Asus VG236H 3D Vision Monitor Review

Conclusion

Asus VG236H 3D  Vision Monitor Review

Conclusion

I think we all need a good lie down after that, so congratulations if you've made it this far.

With so much said in the main portion of the review, thankfully this conclusion will be hopefully briefer. I've tried to cover all the positive aspects within the main body, so a few of the less-enjoyable aspects will have to be covered here. It's why we always hope that you read the entire review to understand a product, and if you've just skipped to the conclusion then shame on you, and go and read it all. We'll wait.

It's been quite a balancing act with the Asus VG236H. The primary focus has to be the screen, but the 3D Vision is such a part of the package and the price, whilst also being the first time that we've covered it here at OC3D that it needed to be explained in depth too. They are so intertwined it's difficult to talk about one, without mentioning the other.

The main questions are does the 3D work and is the V236H a good monitor. To both the answers are an emphatic yes.

3D really works. I wish you could all pop round and see it because until you have, you'll think it's a gimmick. Or perhaps you'll remember those red and cyan glasses and presume that it's similar to that. It couldn't be further from it. There is an old axiom that 'seeing is believing', and with 3D Vision it is very apt. The main thing that I ramble on to anyone within earshot about is the sheer depth you get. Everything feels like it's exactly where you'd expect it to be in real-life.

This is helped greatly by the quality of the Asus VG236H monitor. The glasses when active do darken the scene somewhat, akin to giving the contrast a big slap. Thankfully the Asus provides such a crisp colourful image that when the glasses are doing their thing it actually still looks good.

Of course with any positive, there are negatives. Not everyone is capable of viewing in 3D. Everyone I demonstrated it to could see it fine, but my girlfriend got a real motion-sickness feeling within seconds. So it's yet another reason to actually see it in action.

The second issue is that 3D really works in a theatre environment. A big screen, darkness all around, very much ideal conditions. However at home your monitor by no means fills your vision. So as the glasses are turning on and off 60 times a second, your peripheral vision is very aware of the flickering. Similar to the above issue I am very sensitive to hertz flicker, and so this might be more of an issue for me than many. Nonetheless it's something to be aware of. Not being the whole of your vision also does take away somewhat from 3D effect. At the cinema you haven't got a keyboard in front of you. Or mice and coffee cups and arms. All these things combine to reduce the immersive nature a tad. Finally on this note the way that 3D works means the effect isn't as pronounced as on a big screen. If the two images are nearer each other then, as I explained on page four, your brain processes them as being not as far away or as near. So a 30' screen 100' away from you can give huge depth. A 23 inch monitor a foot or two away just can't give that cinema effect.

Finally what nearly kills the entire VG236H, that shiny screen. I'm sure many of you started off on CRTs and always found the fact that the room, the sun, and worst of all you, were reflected in the screen to be hugely off-putting. We all rejoiced when TFT monitors appeared with their matte screens and removed this forever. No longer was the tiniest gleam of sunlight or white t-shirt invading all you saw.

So what on earth possessed Asus to make the screen piano black?? One sure-fire way to reduce the immersion that 3D aims to give is to make sure that your room is reflected in the screen. It's like having a black mirror in front of you. Anyone with a iPhone or iPod touch will know about the gimmick applications that pretend to turn it into a mirror by turning all your icons off. This is shinier than one of those. Inexcusable. It's bad enough that it diminishes the effect of the piano black bezel, let alone it affecting any time you have something remotely dark on your screen.

Is it possible to wrap all this up then. At £400 just for the monitor it's over-priced. It's certainly one of the best TN panels we've ever seen, better even than the previous Asus efforts we've seen. So if you don't plan on using the 3D, look elsewhere. But of course you do plan on using it, and for that it works exceptionally well.

The inclusion of the 3D Vision package mean this is an all-in-one solution for around the price of a cheap 120hz monitor and the 3D Vision. For that you get a great monitor with a great stand from a brand you know will perform.

Just be aware the 3D needs a dark room to be at its best. The shiny coating on the monitor really needs a dark room to be at its best (well really it needs to be binned off at the earliest hardware revision and the guy who thought of it taken out the back and shot). And not everything works as well with 3D as you might hope. Age of game is no indicator of compatibility.

At the risk of dragging an old cliché out, this is a try before you buy. You need to try it because if 3D works for you and you can cope with the niggly issues, it's a bigger improvement than the switch from SDTV to HDTV.

   

Thanks to Asus for providing the VG236H for review. Discuss in our forums.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

21-07-2010, 05:52:09

tinytomlogan
Want to make the leap to 3D but don't fancy limiting yourself to 1680? Asus have a solution for you with the VG236H

Continue Reading

21-07-2010, 08:39:56

rpearl
If you get a 3D monitor like this, does everything have to be viewed in 3D all the time, or can you view games and such like a normal monitor if you want to give your eyes a rest or something?

21-07-2010, 09:27:04

tinytomlogan
You just hit the button on the 3D emitter and the whole system goes back to 2D mode.

21-07-2010, 12:30:51

silenthill
There is an old axiom that says 'seeing is believing' in this case very true, custom pc reviewed 3D vision a few months ago and give it a absolute NO they said it give you a headache after one hour of playing and the 3D effect wears out, so for me it is a absolute NO until the technology evolves to something more mature also I read a review in bit-tech that claimed that the FPS drop dramatically when using 3D vision so another downer, last week I went to CURRYS and a sales person showed me a 3D movie clip on a 50 3D plasma, to be honest it was very impressive but after a while the 3D effect did wear out, fact is the brain can only be tricked for a short time and all the current 3D products in the market are at the first stages of the evolution of the 3D technology.

21-07-2010, 13:53:12

Runebeard
I kind of think it's proably something you just have to adjust to. You don't seem to hear complaints about 3D films, and Custom PC did bad mouth 3D vision, but I stand firm supporting it. Of course it might be weird and your aim might be off completely to begin with, yet this makes sense as when Tom explained how 3D works.

The normal 2D image only imitates 3D through depth perception in terms of the size of object in reference to the foreground. The 3D vision is different in the like real vision one eye effectively sees slightly more of one side of an object and the other eye vice versa, your brain then combines the images to give you the overall image perceiving 3D.

This is probably why it takes some getting used to as your brain will see the 3D of your room and then a second 3D image of different depth on the monitor, hence why it might get confused and lead to some people getting headaches or sometimes just poor aim.

Like patting your head while rubbing your stomach however, the brain can be taught to distinguish between simultaneous tasks affecting the same area of the brain.

Apache pilots effectively learn to look like a Chameleon looking at different images with each eye and still maintaining an overall picture without feeling sick or losing perception of depth.

I think with a little practice it would be easy to adjust to the change in picture and you'd soon be fragging people the same as always.

Of course there's the fact you can still just watch films (if you didn't want to game with them on) providing the 3D movie experience at home.

I myself have bought a 3D vision monitor in preparation for my pc I'm still building (seems like ages, tho I did start planning it in feb lol).

We'll see how I get on eventually.

21-07-2010, 15:26:00

silenthill
hope you finish your pc soon like to know your honest opinion on 3D vision after having it for a few days and getting adjusted to it.

21-07-2010, 17:02:09

F-alienware
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='silenthill'
There is an old axiom that says 'seeing is believing' in this case very true, custom pc reviewed 3D vision a few months ago and give it a absolute NO they said it give you a headache after one hour of playing and the 3D effect wears out, so for me it is a absolute NO until the technology evolves to something more mature also I read a review in bit-tech that claimed that the FPS drop dramatically when using 3D vision so another downer, last week I went to CURRYS and a sales person showed me a 3D movie clip on a 50 3D plasma, to be honest it was very impressive but after a while the 3D effect did wear out, fact is the brain can only be tricked for a short time and all the current 3D products in the market are at the first stages of the evolution of the 3D technology.
3D vision is never going to catch on ever until it does away with those ridiculous f***ing glasses. The problem is that not every one can wear those. Take me for example, I suffer with motion sickness. I used a virtualboy for about ten minutes and threw up. The technology is just all wrong. I mean, look at Virtual Reality. Where the heck has that gone? It's gone because a huge lump of the people who tried it just couldn't live with it, it just isn't good for you.

What they need to do is create a proper depth of view screen that can do it properly without having to fool you. It's quite easily done, you just layer several LCDs over one another with no silver backing. You then create a movie or game in layers so that they have a viewpoint they can make into a vanishing point. Until that happens 3D is not 3D.

Nvidia have been wasting money on this crap for bloody years now. It's just good money after bad trying to invent something that just doesn't work as an idea. I DO NOT want to have to wear a stupid set of glasses on my head that are going to screw up my eyesight any more than it already is.

I can't even play handhelds because I spent too long on the Gameboy as a kid and it buggered my eyesight.

22-07-2010, 18:32:02

steve30x
I am looking for a bigger monitor. My Samsung SM206BW is starting to show its age. I have it with 4 or 5 years now and the colours arent as good as they were when I got it first. Also I want to game with a bigger monitor than my 20

11-10-2010, 09:47:59

cheekychappie
Hi there,

New member here. I am looking at getting the Asus to use with my Xbox 360, which is starting to get 3D games coming online, starting with call of duty in November.

I have heard that to get 120hz you need to connect via the DVI port, so would a hdmi to dvi connector work for this?

Also, I see that there is an IR transmitter which you connect to your pc, any ideas how this would work with the xbox?

Many thanks,

Cheeky

11-10-2010, 10:24:08

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by cheekychappie View Post

Hi there,

New member here. I am looking at getting the Asus to use with my Xbox 360, which is starting to get 3D games coming online, starting with call of duty in November.

I have heard that to get 120hz you need to connect via the DVI port, so would a hdmi to dvi connector work for this?

Also, I see that there is an IR transmitter which you connect to your pc, any ideas how this would work with the xbox?

Many thanks,

Cheeky
Really not sure about xbox specifics yet tbh dude, untill they release detailed information we couldnt answer without it being a guess, sorry fella

02-11-2010, 08:56:49

johanzparku
HI guys!i`m interesting in these 3D monitors for while.....but one thing is really more important 2 me then 3D glasses...i wuld like 2 know,if i can run games(FPShooter 4 example) in 2D,without glasses,but with Vertical Sync locked on 120fps???as it means 2 me 120hz=120fps max in Vsync.or is it still maximun 60fps like any other LCD monitors on the market? i get something from the review,but im not really clever from it...thank u for answers

02-11-2010, 11:17:36

thestepster
2d it will be 60fps mate not sure if that changes in 3d tho

but the screen will function as a 2d monitor it doesnt need to run in 3d

02-11-2010, 13:12:27

johanzparku
thank u mate it helped a little i still have 2 decide if i shuld try this one and get hands on 3Dvision later or buy some superior quality LED monitor and continue with 2D gaming because of my glasses and cross-eye

02-11-2010, 14:27:56

Mr. Strawberry
i want this

but 400 is a bit to much

could get another 2 monitors for surround vision and still have 100 left over :/

02-11-2010, 14:35:38

AMDFTW
you could almost get a dell IPS 24' monitor

that would wipe it

02-11-2010, 14:36:15

Mr. Strawberry
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMDFTW View Post

you could almost get a dell IPS 24' monitor

that would wipe it
and that

06-11-2010, 20:29:52

Black
If I'm palying games in 2D mode with 120Hz refresh time, do I have to set Vsynch ON?

Second question - is it ok to play games in 2D mode with refresh 100 Hz? or better use 60 Hz

27-11-2010, 15:39:39

johanzparku
Alrightso i bought this monitor 14 days ago,and it is great piece of lcd....super fast,colors are rich,and for gaming it is a great choice!

and YES!!!and it is pushing 120fps in 2D mod when the Vsync is on,the only thing you need to do is set up the refresh rate in nvidia drivers for 120hz....didn`t try it in 3D mod tho

anyway i`m really happy with this purchase

27-11-2010, 16:28:35

Mr. Strawberry
is it wrong that i want to get one of these just to watch jackass and saw in 3D lol

27-11-2010, 16:29:33

thestepster
yeah saw 3d was utter poo and jackass has to be seen on the cinemas massive screens
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.