ASUS ROG MARS 2 Review

Test Setup, Overclocking and Temps

ASUS ROG MARS 2 Review

Test Setup

With the latest drivers on board and enough PSU power to light London, we're ready to put the MARS 2 through its paces.

ASUS ROG MARS 2
ForceWare 285.27
Intel Core-i7 950 @ 4GHz
Gigabyte G1 Assassin
Corsair AX1200W
6GB Mushkin Redline
Noctua NH-D14
Windows 7 Ultimate x64

Overclocking and Temperatures

Straight away we have to start with a bit of a complaint. This is the premium of all premium graphics cards, and so as such little things like the second GPU coming with a higher core voltage out of the box just shouldn't happen. We can understand if we had two different single GTX580s, but for something that's the price of a Tri-SLI GTX580 setup we expect our chips to be cherry picked from the very finest. 

ASUS ROG MARS 2 Review     ASUS ROG MARS 2 Review  

Of course if we have a difference in starting voltages this makes a big difference in ending speeds, and so it proves with the second of our two GPUs capable of a much higher clock speed and voltage to the first. It's wise to sync them and so you end up with a £1000 card that only overclocks 30MHz. Not good enough.

ASUS ROG MARS 2 Review     ASUS ROG MARS 2 Review

Thankfully though the extended development time and subsequent switch across to the GF110 GPU has meant the coolness benefits that chip brought. Even with two chips stressing the cooler the MARS 2 doesn't go above 79°C.

ASUS ROG MARS 2 Review

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next»

Most Recent Comments

16-09-2011, 04:07:25

tinytomlogan
Recently won the lottery and aren't sure what to buy? Perhaps the MARS 2 from the Republic of Gamers branch of ASUS is just the ticket...



Continue Reading

16-09-2011, 04:53:12

Youngie1337
Had a quick read, oh my the price >.<. lol @ 1 for price haha, I would prefer 3x580'S, DEFO not for me lol. I'll wait until it's in the acceptable price range.

16-09-2011, 05:11:21

Excalabur50
Watched the full vid today GREAT review as always nice card if you got money burning a hole in your pocket.

16-09-2011, 05:36:04

Sgt.Bilko
Thanks for a good and thorough review.

Agreed preformance is disappointing but I think the damn thing looks like it's been in a fender bender with that 3 slot grill and the sloping fan cover. It just looks wrong.

16-09-2011, 07:12:37

Solidarity
I have not watched the videos yet, but I did skim read the written review. Saw the price, and realised this card is more expensive than my entire rig. If I was the type of person who had enough money to just throw around, I still wouldn't get this card.

16-09-2011, 07:14:45

yassarikhan786
Brilliant review of an overpriced card. I've seen these cards going for upto 1500 on Ebay.

16-09-2011, 07:17:34

dugdiamond
i'm gonna have to start donating blood, if i am going to be able to afford GPUs like this one. BUT, it is a shame i am only a stone!!!

16-09-2011, 08:11:12

badtaylorx
am i the only one who thinks $1500 USD is reasonable??? the construction of this thing as well as all of the R&D behind it more than justifies its price.....an extra $500 for that.......if i didnt have 2 rigs @ the moment and HD7XXX wasn't right around the corner,,, id seriously be considering this!!!

16-09-2011, 10:27:32

yassarikhan786
Quote:
Originally Posted by badtaylorx View Post

am i the only one who thinks $1500 USD is reasonable??? the construction of this thing as well as all of the R&D behind it more than justifies its price.....an extra $500 for that.......if i didnt have 2 rigs @ the moment and HD7XXX wasn't right around the corner,,, id seriously be considering this!!!
It would be more like $1,700 for us british guys and girlies and no one can justify that much money for the performance you get.

16-09-2011, 10:40:44

SPS
Quote:
Originally Posted by yassarikhan786 View Post

It would be more like $1,700 for us british guys and girlies and no one can justify that much money for the performance you get.
It's 1100

16-09-2011, 10:43:35

yassarikhan786
Quote:
Originally Posted by SPS View Post

It's 1100
I know it's 1100. I was simply expressing the amount in dollars to get my point across.

16-09-2011, 10:52:47

SPS
Quote:
Originally Posted by yassarikhan786 View Post

I know it's 1100. I was simply expressing the amount in dollars to get my point across.
It confused me because you said it was $1700 for us british, which sounded like you thought it cost 1700 but accidentally put the dollar sign after reading the above post.

Nevermind anyways lol

16-09-2011, 10:59:24

yassarikhan786
Quote:
Originally Posted by SPS View Post

It confused me because you said it was $1700 for us british, which sounded like you thought it cost 1700 but accidentally put the dollar sign after reading the above post.

Nevermind anyways lol
lol. If we could get the card shipped from the USA with the shipping costs not being too steep, it would still not be worth it over two 580's in sli.

16-09-2011, 11:06:11

jonowee
To fit all that on a single PCB, nerd porn.

But no; it makes two, even three-way SLI 580 Lightning look like a bargain with just as much power delivery porn. But the MARS II is a technical achievement worth a hat tip to ASUS

16-09-2011, 12:56:39

silenthill
[/size][size="3"]not happy with the noise of the 120'' fans much to loud for 1200 card

16-09-2011, 13:51:34

Ya93sin
Rather have 2x580s than this, and even then only if I had 3 monitors or something.

As Tom said, you could get all the watercooling stuff you need that would keep the cards cool, you could OC the cards as well, and the performance is higher still, but maybe this is for those who want ease of mind and have a stack lying around somewhere.

17-09-2011, 05:33:54

Alicarve
good review thanks was tempted until i saw the price

17-09-2011, 08:00:18

Master&Puppet
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post

Recently won the lottery and aren't sure what to buy? Perhaps the MARS 2 from the Republic of Gamers branch of ASUS is just the ticket...
Jesus. Enough said.

M&P

19-09-2011, 13:44:58

Hippie Tech
Great review ! And yes, I skipped through the gaming parts.

Did someone say nerd porn !? Bring it on ! haha.. Hearing that made me want to join this forum lol..

pEACe

20-09-2011, 08:40:15

Bungral
Nice one Tom.

No chance of me ever buying one of these or even being interested in doing so.

23-09-2011, 01:44:18

Siwini
Overpriced no doubt. I'll stick with my 570.

23-09-2011, 04:43:03

SkinToxicated
judging by Toms review, it doesnt seem to become greater than the sum of its parts. yeah it looks the business, but how can you justify something thats doesnt put much more on the screen than 2 SLI'd 580s and is 400 sheets more?

dunno if its my sense talking, but if someone gave me a blank Scan/Aria voucher to build a rig i still dont think i would drop one of these in it

23-09-2011, 04:58:13

yassarikhan786
Quote:
Originally Posted by SkinToxicated View Post

judging by Toms review, it doesnt seem to become greater than the sum of its parts. yeah it looks the business, but how can you justify something thats doesnt put much more on the screen than 2 SLI'd 580s and is 400 sheets more?

dunno if its my sense talking, but if someone gave me a blank Scan/Aria voucher to build a rig i still dont think i would drop one of these in it
The only game it really excels at is metro 2033. Other than that it is on par with two 580's. Two factory overclocked 580's would beat the Mars 2 in performance.

23-09-2011, 06:58:55

jonowee
Quote:
Originally Posted by SkinToxicated View Post

judging by Toms review, it doesnt seem to become greater than the sum of its parts. yeah it looks the business, but how can you justify something thats doesnt put much more on the screen than 2 SLI'd 580s and is 400 sheets more?

dunno if its my sense talking, but if someone gave me a blank Scan/Aria voucher to build a rig i still dont think i would drop one of these in it
If you have to think about price to performance with this card, you most likely shouldn't buy it.

23-09-2011, 07:28:04

SkinToxicated
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonowee View Post

If you have to think about price to performance with this card, you most likely shouldn't buy it.
very true. This is card that you want rather than a card you need
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.