ASUS VW266H Monitor Review

Splendid!

ASUS VW266H   Review

Those Splendid Modes

It's difficult to find a picture that fully demonstrates the difference between the five stock modes on the VW266H. Especially because they either seem to wash the colours out and crank up the brightness, or add saturation and contrast.

Scenery mode is up first and definitely goes heavy on the contrast, with not so much brightness adjustments but quite a lot of saturation. I'd assume this is designed for "scenic" things such as azure seas and rolling green fields. But a volcano is scenery and it doesn't really work so well here.

Second we have Standard which, unsurprisingly given that these were taken post calibration, gives us a good balance between retaining detail in the shadow areas and still having deep blacks to contrast against the lava.

ASUS VW266H  Review Scenery Mode     ASUS VW266H  Review  

Theatre mode seems to be the Spinal Tap "None more black" version of Scenery mode with everything but brightness taken up to 11. Try watching The Dark Knight in this mode and it might give a good indication of what it's like to be partially sighted.

Game mode has a bit more contrast, a bit more brightness, and a bit more saturation over the standard settings. It's actually the closest of the four non-standard modes to something you might actually want to live with.

ASUS VW266H  Review     ASUS VW266H  Review  

Finally Night View mode, is very similar to gamer, but with the edge taken off the brightness to try and give your eyes a rest in the darker evenings.

ASUS VW266H  Review

In built presets like these are more of a bother than any use. The scenery mode is pretty dark with lots of clipping going on on the histogram. The theatre mode is so dark as to entirely erase any shadow detail at all. Even the light stuff is black.

The boring answer is to just take your time calibrating the standard mode, and then leave it the hell alone because it will be great for all applications. And indeed it was.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

12-07-2010, 04:29:16

tinytomlogan
The last Asus monitor we looked at had a great panel and an abysmal design. How does this latest one fair?

Continue Reading

12-07-2010, 05:56:02

F-alienware
I soooo nearly got an Asus back in January when I got my Hannspree. Thing was it was literally a neck and neck race and the Asus cost more.

Great review as always Bryan and top marks for actually bothering to show the viewing angles. I've read so many reviews now where they say "viewing angles are not very good" but don't bother to show you how good.

Very impressive.

12-07-2010, 06:22:42

silenthill
Nice review, if only ASUS put a TV tuner in this monitor it would have been a great monitor which you can sit back and watch TV, I think because of the size and the ability to connect to Component (YPbPr) or HDMI for the XBOX or PS3 and even a DVD player this monitor should have been a all in one. As for games if youre sitting near it you need to set the Antialiasing on your graphic card to at least 8X because for that size monitor it would defiantly show those rough edges no matter how good the panel is, but there is a solution to this just go back to about 1m from the monitor when youre playing a game of course you will have to use a game pad but I guarantee you will have a better gaming experience.

12-07-2010, 08:21:43

Goran
really thinking of buying this monitor for uni, can use it for a pc monitor, can plug my mac mini in for htpc, an xbox in to hdmi and a digital tuner in the component

saweeeeeeeet

where do you suggest buying from?

12-07-2010, 08:34:05

silenthill
www.bargain-mad.co.uk are selling it for 262.99 check it out

12-07-2010, 09:30:55

tinytomlogan
Price and a link to the product is at the top of each page - CCL have it in stock fella.

12-07-2010, 10:58:16

Goran
oh THATS where the price is! looked through each page to find it

i'm not sure about ccl, had a bad experience with them the first time round

12-07-2010, 11:35:07

silenthill
Just wondering how much power this monitor consumes, couldnt find it in the review.

12-07-2010, 14:14:23

F-alienware
I really like Scan. As much as I wanted to hate them for the mess up they made with my Lanparty* I can't. Through and through their customer service is excellent.

*Had a DOA brand new Lanparty Dark, sent it back and they didn't realise mine was new and sent me some old crusty refurbished one. Mind you, they did fix that (RMA again) but I had to end up ordering the Crosshair 2 and getting a cash refund cos their RMA can be slow.

12-07-2010, 16:17:27

silenthill
you will always have problems with most retailers these days the problem is not with the company it is with the staff nobody cares anymore it's just a job with minimal wage if they loss it they will find something ells for the same low wage.

12-07-2010, 16:38:03

F-alienware
Scan's staff were great. I mean yeah, some one made a mistake in the RMA dept but not once did I have to pay a penny in shipping.

Annoyingly I didn't know that the Crosshair 2's bios logo app kills boards, so that had to go back too. I tell you man, with computers when it rains it bloody pours

12-07-2010, 16:48:56

silenthill
I totally agree if something goes wrong with the system the rest of the components join in and make your day really miserable

12-07-2010, 16:50:08

thestepster
ill +1 on scans RMA being great i got a neo vortexx but when it got here it was all busted up they picked it up the next day took it back seen it was busted and gave me a refund strait off
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.