Asus Radeon HD 5850 1GB GDDR5 Graphics Card

Testbed, Temperatures & Overclocking

Testbed
 
AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition @ 3.94GHz
4GB Corsair XMS3 DDR3 @ 1333MHz
Gigabyte MA770T UD3P Motherboard F4 BIOS
Asus Radeon HD 5850 1GB GDDR5 Graphics Card 
Samsung Spinpoint F1 320GB SATA II HDD
LG 22x DVD+/-RW SATA
Arctic Freezer 64 Pro CPU Cooler
Windows Vista Home Premium
 
Temperatures
 
We used Furmark's stability test to record the Asus Radeon HD 5850's load temperatures. After 30 minutes of idle monitoring from a cold boot, the test was loaded and was ran until temperatures and fan speeds had appeared to have stabilised. The results were as follows.
 
 
Like all of our previous Radeon HD 5800 graphics cards, the load temperatures maxed out at 80*c with a fan duty speed of 35%. The noise levels even on our open test bed was tolerable. While the graphics card was obviously audible under load, the noise was the sound of airflow rather than motor noise. There's minimal buzzing and more importantly no whine. As said in previous reviews, this is to be expected given that Asus have not made any changes to the reference heatsink for their 5800 series graphcis cards.
 
 
Asus SmartDoctor & Overclocking
 
 
As you may or may not know, ATi's own Overdrive utility in the Catalyst Control Center offers overclocking support for the Radeon HD 5850. Aside an Auto Tune feature, it also offers manual overclocking support. The only real nuisance however is that it's maximum boundaries stand at a paltry 775MHz on the core and 1125MHz (4500MHz GDDR5 effective) on the memory. Understandable I suppose given that ATi need to keep the graphics card as far away from the current HD 5870 flagship as possible given the £100 price difference.
 
This is where Asus' own overclocking application comes into play. Not only does it offer frequency increases to insane heights, it is also meant to offer Voltage Increase support. The keyword however is meant as no matter what we did, we could not get the application to select a voltage higher than the HD 5850's default 1.088V.
 
We found our maximum stable frequency at around that of the Radeon HD 5870's defaults, at 854MHz core and 1240MHz (4960MHz effective) memory. A 129MHz / 240MHz increase shouldn't be frowned upon of course. The graphics card was returned to it's default clockspeeds for the testing that was to follow.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

16-11-2009, 06:04:21

tinytomlogan
Mul takes a look at the Asus Radeon HD 5850 1GB GDDR5 Graphics Card.

Continue Reading

16-11-2009, 06:28:29

kimandsally
Very nice review covered enough to want to buy one.

16-11-2009, 06:47:25

Rastalovich
Awesome card, it's a damn shame that they've seen fit to hype the prices. All said and done, hitting the market at around 200 and slipping to 175-ish would have made it mouth-watering for some.

I think it's gotten to the stage that lack of availabilty needs to be in the bad section 'at the time of writing', in so much that when ASUS see the review/feedback they can perhaps take more notice of what the enthusiasts are saying also. Having a choice, but not being able to find it, is a really bad thing.

Tool looks good, not so good with the voltage thing lacking, perhaps an upd8 will come along to sort that out.

Typical of ASUS gfxcards I've experienced of late, well build, look pretty good and is probably sounds strange, but I bet it felt good when u took it out of the anti static.

Good stuff, bad timing maybe.

16-11-2009, 07:31:58

Mr. Smith
The price gouging is unacceptable IMO. The lack of availability for these new products (and SSD's) is getting to be a bit of a joke.

It is a nice mid range card though, it performs well on the test bed. It will be interesting to see how these DX11 cards handle DX11 titles...

16-11-2009, 08:42:55

kimandsally
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Mr. Smith'
The price gouging is unacceptable IMO. The lack of availability for these new products (and SSD's) is getting to be a bit of a joke.

It is a nice mid range card though, it performs well on the test bed. It will be interesting to see how these DX11 cards handle DX11 titles...
I totally agree it's like us saying we are now going to work 3 days a week but to cover for the lack of wages we will increase our wages by 40% to cover for the loss we will take.

These Basterds decide to make less and charge more to keep their income the same as making more for less. We are in recession all workers get litlle or no wage increase and companies like this will reduce staff to make less then charge more to make the price right so the Basterds at the top make more money for employing less and working less as well.

Simple answer no one buy a single item until the price drops, we can easily force them to drop the price, it would not harm us to not buy the card for a month yet it would cripple their company if we don't.

16-11-2009, 19:03:07

Maverick1dj
Am i the only one that noticed the Crysis Warhead graph was actually the Call of Duty stats?

Maybe it's because i always jump to those FPS results

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='kimandsally'

Simple answer no one buy a single item until the price drops, we can easily force them to drop the price, it would not harm us to not buy the card for a month yet it would cripple their comany if we don't.
If people weren't out trying to buy them the price wouldn't be so high, ye olde supply and demand.

Blame the ****s that want to pay over the odds for such kit, the buisness' are just taking advantage of it... unfortunately that's what all business' do!

16-11-2009, 19:23:06

Mul.
Yikes, that was a bit of a mix up on my part! Fixed

16-11-2009, 19:58:27

kimandsally
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Maverick1dj'

f people weren't out trying to buy them the price wouldn't be so high, ye olde supply and demand.

Blame the ****s that want to pay over the odds for such kit, the buisness' are just taking advantage of it... unfortunately that's what all business' do!
Another one of the lads good on you at least there are a few of us that will not pay over inflated prices.

17-11-2009, 07:51:49

Rastalovich
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Maverick1dj'

If people weren't out trying to buy them the price wouldn't be so high, ye olde supply and demand.

Blame the ****s that want to pay over the odds for such kit, the buisness' are just taking advantage of it... unfortunately that's what all business' do!
It's kinda ironic too that through-out mostly all of this period, everyone and their dog, who would slam the other camp for being as expensive as they want to be - have pretty much all shut the hell up.

Ipso, it's not the manufacturers fault, it's the consumer ?

U are correct tho. The prices for everything are there - take it or leave it. Just as when fuel is running out, minor stations will jack up their prices.

Let's be consistent tho aye.

17-11-2009, 08:46:35

Maverick1dj
A businesses purpose is to make money so you can't blame them for latching onto the rarity of a product and hacking up the prices, I'm not saying it's moral, but i certainly don't find it surprising, when has any business corporation been successful from being moral? It just doesn't go hand in hand.

The only power we consumers have is to club together, unfortunately that seems to be against our nature, there's enough show offs and kit junkies out there that want to one up their peers by shelving unnecessarily amounts of cash out for the newest and best kit in spite of their own wallet just to say 'I have this, you don't!' IMO these people let the side down, it's foolish false macho-ism .

As for the whole camp/fan-boy behaviour i really don't get it, i have no loyalty to any company as they have no loyalty to me (first paragraph explains this) those who think they do are truly misinformed, when i build a PC or purchase components i buy the best i can for the money I'm willing to spend with a slight eye on the near future. The company that get's my cash is the one that offers the best goods cheapest... period.

performance/cost/longevity - no amount of branding, advertising, supply issues, rave reviews will detract me from these 3 basic rules.

anyways... bit of a rant and well off topic whoopsies

22-11-2009, 21:11:36

srjulasp
I accept with information:it's gotten to the stage that lack of availabilty needs to be in the bad section 'at the time of writing', in so much that when ASUS see the review/feedback they can perhaps take more notice of what the enthusiasts are saying also.

24-11-2009, 16:04:38

TC93
I assume this review is written for another country, because the XFX warranty in America is the best you can get, its a double lifetime warranty, far better than the Asus warranty.

25-11-2009, 07:51:50

Mul.
Hi TC93,

This review was written in England, where XFX offers 24 months warranty on Radeon HD 5800 series graphics cards.

27-11-2009, 07:56:26

Rastalovich
I had 12 months warranty on an XFX GTX280. It crapped the bed and they failed to replace it - they sent a refund minus usage costs to the online store.

Imo - that isn't a 12 month warranty. Not my fault they got no stock.

Used to champion XFX myself, not anymore.

27-11-2009, 08:28:02

kimandsally
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Maverick1dj'
A businesses purpose is to make money so you can't blame them for latching onto the rarity of a product and hacking up the prices, I'm not saying it's moral, but i certainly don't find it surprising, when has any business corporation been successful from being moral? It just doesn't go hand in hand.

The only power we consumers have is to club together, unfortunately that seems to be against our nature, there's enough show offs and kit junkies out there that want to one up their peers by shelving unnecessarily amounts of cash out for the newest and best kit in spite of their own wallet just to say 'I have this, you don't!' IMO these people let the side down, it's foolish false macho-ism .

As for the whole camp/fan-boy behaviour i really don't get it, i have no loyalty to any company as they have no loyalty to me (first paragraph explains this) those who think they do are truly misinformed, when i build a PC or purchase components i buy the best i can for the money I'm willing to spend with a slight eye on the near future. The company that get's my cash is the one that offers the best goods cheapest... period.

performance/cost/longevity - no amount of branding, advertising, supply issues, rave reviews will detract me from these 3 basic rules.

anyways... bit of a rant and well off topic whoopsies
Just so well put I wish I had wrote it.

06-12-2009, 15:11:35

mrapoc
I for one will refuse to pay ott prices

feck them, my 8800gt can wait

06-12-2009, 19:54:25

Hope
What is the likeliness of picking these up for around 100 around february?

06-12-2009, 22:58:19

tinytomlogan
Id say you havnt got a hope in hell tbh

07-12-2009, 05:55:48

w3bbo
Prices will no doubt drop some when NVidia release their latest range as they did with the X18**, X19** etc. How much by will depend on the performance difference.

28-12-2009, 20:06:48

Lynx
Nice card, nice review, I am buying this tommorow morning from scan. 230 O.O

Although it does come with DiRT2 so thats nice

30-12-2009, 16:01:12

Thanh55
Nice review there Mul, I have a little doubt about DX11, my 4870X2 still serve me well anyway but its a nice gfx.

30-12-2009, 17:12:34

kimandsally
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Lynx'
Nice card, nice review, I am buying this tommorow morning from scan. 230 O.O

Although it does come with DiRT2 so thats nice
Hows it going mate? I'm thinking of getting one also.

30-12-2009, 17:34:30

Brooksie
I got the XFX 5850 XXX, and I must say, it's awesome!

09-01-2010, 03:00:22

EXPANDER
good gpu

09-01-2010, 03:51:18

kimandsally
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='EXPANDER'
good gpu
Hey far too many words for the first post you might get banned LOL.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.