ASUS VW266H Monitor Review

Conclusion

ASUS VW266H    Review

Conclusion

With more and more games being like movies as PC hardware technology improves the amount of eye candy available, and movies becoming more like games with lots of action and more CG than real props, the line most definitely is becoming blurred. It wasn't too long ago that movies weren't fill with 1 second cuts for the ADD generation, and games were incapable of pumping out the detail and speed necessary to appear similar to a movie.

Back then it was important to mention that movie performance was good, or game performance was good. Whatever. Now gaming and movies are so intertwined it's pretty much just static images, moving images, and, to a lesser extent, text.

Static images are great. Photos look excellent. Even with the limitations of the 6-bit TN panel it's still possible to differentiate between subtle shade differences. Sure it's not up to the quality of a professional graphics-editing panel, but considering the relative price difference I don't think anyone but the most optimistic would expect it to be.

As for gaming and movies this was one area I'd expect the VW266H to fall down. It's still a 1920x1200 monitor, but 2 inches bigger than most. So naturally those two inches mean larger pixels. So you'd understandably expect there to be rough edges even with anti-aliasing on, just because of the sheer size of each pixel. Not a bit of it. In extreme contrast situations (a harsh black to white transition for example) the eagle eyed might spot a slight tiny minuscule little loss in edge smoothness. However the fact I had to use four different words to emphasise how teeny-weeny and small that loss is, should tell you that only the extremely anal or nerdy will find fault, and they'll find fault with anything.

The extra size made everything SO much more enjoyable to play and watch. If, like me, you read a lot on-line or have to read a lot as part of your work, then you wont realise how much you're squinting at the screen until you switch to this larger format. It's all just so much more relaxed and wonderful.

So if you've got about £260 to spend on a monitor and want a good quality image, a nice looking monitor, a poor stand but VESA compatibility and you have the room for a big one, then the Asus VW266H should be on your shortlist.

It comes with the OC3D Recommended Award, and that's good enough for me.

    

Thanks to Asus for providing the VW266H for todays review. Discuss in our forums.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

12-07-2010, 04:29:16

tinytomlogan
The last Asus monitor we looked at had a great panel and an abysmal design. How does this latest one fair?

Continue Reading

12-07-2010, 05:56:02

F-alienware
I soooo nearly got an Asus back in January when I got my Hannspree. Thing was it was literally a neck and neck race and the Asus cost more.

Great review as always Bryan and top marks for actually bothering to show the viewing angles. I've read so many reviews now where they say "viewing angles are not very good" but don't bother to show you how good.

Very impressive.

12-07-2010, 06:22:42

silenthill
Nice review, if only ASUS put a TV tuner in this monitor it would have been a great monitor which you can sit back and watch TV, I think because of the size and the ability to connect to Component (YPbPr) or HDMI for the XBOX or PS3 and even a DVD player this monitor should have been a all in one. As for games if youre sitting near it you need to set the Antialiasing on your graphic card to at least 8X because for that size monitor it would defiantly show those rough edges no matter how good the panel is, but there is a solution to this just go back to about 1m from the monitor when youre playing a game of course you will have to use a game pad but I guarantee you will have a better gaming experience.

12-07-2010, 08:21:43

Goran
really thinking of buying this monitor for uni, can use it for a pc monitor, can plug my mac mini in for htpc, an xbox in to hdmi and a digital tuner in the component

saweeeeeeeet

where do you suggest buying from?

12-07-2010, 08:34:05

silenthill
www.bargain-mad.co.uk are selling it for 262.99 check it out

12-07-2010, 09:30:55

tinytomlogan
Price and a link to the product is at the top of each page - CCL have it in stock fella.

12-07-2010, 10:58:16

Goran
oh THATS where the price is! looked through each page to find it

i'm not sure about ccl, had a bad experience with them the first time round

12-07-2010, 11:35:07

silenthill
Just wondering how much power this monitor consumes, couldnt find it in the review.

12-07-2010, 14:14:23

F-alienware
I really like Scan. As much as I wanted to hate them for the mess up they made with my Lanparty* I can't. Through and through their customer service is excellent.

*Had a DOA brand new Lanparty Dark, sent it back and they didn't realise mine was new and sent me some old crusty refurbished one. Mind you, they did fix that (RMA again) but I had to end up ordering the Crosshair 2 and getting a cash refund cos their RMA can be slow.

12-07-2010, 16:17:27

silenthill
you will always have problems with most retailers these days the problem is not with the company it is with the staff nobody cares anymore it's just a job with minimal wage if they loss it they will find something ells for the same low wage.

12-07-2010, 16:38:03

F-alienware
Scan's staff were great. I mean yeah, some one made a mistake in the RMA dept but not once did I have to pay a penny in shipping.

Annoyingly I didn't know that the Crosshair 2's bios logo app kills boards, so that had to go back too. I tell you man, with computers when it rains it bloody pours

12-07-2010, 16:48:56

silenthill
I totally agree if something goes wrong with the system the rest of the components join in and make your day really miserable

12-07-2010, 16:50:08

thestepster
ill +1 on scans RMA being great i got a neo vortexx but when it got here it was all busted up they picked it up the next day took it back seen it was busted and gave me a refund strait off
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.