ATI 5000 Series Roundup

Modern Warfare 2 & Crysis Warhead

Gaming Results Part 1 - First Person

As we recently documented within these pages we've made some changes to the games we're going to be using, and so from the excellent Modern Warfare, we move on to Modern Warfare 2. As with all of our tests today we're going to be running at 1920x1200 with the maximum settings available in game. As Modern Warfare 2 is designed with good gameplay on consoles as a vital component we're lucky because us PC gamers can really crank the image quality up high and still very playable frame-rates.

This is clearly demonstrated in our graph. Even with 8xAA only the stock 5770 is incapable of supplying 60fps average, but it can do it with the overclock the ASUS voltage BIOS allows. However as soon as we move into cards we'd expect to be used for gaming the Infinity Ward game gets quickly chewed up and spat out. A stock 5850 providing nearly 100fps average and not dropping below the magical 60fps barrier is only the beginning. Our Crossfire 5870 setup giving mind blowing frame-rates at a level that makes the 5970, even overclocked, look a bit wheezy.

 

Crysis eh. When it was first released the general opinion was that the graphics were lush, the gameplay pretty ropey, and it needs some mythical future computer to be able to run. Well, here we are with a 3.6GHz i7 Extreme and more graphical horsepower than could have been dreamt about a year ago. How does it fair?

Not well. We had to leave the anti-aliasing off entirely to stop the 5770 grinding to a halt, and although we wondered if the power of the other card might necessitate two runs using different settings we can see that even the 5870 Crossfire setup doesn't hit 60fps. Thankfully an overclocked 5850 provides a sufficient average frame-rate to give a smooth gaming experience, but the dependence of the Crytek engine on Physx, plus some pretty shoddy optimisation, means that nothing yet can give us that 60fps we need.

Ok so we've killed a few people, let's put the pedal to the metal.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

20-01-2010, 06:26:26

tinytomlogan
Youve all been asking the questions so we felt it was time you got your answers. We got the 4 main cards in the Asus 5000 Series in for a face off review!

Continue Reading

20-01-2010, 07:44:19

killablade
Very nice review! 3DMark Vantage fails though -.-

20-01-2010, 08:17:35

VonBlade
Of course it does. Vantage is bias heavily towards the Nvidia cards and Physx. If Nvidia allowed standalone Physx cards to still be a viable option, or Futuremark wasn't so ridiculously weighted, then the scores would be more impressive from a comparison standpoint.

Finally, who gives a fig if a synthetic "my wedding tackle is so tiny I need to compensate with a big score" benchmark doesn't look great when the actual gaming results are so great?

20-01-2010, 08:38:44

Msm2
A very good review,it makes me want to go and buy 2 5770s to replace these old 4850s.

20-01-2010, 08:41:38

Nocutius
I've been eyeing the 5850 since release but i can't justify spending over 200 for a gfx, specially since my 4870 is still doing quite ok. I hope Nvidia manages to knock down these prices a bit with their new cards.

20-01-2010, 09:54:56

f0x.
Epic review mate, kept me entertained. I think for any new budget pc i build, the 5770 will be the card going in! :P

20-01-2010, 10:29:00

biscuitboy
So perhaps the Best advice for someone with around the 300 mark to spend is buy a 5870 and then buy another when u have the money and need the performance increase?! Top review tom.

20-01-2010, 11:03:31

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='biscuitboy'
So perhaps the Best advice for someone with around the 300 mark to spend is buy a 5870 and then buy another when u have the money and need the performance increase?! Top review tom.
Thats exactly it mate really, the 5870 is the daddy and is my own personal choice of GPU.

20-01-2010, 12:36:01

Colossous
Indeed a good review guys

20-01-2010, 13:16:20

killablade
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='tinytomlogan'
Thats exactly it mate really, the 5870 is the daddy and is my own personal choice of GPU.
Atleast untill nvidia releases their cards

20-01-2010, 13:45:06

biscuitboy
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='killablade'
Atleast untill nvidia releases their cards
Yawn!

20-01-2010, 14:47:20

Makol
I'm pretty much sold on getting a 5770 when I have the money for it. Hopefully the price goes down once Nvidia releases their new cards.

I'm curious as to why the 5670 wasn't included..

20-01-2010, 15:09:07

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Makol'
I'm pretty much sold on getting a 5770 when I have the money for it. Hopefully the price goes down once Nvidia releases their new cards.

I'm curious as to why the 5670 wasn't included..
Because we didnt have an Asus one to hand dude. And the review was about the main 4 gaming cards.

20-01-2010, 15:21:50

Makol
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='tinytomlogan'
Because we didnt have an Asus one to hand dude. And the review was about the main 4 gaming cards.
ah ok, makes sense.

and I think you asked something about your lighting in one of your videos, it's fine.

20-01-2010, 16:04:48

w3bbo
Excellent review m8. I know by experience how time consuming a review like this is. Well done 8)

20-01-2010, 16:06:52

ppuff
Excellent review! Having all this head to head competition on the same graph makes picking a card easier for me. But it seems I have forgotten to water my money tree because it is not growing anything yet.

20-01-2010, 16:08:43

killablade
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='ppuff'
Excellent review! Having all this head to head competition on the same graph makes picking a card easier for me. But it seems I have forgotten to water my money tree because it is not growing anything yet.
Maybe you drowned it xD

20-01-2010, 16:15:10

barkaway
yeah nice review, not that im gonna use it cause ive already got a 5970, not installed though... its lying under the bed cause i havent got the rest of the pc yet:-(

20-01-2010, 16:42:05

VonBlade
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Makol'

I'm curious as to why the 5670 wasn't included..
Well also we'd only just reviewed it.

20-01-2010, 17:36:58

clone38
Just crossifed 2 5870s and im loving it so far

20-01-2010, 17:38:36

killablade
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='clone38'
Just crossifed 2 5870s and im loving it so far
You're making me jealous Very nice

21-01-2010, 01:15:33

Hemicuda
Two plus months after release and the Crossfire driver still doesnt work in CoDs?

Something tells me the green camp pump enough TWIMTBP funding to game devs to get just enough PhysX and tesselation into the games to keep them playable on ATI cards but little better and probably a little drab, while playing on their own GPGPU orientated cards will make the game as look as intimidating as 3-D pr0n on IMAX.

/rinses brain out with Ajax

//shows self to the door

21-01-2010, 02:00:41

kyle9600
Awesome review of the cards, watched all the youtube videos aswell

21-01-2010, 05:49:10

Hemicuda
Sweet driving skills. You missed your calling.

How was the image quality in the Crossfire setups ? any microstuttering apparent during the gameplay ?

21-01-2010, 05:53:08

Nocutius
Was there any micro stuttering present or has the issue finally been resolved or improved with this generation? I can't really see it in the videos.

21-01-2010, 07:15:46

Apans
Thank you for a stunning review!

24-01-2010, 05:05:43

kkyliegeda
Hi,I had to giggle when you mention egg fryers in the review as I have a HD3870X2 Discontinued and (Now in warranty) and I was sure you could nearly light a smoke off it,Tell the truth I dont want it back and I am in the process of getting HIS to upgrade me with a 5850,but two would be the bees knees.C ya Greg

25-01-2010, 17:12:27

Pipari665
Hi, I noticed that you prefer keeping your icons at the top of the desktop? If so, I`ll recommend using objectdock, keeps the essential icons hidden!

Sorry for bad english

25-01-2010, 18:33:27

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Pipari665'
Hi, I noticed that you prefer keeping your icons at the top of the desktop? If so, I`ll recommend using objectdock, keeps the essential icons hidden!

Sorry for bad english
Thats just a test rig dude, I use rocket dock on my main pc

27-01-2010, 04:50:16

boss67
in deed just awesome review !

27-01-2010, 10:02:12

Kurgan
Indeed,

Awesome review, I'm glad I took the time to read it over. Perhaps I'll be in the market for a HD5870 afterall.

Cheers!

K.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.