Asus Radeon HD 5850 1GB GDDR5 Graphics Card

Conclusion

Conclusion
 
The Asus Radeon HD 5850 has proven itself to be a stunning graphics card, offering performance that is very close to the range topping HD 5870 but with a more pleasant price tag. It should be noted that it sports many of the HD 5870's perks such as ATi Eyefinity Technology, sub 30W power consumption during idle operation and relatively low noise. When you finally factor in that the graphics card was capable of overclocking to the same speeds as the Radeon  HD 5870 and is over an inch shorter allowing for compatability in smaller cases, it seems like a great purchase. 
 
Asus haven't done all that much to separate their product from the rest from a "hard product" point of view, but then again neither has anyone else. Like a number of other brands, Asus have thrown in a coupon of the upcoming DirectX 11 compliant race driving game, DiRT 2 and has a fairly standard accessory list. The only real Asus exclusive extras was the SmartDoctor Overclocking tool, which in all fairness allowed us to overclock past the realms of ATi Overdrive but sadly we were unable to adjust the graphics card's operational voltage. Asus as a brand does stand out from an aftersales support point of view by offering 3 years of warranty on their graphics cards, which is higher than the likes of HIS, Gigabyte, XFX, Sapphire and VTX that offer either 1 or 2 years instead. As it is not uncommon for graphics cards to fail, this could be considered to be a strong plus point for opting for the Asus Radeon HD 5850 over other brands.
 
So the overall verdict? If you're in the market for a graphics card around the £200 mark, then take a long hard look at the Asus Radeon HD 5850...but good look trying to find one. Given the stock shortage of these graphics cards, you will have to join a preorder queue in order to buy one. Patience is the key but you should be prepared to wait for a certain amount of time that could be measurable in weeks to get your hands on one and this is regardless of the brand. In all honesty, today's circumstances are such that if you really want a Radeon HD 5800 series graphics card, then you should purchase whatever is available at the time for the cheapest price. With a lack of supply and an influx of demand will inevitably see further price increases. As the prices of these graphics cards creep higher and higher, it gets to a point where the product is no longer worth it. Some graphics card brand prices will rise more or less than each other and because of this, it's tough to recommend any particular brand of Radeon HD 5850 over another, especially when you strip away accessories, duration of warranty and any decorations they are all exactly the same.
 
Without starting another rant over stock shortage, I must stress that the Asus Radeon HD 5850 1GB is an excellent product and is unlikely to disappoint. Given a sensible retail price, I would have no quarms in recommending it as a future graphics card purchase. Well done Asus.
 
The Good
 
- Solid Performance
- Overclocked to HD 5870 frequencies
- Quiet
- Excellent Packaging
- Three Year Warranty
 
The Mediocre
 
- Voltage Adjustment in SmartDoctor not operative
 
The Bad
 
- None
 
 
All at OC3D would Like to Asus for supplying a Radeon HD 5850 for review. You can discuss further in our forums.
 
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

16-11-2009, 06:04:21

tinytomlogan
Mul takes a look at the Asus Radeon HD 5850 1GB GDDR5 Graphics Card.

Continue Reading

16-11-2009, 06:28:29

kimandsally
Very nice review covered enough to want to buy one.

16-11-2009, 06:47:25

Rastalovich
Awesome card, it's a damn shame that they've seen fit to hype the prices. All said and done, hitting the market at around 200 and slipping to 175-ish would have made it mouth-watering for some.

I think it's gotten to the stage that lack of availabilty needs to be in the bad section 'at the time of writing', in so much that when ASUS see the review/feedback they can perhaps take more notice of what the enthusiasts are saying also. Having a choice, but not being able to find it, is a really bad thing.

Tool looks good, not so good with the voltage thing lacking, perhaps an upd8 will come along to sort that out.

Typical of ASUS gfxcards I've experienced of late, well build, look pretty good and is probably sounds strange, but I bet it felt good when u took it out of the anti static.

Good stuff, bad timing maybe.

16-11-2009, 07:31:58

Mr. Smith
The price gouging is unacceptable IMO. The lack of availability for these new products (and SSD's) is getting to be a bit of a joke.

It is a nice mid range card though, it performs well on the test bed. It will be interesting to see how these DX11 cards handle DX11 titles...

16-11-2009, 08:42:55

kimandsally
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Mr. Smith'
The price gouging is unacceptable IMO. The lack of availability for these new products (and SSD's) is getting to be a bit of a joke.

It is a nice mid range card though, it performs well on the test bed. It will be interesting to see how these DX11 cards handle DX11 titles...
I totally agree it's like us saying we are now going to work 3 days a week but to cover for the lack of wages we will increase our wages by 40% to cover for the loss we will take.

These Basterds decide to make less and charge more to keep their income the same as making more for less. We are in recession all workers get litlle or no wage increase and companies like this will reduce staff to make less then charge more to make the price right so the Basterds at the top make more money for employing less and working less as well.

Simple answer no one buy a single item until the price drops, we can easily force them to drop the price, it would not harm us to not buy the card for a month yet it would cripple their company if we don't.

16-11-2009, 19:03:07

Maverick1dj
Am i the only one that noticed the Crysis Warhead graph was actually the Call of Duty stats?

Maybe it's because i always jump to those FPS results

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='kimandsally'

Simple answer no one buy a single item until the price drops, we can easily force them to drop the price, it would not harm us to not buy the card for a month yet it would cripple their comany if we don't.
If people weren't out trying to buy them the price wouldn't be so high, ye olde supply and demand.

Blame the ****s that want to pay over the odds for such kit, the buisness' are just taking advantage of it... unfortunately that's what all business' do!

16-11-2009, 19:23:06

Mul.
Yikes, that was a bit of a mix up on my part! Fixed

16-11-2009, 19:58:27

kimandsally
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Maverick1dj'

f people weren't out trying to buy them the price wouldn't be so high, ye olde supply and demand.

Blame the ****s that want to pay over the odds for such kit, the buisness' are just taking advantage of it... unfortunately that's what all business' do!
Another one of the lads good on you at least there are a few of us that will not pay over inflated prices.

17-11-2009, 07:51:49

Rastalovich
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Maverick1dj'

If people weren't out trying to buy them the price wouldn't be so high, ye olde supply and demand.

Blame the ****s that want to pay over the odds for such kit, the buisness' are just taking advantage of it... unfortunately that's what all business' do!
It's kinda ironic too that through-out mostly all of this period, everyone and their dog, who would slam the other camp for being as expensive as they want to be - have pretty much all shut the hell up.

Ipso, it's not the manufacturers fault, it's the consumer ?

U are correct tho. The prices for everything are there - take it or leave it. Just as when fuel is running out, minor stations will jack up their prices.

Let's be consistent tho aye.

17-11-2009, 08:46:35

Maverick1dj
A businesses purpose is to make money so you can't blame them for latching onto the rarity of a product and hacking up the prices, I'm not saying it's moral, but i certainly don't find it surprising, when has any business corporation been successful from being moral? It just doesn't go hand in hand.

The only power we consumers have is to club together, unfortunately that seems to be against our nature, there's enough show offs and kit junkies out there that want to one up their peers by shelving unnecessarily amounts of cash out for the newest and best kit in spite of their own wallet just to say 'I have this, you don't!' IMO these people let the side down, it's foolish false macho-ism .

As for the whole camp/fan-boy behaviour i really don't get it, i have no loyalty to any company as they have no loyalty to me (first paragraph explains this) those who think they do are truly misinformed, when i build a PC or purchase components i buy the best i can for the money I'm willing to spend with a slight eye on the near future. The company that get's my cash is the one that offers the best goods cheapest... period.

performance/cost/longevity - no amount of branding, advertising, supply issues, rave reviews will detract me from these 3 basic rules.

anyways... bit of a rant and well off topic whoopsies

22-11-2009, 21:11:36

srjulasp
I accept with information:it's gotten to the stage that lack of availabilty needs to be in the bad section 'at the time of writing', in so much that when ASUS see the review/feedback they can perhaps take more notice of what the enthusiasts are saying also.

24-11-2009, 16:04:38

TC93
I assume this review is written for another country, because the XFX warranty in America is the best you can get, its a double lifetime warranty, far better than the Asus warranty.

25-11-2009, 07:51:50

Mul.
Hi TC93,

This review was written in England, where XFX offers 24 months warranty on Radeon HD 5800 series graphics cards.

27-11-2009, 07:56:26

Rastalovich
I had 12 months warranty on an XFX GTX280. It crapped the bed and they failed to replace it - they sent a refund minus usage costs to the online store.

Imo - that isn't a 12 month warranty. Not my fault they got no stock.

Used to champion XFX myself, not anymore.

27-11-2009, 08:28:02

kimandsally
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Maverick1dj'
A businesses purpose is to make money so you can't blame them for latching onto the rarity of a product and hacking up the prices, I'm not saying it's moral, but i certainly don't find it surprising, when has any business corporation been successful from being moral? It just doesn't go hand in hand.

The only power we consumers have is to club together, unfortunately that seems to be against our nature, there's enough show offs and kit junkies out there that want to one up their peers by shelving unnecessarily amounts of cash out for the newest and best kit in spite of their own wallet just to say 'I have this, you don't!' IMO these people let the side down, it's foolish false macho-ism .

As for the whole camp/fan-boy behaviour i really don't get it, i have no loyalty to any company as they have no loyalty to me (first paragraph explains this) those who think they do are truly misinformed, when i build a PC or purchase components i buy the best i can for the money I'm willing to spend with a slight eye on the near future. The company that get's my cash is the one that offers the best goods cheapest... period.

performance/cost/longevity - no amount of branding, advertising, supply issues, rave reviews will detract me from these 3 basic rules.

anyways... bit of a rant and well off topic whoopsies
Just so well put I wish I had wrote it.

06-12-2009, 15:11:35

mrapoc
I for one will refuse to pay ott prices

feck them, my 8800gt can wait

06-12-2009, 19:54:25

Hope
What is the likeliness of picking these up for around 100 around february?

06-12-2009, 22:58:19

tinytomlogan
Id say you havnt got a hope in hell tbh

07-12-2009, 05:55:48

w3bbo
Prices will no doubt drop some when NVidia release their latest range as they did with the X18**, X19** etc. How much by will depend on the performance difference.

28-12-2009, 20:06:48

Lynx
Nice card, nice review, I am buying this tommorow morning from scan. 230 O.O

Although it does come with DiRT2 so thats nice

30-12-2009, 16:01:12

Thanh55
Nice review there Mul, I have a little doubt about DX11, my 4870X2 still serve me well anyway but its a nice gfx.

30-12-2009, 17:12:34

kimandsally
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Lynx'
Nice card, nice review, I am buying this tommorow morning from scan. 230 O.O

Although it does come with DiRT2 so thats nice
Hows it going mate? I'm thinking of getting one also.

30-12-2009, 17:34:30

Brooksie
I got the XFX 5850 XXX, and I must say, it's awesome!

09-01-2010, 03:00:22

EXPANDER
good gpu

09-01-2010, 03:51:18

kimandsally
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='EXPANDER'
good gpu
Hey far too many words for the first post you might get banned LOL.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.