ASUS R9 290X Matrix Platinum Review

Unigine Heaven

ASUS R9 290X Matrix Review

Unigine Heaven

We've often said that Unigine Heaven is a reflection upon the pure performance available to you, unsullied by the demands of user input. Certainly it's the first benchmark today that the R9 290X Matrix can be proud of. With zero anti-aliasing in place the results match up to everything we've seen so far, but with 8xMSAA is in place the margins tighten until the Matrix comes out looking good. 

ASUS R9 290X Matrix Review  

ASUS R9 290X Matrix Review  

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 Next»

Most Recent Comments

17-03-2014, 20:14:01

tinytomlogan
http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...210514909l.JPG

The R9 290X core gets the Asus Matrix Platinum treatment, just how well does it do against the Lightning?


Continue Reading

17-03-2014, 21:09:33

Excalabur50
Why buy this at it's price when for the same money roughly you can buy a Lightning that out performs it, is quieter and cooler?
I know where my money would go.....if I had it of course

18-03-2014, 04:54:37

barnsley
This looks nice but it really seems that in terms of AMD gpus especially Asus have gone form over function.

I'd go for the 290x toxic or the lightning over this.

18-03-2014, 05:25:08

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Excalabur50 View Post
Why buy this at it's price when for the same money roughly you can buy a Lightning that out performs it, is quieter and cooler?
I know where my money would go.....if I had it of course
For the average joe youre right. For a subzero boy this is reported to own the Lightning.... mainstream versus niche.

18-03-2014, 05:42:29

SieB
How the hell can they make a card with a nice beefy heatsink, with two good fans and yet it still be loud and hit 90*c?
Asus, are you even trying? I hope they didn't just slap the 780Ti Matrix cooler on this one as well like they did with the DCUII.

Whether it's made for LN2 or not it should still perform well on air, the Lightining is designed to do what this does and it still performs well on air and is quiet. Asus have not done well with the 290s compared to the other manufacturers, which is a shame.

18-03-2014, 06:30:45

ahimoth
Quote:
Originally Posted by SieB View Post
How the hell can they make a card with a nice beefy heatsink, with two good fans and yet it still be loud and hit 90*c?
Asus, are you even trying? I hope they didn't just slap the 780Ti Matrix cooler on this one as well like they did with the DCUII.

Whether it's made for LN2 or not it should still perform well on air, the Lightining is designed to do what this does and it still performs well on air and is quiet. Asus have not done well with the 290s compared to the other manufacturers, which is a shame.
It seems to me that this is more a testament to the power that these cards deliver. Air cooling might just be reaching it's limits with these cards although I think that's also unlikely. Nvidia's cards stay reasonably cool and if the 750Ti is anything to go by the new generation of Nvidia cards are going to be extremely low power and therefore heat.

I wouldn't mind seeing full water block cards with Swiftech H220 like AIO expandable coolers on them. Honestly the Ares should have had a larger radiator than a 120 mm :S Anyway... I'm actually excited that this card runs hot even with this awesome air cooler on it.

18-03-2014, 07:44:31

Ciric
Imho, they might aswell sell this card without a heatsink. Anyone who's going to use the features of this card, will tare it off instantly anyway, and put under chilled water or better.

e: yea yea, i know. Marketing, branding, recognizability, ect ...anyway, just sell it without a heatsink!

18-03-2014, 07:45:39

SieB
Quote:
Originally Posted by ahimoth View Post
It seems to me that this is more a testament to the power that these cards deliver. Air cooling might just be reaching it's limits with these cards although I think that's also unlikely. Nvidia's cards stay reasonably cool and if the 750Ti is anything to go by the new generation of Nvidia cards are going to be extremely low power and therefore heat.
The other no ref 290s are all quiet and cool, my Sapphire Tri-X has never gone above 74*c whilst gaming and it is really quiet, to the point I can't hear it over the other fans in my case.

Asus haven't done well with the coolers on the 290/x DCUII and now the Matrix. I think the main reason is because instead of making a cooler especially for the 290 they just used the 780Ti one.
It might work but it's doesn't do a good of a job as it could do. They perform not much better than the AMD reference cooler and that is pretty bad considering the difference in price.

18-03-2014, 08:25:45

Excalabur50
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
For the average joe youre right. For a subzero boy this is reported to own the Lightning.... mainstream versus niche.
You are right BUT as you yourself said how many are going to sub zero it? And for most gamers out there the Lightning is an Epeen card that is cool and quiet whilst still giving great performance
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.