ASUS VW266H Monitor Review

Introduction and Technical Specs

ASUS VW266H  Review

Introduction

Recently we had the Designo from Asus across our test bench and found that it was one of the better TN panels we've come across, but let down hugely by one of the stupidest stands we've ever seen. It definitely was a case of form over function.

Of course to have such a cool panel did mean we were eager to convince Asus to let us have something based upon their excellent (for a TN) panel, but with a more usable design.

They were, as always, only too happy to help and so we found ourselves in possession of a behemoth of a thing, the Asus VW266H.

Thankfully this is much more of a standard design monitor, as we will see on the next page, and so hopefully it will combine the ergonomic importance of a monitor, with the quality we saw from the Designo.

Technical Specifications

Most Asus monitors have a fairly standard set of specifications. In a similar way to how the BIOS of all Asus motherboards are nearly identical with just a few tweaks here and there, such it is with their monitor range.

This might of course be taken as a sign of lazy design. Re-badging the same old thing all the time. Whereas actually it makes a lot of sense. By utilising similar design elements across the range it ensures that those of us who struggle to afford a high-end model to not feel like we've been diddled on the feature set, and yet it also allows Asus to keep costs down and so we actually stand a better chance of affording a higher end model.

TFT-LCD PanelPanel Size: 25.5“ Wide Screen
True Resolution: 1920X1200
Pixel Pitch: 0.287mm
Brightness(Max): 300 cd/㎡
Contrast Ratio (Max.): 20000 :1 (ASCR)
Display Color: 16.7M
Viewing Angle (CR≧10): 170°(H)/160°(V)
Response Time: 2 ms (Gray-to-Gray)
Video FeaturesTrace Free Technology
SPLENDID Video Intelligence Technology
SPLENDID Video Preset Modes (5 modes)
Skin-Tone Selection (3 mode)
HDCP support
Color Temperature Selection(5 modes)
Audio FeaturesStereo Speakers 3Wx2 stereo RMS
Convenient HotkeySPLENDID Video Preset Mode Selection
Auto. Adjustment
Brightness Adjustment
Volume Adjustment
Input Selection
Input / OutputPC Input: DVI-D/D-Sub
PC Audio Input: 3.5mm Mini-jack
Video Input: Component(YPbPr)/HDMI
AV Audio Input: HDMI
Audio Output: SPDIF
Earphone jack: 3.5mm Mini-jack


Let's go and have a look at the monitor itself.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

12-07-2010, 04:29:16

tinytomlogan
The last Asus monitor we looked at had a great panel and an abysmal design. How does this latest one fair?

Continue Reading

12-07-2010, 05:56:02

F-alienware
I soooo nearly got an Asus back in January when I got my Hannspree. Thing was it was literally a neck and neck race and the Asus cost more.

Great review as always Bryan and top marks for actually bothering to show the viewing angles. I've read so many reviews now where they say "viewing angles are not very good" but don't bother to show you how good.

Very impressive.

12-07-2010, 06:22:42

silenthill
Nice review, if only ASUS put a TV tuner in this monitor it would have been a great monitor which you can sit back and watch TV, I think because of the size and the ability to connect to Component (YPbPr) or HDMI for the XBOX or PS3 and even a DVD player this monitor should have been a all in one. As for games if youre sitting near it you need to set the Antialiasing on your graphic card to at least 8X because for that size monitor it would defiantly show those rough edges no matter how good the panel is, but there is a solution to this just go back to about 1m from the monitor when youre playing a game of course you will have to use a game pad but I guarantee you will have a better gaming experience.

12-07-2010, 08:21:43

Goran
really thinking of buying this monitor for uni, can use it for a pc monitor, can plug my mac mini in for htpc, an xbox in to hdmi and a digital tuner in the component

saweeeeeeeet

where do you suggest buying from?

12-07-2010, 08:34:05

silenthill
www.bargain-mad.co.uk are selling it for 262.99 check it out

12-07-2010, 09:30:55

tinytomlogan
Price and a link to the product is at the top of each page - CCL have it in stock fella.

12-07-2010, 10:58:16

Goran
oh THATS where the price is! looked through each page to find it

i'm not sure about ccl, had a bad experience with them the first time round

12-07-2010, 11:35:07

silenthill
Just wondering how much power this monitor consumes, couldnt find it in the review.

12-07-2010, 14:14:23

F-alienware
I really like Scan. As much as I wanted to hate them for the mess up they made with my Lanparty* I can't. Through and through their customer service is excellent.

*Had a DOA brand new Lanparty Dark, sent it back and they didn't realise mine was new and sent me some old crusty refurbished one. Mind you, they did fix that (RMA again) but I had to end up ordering the Crosshair 2 and getting a cash refund cos their RMA can be slow.

12-07-2010, 16:17:27

silenthill
you will always have problems with most retailers these days the problem is not with the company it is with the staff nobody cares anymore it's just a job with minimal wage if they loss it they will find something ells for the same low wage.

12-07-2010, 16:38:03

F-alienware
Scan's staff were great. I mean yeah, some one made a mistake in the RMA dept but not once did I have to pay a penny in shipping.

Annoyingly I didn't know that the Crosshair 2's bios logo app kills boards, so that had to go back too. I tell you man, with computers when it rains it bloody pours

12-07-2010, 16:48:56

silenthill
I totally agree if something goes wrong with the system the rest of the components join in and make your day really miserable

12-07-2010, 16:50:08

thestepster
ill +1 on scans RMA being great i got a neo vortexx but when it got here it was all busted up they picked it up the next day took it back seen it was busted and gave me a refund strait off
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.