ATI 5000 Series Roundup

Test Setup, Overclocking and Temps

Test Setup and Overclocking

Test Setup

Naturally testing something as potentially insanely powerful as the 5970 requires all the beef it's possible to get to push the cards as hard as we can. Although it would be possible to go really mad and get the LN2 out, we always feel that the results we obtain at OC3D should be easily replicated in the real world by our readers and so we've stuck to a sensible overclock that should be enough.

CPU :                    i7 965 overclocked to 3.6GHz
RAM :                   6GB of OCZ Blade
Audio :                 ASUS Xonar Audio
Motherboard :     ASUS Rampage II Extreme
PSU :                   1000w OCZ Gold
GPU :                   ASUS HD5970, HD5870 and HD5870xf, HD5850 and HD5850xf, HD5770
OS :                     Windows 7 Ultimate 64
Drivers :              Catalyst 9.12

Overclocking

Many early reports about the 5850 said that it could achieve much higher clockspeeds than those they ship with by default, and that the 5970 voltage and speeds were intentionally kept low by ATI to keep the card under the 300w threshold. As the ASUS cards make it so easy to adjust the voltage and push for those high GPU clocks it had to be done.

Firstly please note that the only overclocks were done to the GPU clock as the GDDR5 clock speeds are already pushed high at stock and any overclocking to the memory produced negligible increases, so we concentrated solely upon pushing for the best GPU overclock we could obtain. Stability was determined by a two hour gaming session with the details maxed out. As long as there were no artifacts observed then we considered the overclock to be stable.

Starting with the ASUS HD5770 which actually ships with the highest default voltage of any of the cards on test today we managed to increase the core speed from 850MHz up to 950MHz by upping the voltage from 1.124v to 1.25v.

The HD5850 is the card we were most interested in as it had the potential to produce the biggest gains, and sure enough the default clock speed of 725MHz was managed to be increased to a mind-bending 1GHz core with voltage upped to from 1.15v to 1.275v. A staggering increase.

The ASUS HD5870 ships with 850MHz core and as this is the highest performance single card available we weren't expecting a large increase yet once again the ASUS voltage mod BIOS enabled us to reach 950MHz on the core with the voltage increased from 1.15v to 1.225v.

Finally the HD5970. When ATI first announced this card they took pains to point out that the clock speeds have been kept low to stay within the specifications demanded of a PCIx slot. However as we don't need to stay within an arbitrary limit the default 725MHz at a very low 1.049v swiftly became  900MHz at 1.275v. A very handy increase although we're really stretching the abilities of the 5970 thermal solution.

Temperatures

Remember that we ensured that all the cards were stable over a long period of gaming before declaring it successful overclocks and therefore we didn't think we'd see the egg-frying temperatures some of the early DirectX 10 cards experienced and sure enough we didn't.

The main things to take from this graph are :

1) For all the single chip cards they have lots of headroom for overclocking. Whilst 70c is quite high, it's only similar to the stock results of the last generation, proving the evolution of the cooling solution employed.

2) The 5850 clearly has insane amounts of headroom. To get a 33% increase in clockspeed for only a 5c increase in temperatures is nothing short of outstanding.

3) Finally, it's clear that although the 5970 is perhaps conservatively volted and clocked, it clearly is right at the limit of how much heat the fan and heatsink can expel. We really pushed it to its limits for our testing and it was loud, but it was stable. We'd definitely suggest accepting the extra noise that 100% fan speed brings to get those temperatures down if you plan on running a 5970 full-time.

I hope you're all sitting comfortably, because there is a wealth of data and graphs upcoming. So get your comfy chair and a brew and settle in.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

20-01-2010, 06:26:26

tinytomlogan
Youve all been asking the questions so we felt it was time you got your answers. We got the 4 main cards in the Asus 5000 Series in for a face off review!

Continue Reading

20-01-2010, 07:44:19

killablade
Very nice review! 3DMark Vantage fails though -.-

20-01-2010, 08:17:35

VonBlade
Of course it does. Vantage is bias heavily towards the Nvidia cards and Physx. If Nvidia allowed standalone Physx cards to still be a viable option, or Futuremark wasn't so ridiculously weighted, then the scores would be more impressive from a comparison standpoint.

Finally, who gives a fig if a synthetic "my wedding tackle is so tiny I need to compensate with a big score" benchmark doesn't look great when the actual gaming results are so great?

20-01-2010, 08:38:44

Msm2
A very good review,it makes me want to go and buy 2 5770s to replace these old 4850s.

20-01-2010, 08:41:38

Nocutius
I've been eyeing the 5850 since release but i can't justify spending over 200 for a gfx, specially since my 4870 is still doing quite ok. I hope Nvidia manages to knock down these prices a bit with their new cards.

20-01-2010, 09:54:56

f0x.
Epic review mate, kept me entertained. I think for any new budget pc i build, the 5770 will be the card going in! :P

20-01-2010, 10:29:00

biscuitboy
So perhaps the Best advice for someone with around the 300 mark to spend is buy a 5870 and then buy another when u have the money and need the performance increase?! Top review tom.

20-01-2010, 11:03:31

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='biscuitboy'
So perhaps the Best advice for someone with around the 300 mark to spend is buy a 5870 and then buy another when u have the money and need the performance increase?! Top review tom.
Thats exactly it mate really, the 5870 is the daddy and is my own personal choice of GPU.

20-01-2010, 12:36:01

Colossous
Indeed a good review guys

20-01-2010, 13:16:20

killablade
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='tinytomlogan'
Thats exactly it mate really, the 5870 is the daddy and is my own personal choice of GPU.
Atleast untill nvidia releases their cards

20-01-2010, 13:45:06

biscuitboy
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='killablade'
Atleast untill nvidia releases their cards
Yawn!

20-01-2010, 14:47:20

Makol
I'm pretty much sold on getting a 5770 when I have the money for it. Hopefully the price goes down once Nvidia releases their new cards.

I'm curious as to why the 5670 wasn't included..

20-01-2010, 15:09:07

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Makol'
I'm pretty much sold on getting a 5770 when I have the money for it. Hopefully the price goes down once Nvidia releases their new cards.

I'm curious as to why the 5670 wasn't included..
Because we didnt have an Asus one to hand dude. And the review was about the main 4 gaming cards.

20-01-2010, 15:21:50

Makol
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='tinytomlogan'
Because we didnt have an Asus one to hand dude. And the review was about the main 4 gaming cards.
ah ok, makes sense.

and I think you asked something about your lighting in one of your videos, it's fine.

20-01-2010, 16:04:48

w3bbo
Excellent review m8. I know by experience how time consuming a review like this is. Well done 8)

20-01-2010, 16:06:52

ppuff
Excellent review! Having all this head to head competition on the same graph makes picking a card easier for me. But it seems I have forgotten to water my money tree because it is not growing anything yet.

20-01-2010, 16:08:43

killablade
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='ppuff'
Excellent review! Having all this head to head competition on the same graph makes picking a card easier for me. But it seems I have forgotten to water my money tree because it is not growing anything yet.
Maybe you drowned it xD

20-01-2010, 16:15:10

barkaway
yeah nice review, not that im gonna use it cause ive already got a 5970, not installed though... its lying under the bed cause i havent got the rest of the pc yet:-(

20-01-2010, 16:42:05

VonBlade
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Makol'

I'm curious as to why the 5670 wasn't included..
Well also we'd only just reviewed it.

20-01-2010, 17:36:58

clone38
Just crossifed 2 5870s and im loving it so far

20-01-2010, 17:38:36

killablade
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='clone38'
Just crossifed 2 5870s and im loving it so far
You're making me jealous Very nice

21-01-2010, 01:15:33

Hemicuda
Two plus months after release and the Crossfire driver still doesnt work in CoDs?

Something tells me the green camp pump enough TWIMTBP funding to game devs to get just enough PhysX and tesselation into the games to keep them playable on ATI cards but little better and probably a little drab, while playing on their own GPGPU orientated cards will make the game as look as intimidating as 3-D pr0n on IMAX.

/rinses brain out with Ajax

//shows self to the door

21-01-2010, 02:00:41

kyle9600
Awesome review of the cards, watched all the youtube videos aswell

21-01-2010, 05:49:10

Hemicuda
Sweet driving skills. You missed your calling.

How was the image quality in the Crossfire setups ? any microstuttering apparent during the gameplay ?

21-01-2010, 05:53:08

Nocutius
Was there any micro stuttering present or has the issue finally been resolved or improved with this generation? I can't really see it in the videos.

21-01-2010, 07:15:46

Apans
Thank you for a stunning review!

24-01-2010, 05:05:43

kkyliegeda
Hi,I had to giggle when you mention egg fryers in the review as I have a HD3870X2 Discontinued and (Now in warranty) and I was sure you could nearly light a smoke off it,Tell the truth I dont want it back and I am in the process of getting HIS to upgrade me with a 5850,but two would be the bees knees.C ya Greg

25-01-2010, 17:12:27

Pipari665
Hi, I noticed that you prefer keeping your icons at the top of the desktop? If so, I`ll recommend using objectdock, keeps the essential icons hidden!

Sorry for bad english

25-01-2010, 18:33:27

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Pipari665'
Hi, I noticed that you prefer keeping your icons at the top of the desktop? If so, I`ll recommend using objectdock, keeps the essential icons hidden!

Sorry for bad english
Thats just a test rig dude, I use rocket dock on my main pc

27-01-2010, 04:50:16

boss67
in deed just awesome review !

27-01-2010, 10:02:12

Kurgan
Indeed,

Awesome review, I'm glad I took the time to read it over. Perhaps I'll be in the market for a HD5870 afterall.

Cheers!

K.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.