needs to be very special indeed to sway consumers.

Many thanks to ASUS for the cards on test today. Discuss this in our forums.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

20-01-2010, 06:26:26

tinytomlogan
Youve all been asking the questions so we felt it was time you got your answers. We got the 4 main cards in the Asus 5000 Series in for a face off review!

Continue Reading

20-01-2010, 07:44:19

killablade
Very nice review! 3DMark Vantage fails though -.-

20-01-2010, 08:17:35

VonBlade
Of course it does. Vantage is bias heavily towards the Nvidia cards and Physx. If Nvidia allowed standalone Physx cards to still be a viable option, or Futuremark wasn't so ridiculously weighted, then the scores would be more impressive from a comparison standpoint.

Finally, who gives a fig if a synthetic "my wedding tackle is so tiny I need to compensate with a big score" benchmark doesn't look great when the actual gaming results are so great?

20-01-2010, 08:38:44

Msm2
A very good review,it makes me want to go and buy 2 5770s to replace these old 4850s.

20-01-2010, 08:41:38

Nocutius
I've been eyeing the 5850 since release but i can't justify spending over 200 for a gfx, specially since my 4870 is still doing quite ok. I hope Nvidia manages to knock down these prices a bit with their new cards.

20-01-2010, 09:54:56

f0x.
Epic review mate, kept me entertained. I think for any new budget pc i build, the 5770 will be the card going in! :P

20-01-2010, 10:29:00

biscuitboy
So perhaps the Best advice for someone with around the 300 mark to spend is buy a 5870 and then buy another when u have the money and need the performance increase?! Top review tom.

20-01-2010, 11:03:31

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='biscuitboy'
So perhaps the Best advice for someone with around the 300 mark to spend is buy a 5870 and then buy another when u have the money and need the performance increase?! Top review tom.
Thats exactly it mate really, the 5870 is the daddy and is my own personal choice of GPU.

20-01-2010, 12:36:01

Colossous
Indeed a good review guys

20-01-2010, 13:16:20

killablade
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='tinytomlogan'
Thats exactly it mate really, the 5870 is the daddy and is my own personal choice of GPU.
Atleast untill nvidia releases their cards

20-01-2010, 13:45:06

biscuitboy
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='killablade'
Atleast untill nvidia releases their cards
Yawn!

20-01-2010, 14:47:20

Makol
I'm pretty much sold on getting a 5770 when I have the money for it. Hopefully the price goes down once Nvidia releases their new cards.

I'm curious as to why the 5670 wasn't included..

20-01-2010, 15:09:07

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Makol'
I'm pretty much sold on getting a 5770 when I have the money for it. Hopefully the price goes down once Nvidia releases their new cards.

I'm curious as to why the 5670 wasn't included..
Because we didnt have an Asus one to hand dude. And the review was about the main 4 gaming cards.

20-01-2010, 15:21:50

Makol
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='tinytomlogan'
Because we didnt have an Asus one to hand dude. And the review was about the main 4 gaming cards.
ah ok, makes sense.

and I think you asked something about your lighting in one of your videos, it's fine.

20-01-2010, 16:04:48

w3bbo
Excellent review m8. I know by experience how time consuming a review like this is. Well done 8)

20-01-2010, 16:06:52

ppuff
Excellent review! Having all this head to head competition on the same graph makes picking a card easier for me. But it seems I have forgotten to water my money tree because it is not growing anything yet.

20-01-2010, 16:08:43

killablade
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='ppuff'
Excellent review! Having all this head to head competition on the same graph makes picking a card easier for me. But it seems I have forgotten to water my money tree because it is not growing anything yet.
Maybe you drowned it xD

20-01-2010, 16:15:10

barkaway
yeah nice review, not that im gonna use it cause ive already got a 5970, not installed though... its lying under the bed cause i havent got the rest of the pc yet:-(

20-01-2010, 16:42:05

VonBlade
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Makol'

I'm curious as to why the 5670 wasn't included..
Well also we'd only just reviewed it.

20-01-2010, 17:36:58

clone38
Just crossifed 2 5870s and im loving it so far

20-01-2010, 17:38:36

killablade
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='clone38'
Just crossifed 2 5870s and im loving it so far
You're making me jealous Very nice

21-01-2010, 01:15:33

Hemicuda
Two plus months after release and the Crossfire driver still doesnt work in CoDs?

Something tells me the green camp pump enough TWIMTBP funding to game devs to get just enough PhysX and tesselation into the games to keep them playable on ATI cards but little better and probably a little drab, while playing on their own GPGPU orientated cards will make the game as look as intimidating as 3-D pr0n on IMAX.

/rinses brain out with Ajax

//shows self to the door

21-01-2010, 02:00:41

kyle9600
Awesome review of the cards, watched all the youtube videos aswell

21-01-2010, 05:49:10

Hemicuda
Sweet driving skills. You missed your calling.

How was the image quality in the Crossfire setups ? any microstuttering apparent during the gameplay ?

21-01-2010, 05:53:08

Nocutius
Was there any micro stuttering present or has the issue finally been resolved or improved with this generation? I can't really see it in the videos.

21-01-2010, 07:15:46

Apans
Thank you for a stunning review!

24-01-2010, 05:05:43

kkyliegeda
Hi,I had to giggle when you mention egg fryers in the review as I have a HD3870X2 Discontinued and (Now in warranty) and I was sure you could nearly light a smoke off it,Tell the truth I dont want it back and I am in the process of getting HIS to upgrade me with a 5850,but two would be the bees knees.C ya Greg

25-01-2010, 17:12:27

Pipari665
Hi, I noticed that you prefer keeping your icons at the top of the desktop? If so, I`ll recommend using objectdock, keeps the essential icons hidden!

Sorry for bad english

25-01-2010, 18:33:27

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Pipari665'
Hi, I noticed that you prefer keeping your icons at the top of the desktop? If so, I`ll recommend using objectdock, keeps the essential icons hidden!

Sorry for bad english
Thats just a test rig dude, I use rocket dock on my main pc

27-01-2010, 04:50:16

boss67
in deed just awesome review !

27-01-2010, 10:02:12

Kurgan
Indeed,

Awesome review, I'm glad I took the time to read it over. Perhaps I'll be in the market for a HD5870 afterall.

Cheers!

K.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.