Asus Radeon HD 5850 1GB GDDR5 Graphics Card

Introduction

Introduction
 
There are a lot of things that we want in life. It's human nature to want something, although of course some of us may take this a step further and replace want with “need”. These “things” could be anything. A glamorous holiday in a place that's always warm and is always sunny when you want it to be. That new BMW coupe that you saw on the streets the other day maybe... Or a really big house, that can cater for all your nearest and dearest. All of this is probably a tad irrelevant for a tech based website... Perhaps we don't care for extravagant holidays. A new sports car? Not at all, that's what Racedriver GRID is for. That big house...all our friends are accessible via Skype! I'm going to stop trying to get myself killed by means of stereotyping and turn one's attention to the release of the Radeon HD 5800 series of graphics cards codenamed “Cypress”. There are some things in life which can't be had because they're a little out of one's reach at a given point in time. However, in this case (thanks to ATi and TSMC) would seem that whether you have the money or not, you can't have any high end Direct X 11 goodness in your life because there is a pitiful quantity in distribution relative to the current demand for them. To make things worse, it seems ATi may take it upon themselves to raise the value of these products. As these graphics cards trickle through the supply chain and relevant Add in Board Partners, Wholesalers and Retailers profiteer on these highly demanded graphics cards, this will in turn affect pricing greatly. As shown below, the trend of Radeon HD 5850 pricing over the last two months hasn't been particularly promising.
 

It's not too great on nVidia's side either as they appear to have cut production of their GT200 based graphics cards (GTX 260, 275, 285 and 295) and thus the price gauging continues. We shall not let this affect our view on the products themselves but it should be mentioned that these graphics cards are as good as gold dust right now. We were however very grateful that Asus were able to supply us with today's review item, the Asus Radeon HD 5850 1GB GDDR5 Graphics Card.
 
Asus shouldn't need any introduction, offering product solutions to all ends of the market from systems components for the retail and OEM as well as their own laptops/netbooks and desktops. The brand has been in the graphics card business for a very long time and have brought a number of memorable products to market including the Asus GTX 295 MARS graphics card. With that in mind, we have very high expectations from the product that we're about to review.
 
Specifications
 
Name
Asus Radeon HD 5850
Asus Radeon HD 5870
Core Name Cypress Cypress
Core Frequency 725MHz 850MHz
Stream Processors
1440 1600
Memory Frequency 4000MHz (1000MHz x 4)
4800MHz
(1200MHz x 4)
Memory Interface 256bit 256bit
ROP Count 32 32
TMU Count 72
80
Original Retail Price £199.99 £299.99
 
Unlike a number of Asus' enthusiast graphics cards, the Asus Radeon HD 5850 operates at reference clock speeds of 725MHz Core and 4000MHz Memory. Aside the clock speed differences, the 5850 is kept away from it's bigger brother by it's reduced Stream Processor count. Regardless, it's specifications on paper look very promising.
 
Let's continue to the next page to have a look at Asus' new Direct X 11 graphics card in the flesh!
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

16-11-2009, 06:04:21

tinytomlogan
Mul takes a look at the Asus Radeon HD 5850 1GB GDDR5 Graphics Card.

Continue Reading

16-11-2009, 06:28:29

kimandsally
Very nice review covered enough to want to buy one.

16-11-2009, 06:47:25

Rastalovich
Awesome card, it's a damn shame that they've seen fit to hype the prices. All said and done, hitting the market at around 200 and slipping to 175-ish would have made it mouth-watering for some.

I think it's gotten to the stage that lack of availabilty needs to be in the bad section 'at the time of writing', in so much that when ASUS see the review/feedback they can perhaps take more notice of what the enthusiasts are saying also. Having a choice, but not being able to find it, is a really bad thing.

Tool looks good, not so good with the voltage thing lacking, perhaps an upd8 will come along to sort that out.

Typical of ASUS gfxcards I've experienced of late, well build, look pretty good and is probably sounds strange, but I bet it felt good when u took it out of the anti static.

Good stuff, bad timing maybe.

16-11-2009, 07:31:58

Mr. Smith
The price gouging is unacceptable IMO. The lack of availability for these new products (and SSD's) is getting to be a bit of a joke.

It is a nice mid range card though, it performs well on the test bed. It will be interesting to see how these DX11 cards handle DX11 titles...

16-11-2009, 08:42:55

kimandsally
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Mr. Smith'
The price gouging is unacceptable IMO. The lack of availability for these new products (and SSD's) is getting to be a bit of a joke.

It is a nice mid range card though, it performs well on the test bed. It will be interesting to see how these DX11 cards handle DX11 titles...
I totally agree it's like us saying we are now going to work 3 days a week but to cover for the lack of wages we will increase our wages by 40% to cover for the loss we will take.

These Basterds decide to make less and charge more to keep their income the same as making more for less. We are in recession all workers get litlle or no wage increase and companies like this will reduce staff to make less then charge more to make the price right so the Basterds at the top make more money for employing less and working less as well.

Simple answer no one buy a single item until the price drops, we can easily force them to drop the price, it would not harm us to not buy the card for a month yet it would cripple their company if we don't.

16-11-2009, 19:03:07

Maverick1dj
Am i the only one that noticed the Crysis Warhead graph was actually the Call of Duty stats?

Maybe it's because i always jump to those FPS results

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='kimandsally'

Simple answer no one buy a single item until the price drops, we can easily force them to drop the price, it would not harm us to not buy the card for a month yet it would cripple their comany if we don't.
If people weren't out trying to buy them the price wouldn't be so high, ye olde supply and demand.

Blame the ****s that want to pay over the odds for such kit, the buisness' are just taking advantage of it... unfortunately that's what all business' do!

16-11-2009, 19:23:06

Mul.
Yikes, that was a bit of a mix up on my part! Fixed

16-11-2009, 19:58:27

kimandsally
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Maverick1dj'

f people weren't out trying to buy them the price wouldn't be so high, ye olde supply and demand.

Blame the ****s that want to pay over the odds for such kit, the buisness' are just taking advantage of it... unfortunately that's what all business' do!
Another one of the lads good on you at least there are a few of us that will not pay over inflated prices.

17-11-2009, 07:51:49

Rastalovich
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Maverick1dj'

If people weren't out trying to buy them the price wouldn't be so high, ye olde supply and demand.

Blame the ****s that want to pay over the odds for such kit, the buisness' are just taking advantage of it... unfortunately that's what all business' do!
It's kinda ironic too that through-out mostly all of this period, everyone and their dog, who would slam the other camp for being as expensive as they want to be - have pretty much all shut the hell up.

Ipso, it's not the manufacturers fault, it's the consumer ?

U are correct tho. The prices for everything are there - take it or leave it. Just as when fuel is running out, minor stations will jack up their prices.

Let's be consistent tho aye.

17-11-2009, 08:46:35

Maverick1dj
A businesses purpose is to make money so you can't blame them for latching onto the rarity of a product and hacking up the prices, I'm not saying it's moral, but i certainly don't find it surprising, when has any business corporation been successful from being moral? It just doesn't go hand in hand.

The only power we consumers have is to club together, unfortunately that seems to be against our nature, there's enough show offs and kit junkies out there that want to one up their peers by shelving unnecessarily amounts of cash out for the newest and best kit in spite of their own wallet just to say 'I have this, you don't!' IMO these people let the side down, it's foolish false macho-ism .

As for the whole camp/fan-boy behaviour i really don't get it, i have no loyalty to any company as they have no loyalty to me (first paragraph explains this) those who think they do are truly misinformed, when i build a PC or purchase components i buy the best i can for the money I'm willing to spend with a slight eye on the near future. The company that get's my cash is the one that offers the best goods cheapest... period.

performance/cost/longevity - no amount of branding, advertising, supply issues, rave reviews will detract me from these 3 basic rules.

anyways... bit of a rant and well off topic whoopsies

22-11-2009, 21:11:36

srjulasp
I accept with information:it's gotten to the stage that lack of availabilty needs to be in the bad section 'at the time of writing', in so much that when ASUS see the review/feedback they can perhaps take more notice of what the enthusiasts are saying also.

24-11-2009, 16:04:38

TC93
I assume this review is written for another country, because the XFX warranty in America is the best you can get, its a double lifetime warranty, far better than the Asus warranty.

25-11-2009, 07:51:50

Mul.
Hi TC93,

This review was written in England, where XFX offers 24 months warranty on Radeon HD 5800 series graphics cards.

27-11-2009, 07:56:26

Rastalovich
I had 12 months warranty on an XFX GTX280. It crapped the bed and they failed to replace it - they sent a refund minus usage costs to the online store.

Imo - that isn't a 12 month warranty. Not my fault they got no stock.

Used to champion XFX myself, not anymore.

27-11-2009, 08:28:02

kimandsally
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Maverick1dj'
A businesses purpose is to make money so you can't blame them for latching onto the rarity of a product and hacking up the prices, I'm not saying it's moral, but i certainly don't find it surprising, when has any business corporation been successful from being moral? It just doesn't go hand in hand.

The only power we consumers have is to club together, unfortunately that seems to be against our nature, there's enough show offs and kit junkies out there that want to one up their peers by shelving unnecessarily amounts of cash out for the newest and best kit in spite of their own wallet just to say 'I have this, you don't!' IMO these people let the side down, it's foolish false macho-ism .

As for the whole camp/fan-boy behaviour i really don't get it, i have no loyalty to any company as they have no loyalty to me (first paragraph explains this) those who think they do are truly misinformed, when i build a PC or purchase components i buy the best i can for the money I'm willing to spend with a slight eye on the near future. The company that get's my cash is the one that offers the best goods cheapest... period.

performance/cost/longevity - no amount of branding, advertising, supply issues, rave reviews will detract me from these 3 basic rules.

anyways... bit of a rant and well off topic whoopsies
Just so well put I wish I had wrote it.

06-12-2009, 15:11:35

mrapoc
I for one will refuse to pay ott prices

feck them, my 8800gt can wait

06-12-2009, 19:54:25

Hope
What is the likeliness of picking these up for around 100 around february?

06-12-2009, 22:58:19

tinytomlogan
Id say you havnt got a hope in hell tbh

07-12-2009, 05:55:48

w3bbo
Prices will no doubt drop some when NVidia release their latest range as they did with the X18**, X19** etc. How much by will depend on the performance difference.

28-12-2009, 20:06:48

Lynx
Nice card, nice review, I am buying this tommorow morning from scan. 230 O.O

Although it does come with DiRT2 so thats nice

30-12-2009, 16:01:12

Thanh55
Nice review there Mul, I have a little doubt about DX11, my 4870X2 still serve me well anyway but its a nice gfx.

30-12-2009, 17:12:34

kimandsally
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Lynx'
Nice card, nice review, I am buying this tommorow morning from scan. 230 O.O

Although it does come with DiRT2 so thats nice
Hows it going mate? I'm thinking of getting one also.

30-12-2009, 17:34:30

Brooksie
I got the XFX 5850 XXX, and I must say, it's awesome!

09-01-2010, 03:00:22

EXPANDER
good gpu

09-01-2010, 03:51:18

kimandsally
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='EXPANDER'
good gpu
Hey far too many words for the first post you might get banned LOL.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.