ATI 5000 Series Roundup

Cards on Test

Today's Cards On Test

Initially it would appear that the ASUS cards are reference based designs, utilising the stock ATI cooling solution and in the de rigueur black and red the current ATI design is based upon. However as is often the case, under the hood things are surprisingly different.

ASUS have loaded their ATI 5 cards with a voltage modifiable BIOS. This is a far cry from the old days of having to get out your pencil and should aid overclocking tremendously. But don't think that this is some special for a review site as the versions available on the retail market also come with this handy feature that should enable some very stable core overclocks.

Naturally with only the reference cooling there is very little to say about these cards. The main points of interest are the very tasteful colour scheme which will match a lot of peoples systems. Most high-end motherboards are starting to be produced in black these days, and a lot of the extreme performance memory has a red and black colour scheme. So it's great to see that it's possible to create a cohesive internal look without having to spend yet more money having everything rebuilt into certain colours.

Secondly ASUS have resisted the temptation to plaster the cards with some random fantasy figure, lending an air of class to the whole thing with a small logo in the bottom left corner and on the fan the only branding visible.

To aid in identification we've labelled the cards for you, although basically the higher the card, the bigger it is. The 5770 is 220mm long, the 5850 242mm, the 5870 is 280mm and the 5970 a quite staggering 305mm long. Suffice to say the 5970 is definitely not for those with a mid-tower case and even some of the smaller or poorer designed full-towers might struggle.

  

Moving on you'll notice the plethora of outputs available on all the models. ATI's 5 series of cards come with Eyefinity, a technology that enables triple-monitors to be used for an all-around gaming experience that has to be seen to be believed. With the need to output to three monitors for this it stands to reason that there are so many outputs. For those still on a single monitor setup, which we'd imagine to be nearly everyone, having such a choice ensures that no matter what monitor you have there is a compatible output.

   

We see a lot of exceptionally desirable hardware come through our offices, but there is something about the four cards all together that made even the most jaded of us get a little warm and fuzzy. Don't they look lovely.

It's time to see our test setup and try some overclocking.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

20-01-2010, 06:26:26

tinytomlogan
Youve all been asking the questions so we felt it was time you got your answers. We got the 4 main cards in the Asus 5000 Series in for a face off review!

Continue Reading

20-01-2010, 07:44:19

killablade
Very nice review! 3DMark Vantage fails though -.-

20-01-2010, 08:17:35

VonBlade
Of course it does. Vantage is bias heavily towards the Nvidia cards and Physx. If Nvidia allowed standalone Physx cards to still be a viable option, or Futuremark wasn't so ridiculously weighted, then the scores would be more impressive from a comparison standpoint.

Finally, who gives a fig if a synthetic "my wedding tackle is so tiny I need to compensate with a big score" benchmark doesn't look great when the actual gaming results are so great?

20-01-2010, 08:38:44

Msm2
A very good review,it makes me want to go and buy 2 5770s to replace these old 4850s.

20-01-2010, 08:41:38

Nocutius
I've been eyeing the 5850 since release but i can't justify spending over 200 for a gfx, specially since my 4870 is still doing quite ok. I hope Nvidia manages to knock down these prices a bit with their new cards.

20-01-2010, 09:54:56

f0x.
Epic review mate, kept me entertained. I think for any new budget pc i build, the 5770 will be the card going in! :P

20-01-2010, 10:29:00

biscuitboy
So perhaps the Best advice for someone with around the 300 mark to spend is buy a 5870 and then buy another when u have the money and need the performance increase?! Top review tom.

20-01-2010, 11:03:31

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='biscuitboy'
So perhaps the Best advice for someone with around the 300 mark to spend is buy a 5870 and then buy another when u have the money and need the performance increase?! Top review tom.
Thats exactly it mate really, the 5870 is the daddy and is my own personal choice of GPU.

20-01-2010, 12:36:01

Colossous
Indeed a good review guys

20-01-2010, 13:16:20

killablade
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='tinytomlogan'
Thats exactly it mate really, the 5870 is the daddy and is my own personal choice of GPU.
Atleast untill nvidia releases their cards

20-01-2010, 13:45:06

biscuitboy
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='killablade'
Atleast untill nvidia releases their cards
Yawn!

20-01-2010, 14:47:20

Makol
I'm pretty much sold on getting a 5770 when I have the money for it. Hopefully the price goes down once Nvidia releases their new cards.

I'm curious as to why the 5670 wasn't included..

20-01-2010, 15:09:07

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Makol'
I'm pretty much sold on getting a 5770 when I have the money for it. Hopefully the price goes down once Nvidia releases their new cards.

I'm curious as to why the 5670 wasn't included..
Because we didnt have an Asus one to hand dude. And the review was about the main 4 gaming cards.

20-01-2010, 15:21:50

Makol
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='tinytomlogan'
Because we didnt have an Asus one to hand dude. And the review was about the main 4 gaming cards.
ah ok, makes sense.

and I think you asked something about your lighting in one of your videos, it's fine.

20-01-2010, 16:04:48

w3bbo
Excellent review m8. I know by experience how time consuming a review like this is. Well done 8)

20-01-2010, 16:06:52

ppuff
Excellent review! Having all this head to head competition on the same graph makes picking a card easier for me. But it seems I have forgotten to water my money tree because it is not growing anything yet.

20-01-2010, 16:08:43

killablade
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='ppuff'
Excellent review! Having all this head to head competition on the same graph makes picking a card easier for me. But it seems I have forgotten to water my money tree because it is not growing anything yet.
Maybe you drowned it xD

20-01-2010, 16:15:10

barkaway
yeah nice review, not that im gonna use it cause ive already got a 5970, not installed though... its lying under the bed cause i havent got the rest of the pc yet:-(

20-01-2010, 16:42:05

VonBlade
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Makol'

I'm curious as to why the 5670 wasn't included..
Well also we'd only just reviewed it.

20-01-2010, 17:36:58

clone38
Just crossifed 2 5870s and im loving it so far

20-01-2010, 17:38:36

killablade
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='clone38'
Just crossifed 2 5870s and im loving it so far
You're making me jealous Very nice

21-01-2010, 01:15:33

Hemicuda
Two plus months after release and the Crossfire driver still doesnt work in CoDs?

Something tells me the green camp pump enough TWIMTBP funding to game devs to get just enough PhysX and tesselation into the games to keep them playable on ATI cards but little better and probably a little drab, while playing on their own GPGPU orientated cards will make the game as look as intimidating as 3-D pr0n on IMAX.

/rinses brain out with Ajax

//shows self to the door

21-01-2010, 02:00:41

kyle9600
Awesome review of the cards, watched all the youtube videos aswell

21-01-2010, 05:49:10

Hemicuda
Sweet driving skills. You missed your calling.

How was the image quality in the Crossfire setups ? any microstuttering apparent during the gameplay ?

21-01-2010, 05:53:08

Nocutius
Was there any micro stuttering present or has the issue finally been resolved or improved with this generation? I can't really see it in the videos.

21-01-2010, 07:15:46

Apans
Thank you for a stunning review!

24-01-2010, 05:05:43

kkyliegeda
Hi,I had to giggle when you mention egg fryers in the review as I have a HD3870X2 Discontinued and (Now in warranty) and I was sure you could nearly light a smoke off it,Tell the truth I dont want it back and I am in the process of getting HIS to upgrade me with a 5850,but two would be the bees knees.C ya Greg

25-01-2010, 17:12:27

Pipari665
Hi, I noticed that you prefer keeping your icons at the top of the desktop? If so, I`ll recommend using objectdock, keeps the essential icons hidden!

Sorry for bad english

25-01-2010, 18:33:27

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Pipari665'
Hi, I noticed that you prefer keeping your icons at the top of the desktop? If so, I`ll recommend using objectdock, keeps the essential icons hidden!

Sorry for bad english
Thats just a test rig dude, I use rocket dock on my main pc

27-01-2010, 04:50:16

boss67
in deed just awesome review !

27-01-2010, 10:02:12

Kurgan
Indeed,

Awesome review, I'm glad I took the time to read it over. Perhaps I'll be in the market for a HD5870 afterall.

Cheers!

K.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.