ASUS ROG MARS 2 Review

AvP and Crysis 2

ASUS ROG MARS 2 Review

Alien vs Predator

Starting with the gorgeous Giger-inspired Alien vs Predator the MARS 2 is clearly capable of handling the highest detail. The Water-Cooled HD6990 is just ahead, but it's close between the HD6690, GTX580SLI and MARS 2.

Crysis 2

We've got the DX11 results on another page, but for now the 'out of the box' version of Crysis 2 presents no challenge for the MARS 2. It's worth noticing that the minimum and maximum frame-rates aren't quite up there with a GTX590. That's a definite shock to us considering the relative pricing of the two.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next»

Most Recent Comments

16-09-2011, 04:07:25

tinytomlogan
Recently won the lottery and aren't sure what to buy? Perhaps the MARS 2 from the Republic of Gamers branch of ASUS is just the ticket...



Continue Reading

16-09-2011, 04:53:12

Youngie1337
Had a quick read, oh my the price >.<. lol @ 1 for price haha, I would prefer 3x580'S, DEFO not for me lol. I'll wait until it's in the acceptable price range.

16-09-2011, 05:11:21

Excalabur50
Watched the full vid today GREAT review as always nice card if you got money burning a hole in your pocket.

16-09-2011, 05:36:04

Sgt.Bilko
Thanks for a good and thorough review.

Agreed preformance is disappointing but I think the damn thing looks like it's been in a fender bender with that 3 slot grill and the sloping fan cover. It just looks wrong.

16-09-2011, 07:12:37

Solidarity
I have not watched the videos yet, but I did skim read the written review. Saw the price, and realised this card is more expensive than my entire rig. If I was the type of person who had enough money to just throw around, I still wouldn't get this card.

16-09-2011, 07:14:45

yassarikhan786
Brilliant review of an overpriced card. I've seen these cards going for upto 1500 on Ebay.

16-09-2011, 07:17:34

dugdiamond
i'm gonna have to start donating blood, if i am going to be able to afford GPUs like this one. BUT, it is a shame i am only a stone!!!

16-09-2011, 08:11:12

badtaylorx
am i the only one who thinks $1500 USD is reasonable??? the construction of this thing as well as all of the R&D behind it more than justifies its price.....an extra $500 for that.......if i didnt have 2 rigs @ the moment and HD7XXX wasn't right around the corner,,, id seriously be considering this!!!

16-09-2011, 10:27:32

yassarikhan786
Quote:
Originally Posted by badtaylorx View Post

am i the only one who thinks $1500 USD is reasonable??? the construction of this thing as well as all of the R&D behind it more than justifies its price.....an extra $500 for that.......if i didnt have 2 rigs @ the moment and HD7XXX wasn't right around the corner,,, id seriously be considering this!!!
It would be more like $1,700 for us british guys and girlies and no one can justify that much money for the performance you get.

16-09-2011, 10:40:44

SPS
Quote:
Originally Posted by yassarikhan786 View Post

It would be more like $1,700 for us british guys and girlies and no one can justify that much money for the performance you get.
It's 1100

16-09-2011, 10:43:35

yassarikhan786
Quote:
Originally Posted by SPS View Post

It's 1100
I know it's 1100. I was simply expressing the amount in dollars to get my point across.

16-09-2011, 10:52:47

SPS
Quote:
Originally Posted by yassarikhan786 View Post

I know it's 1100. I was simply expressing the amount in dollars to get my point across.
It confused me because you said it was $1700 for us british, which sounded like you thought it cost 1700 but accidentally put the dollar sign after reading the above post.

Nevermind anyways lol

16-09-2011, 10:59:24

yassarikhan786
Quote:
Originally Posted by SPS View Post

It confused me because you said it was $1700 for us british, which sounded like you thought it cost 1700 but accidentally put the dollar sign after reading the above post.

Nevermind anyways lol
lol. If we could get the card shipped from the USA with the shipping costs not being too steep, it would still not be worth it over two 580's in sli.

16-09-2011, 11:06:11

jonowee
To fit all that on a single PCB, nerd porn.

But no; it makes two, even three-way SLI 580 Lightning look like a bargain with just as much power delivery porn. But the MARS II is a technical achievement worth a hat tip to ASUS

16-09-2011, 12:56:39

silenthill
[/size][size="3"]not happy with the noise of the 120'' fans much to loud for 1200 card

16-09-2011, 13:51:34

Ya93sin
Rather have 2x580s than this, and even then only if I had 3 monitors or something.

As Tom said, you could get all the watercooling stuff you need that would keep the cards cool, you could OC the cards as well, and the performance is higher still, but maybe this is for those who want ease of mind and have a stack lying around somewhere.

17-09-2011, 05:33:54

Alicarve
good review thanks was tempted until i saw the price

17-09-2011, 08:00:18

Master&Puppet
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post

Recently won the lottery and aren't sure what to buy? Perhaps the MARS 2 from the Republic of Gamers branch of ASUS is just the ticket...
Jesus. Enough said.

M&P

19-09-2011, 13:44:58

Hippie Tech
Great review ! And yes, I skipped through the gaming parts.

Did someone say nerd porn !? Bring it on ! haha.. Hearing that made me want to join this forum lol..

pEACe

20-09-2011, 08:40:15

Bungral
Nice one Tom.

No chance of me ever buying one of these or even being interested in doing so.

23-09-2011, 01:44:18

Siwini
Overpriced no doubt. I'll stick with my 570.

23-09-2011, 04:43:03

SkinToxicated
judging by Toms review, it doesnt seem to become greater than the sum of its parts. yeah it looks the business, but how can you justify something thats doesnt put much more on the screen than 2 SLI'd 580s and is 400 sheets more?

dunno if its my sense talking, but if someone gave me a blank Scan/Aria voucher to build a rig i still dont think i would drop one of these in it

23-09-2011, 04:58:13

yassarikhan786
Quote:
Originally Posted by SkinToxicated View Post

judging by Toms review, it doesnt seem to become greater than the sum of its parts. yeah it looks the business, but how can you justify something thats doesnt put much more on the screen than 2 SLI'd 580s and is 400 sheets more?

dunno if its my sense talking, but if someone gave me a blank Scan/Aria voucher to build a rig i still dont think i would drop one of these in it
The only game it really excels at is metro 2033. Other than that it is on par with two 580's. Two factory overclocked 580's would beat the Mars 2 in performance.

23-09-2011, 06:58:55

jonowee
Quote:
Originally Posted by SkinToxicated View Post

judging by Toms review, it doesnt seem to become greater than the sum of its parts. yeah it looks the business, but how can you justify something thats doesnt put much more on the screen than 2 SLI'd 580s and is 400 sheets more?

dunno if its my sense talking, but if someone gave me a blank Scan/Aria voucher to build a rig i still dont think i would drop one of these in it
If you have to think about price to performance with this card, you most likely shouldn't buy it.

23-09-2011, 07:28:04

SkinToxicated
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonowee View Post

If you have to think about price to performance with this card, you most likely shouldn't buy it.
very true. This is card that you want rather than a card you need
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.