ASUS Matrix 5870 Platinum Review

Conclusion

ASUS Matrix 5870  Platinum

Conclusion

Sometimes I think we expect too much.

When the Matrix Platinum was first started to break out of the ASUS labs a, admittedly very specially selected model, managed to obtain 1500MHz on the core. Of course we'd never hope to get near that on a retail model, but nonetheless we were hoping for perhaps 1150+. 

Certainly with the myriad of overclocking features available and with this board currently an eye-watering £408 we were hoping for more than 1050MHz with a stable of just past the 1GHz barrier. Most of the "specialist" cards we've seen will do a GHz happily and for a fraction of the price.

However, there are two important things we need to note here. Firstly if there is one thing we have learnt from our many reviews here in the OC3D dungeon, it's that Jim is a demon with the branding iron. No hang on that's not right. It's that you should never go into a product review with a preconception of its performance.

Secondly remember whenever you're overclocking that some chips perform better than others. We've always prided ourselves here at Overclock3D on not demanding some specialist hand-picked sample. We want to review exactly what you get. Therefore it might just be that we've got an average one.

More importantly than either of these you have to look at the hard numbers. Here there can be no doubt that the Matrix Platinum is quite the performance powerhouse. It's the fastest stock card around, although purchasing it for its stock abilities would be somewhat missing the point.

In short ASUS have put everything possible together so if you really want to push it to the maximum, the card shouldn't let you down at the vital moment. If it does, a quick press of the reset switch on the back and you're ready to go again.

Boy do you pay for this feature set though. Considering the ASUS voltage tweak BIOS can be flashed to any card of your choosing, then for the absolute hardcore that alone isn't enough. The cooler is alright, but not a patch on the Frozr 2 or similar. So what you need to ask yourself is, is a Super ML cap, a reset button and a logo that changes colour enough to justify the extra £70-odd over a reference HD5870?

For the hardcore overclockers or those who demand the absolute best, probably. Everyone else should stick to the already brilliant HD5870 from a manufacturer of your choice.

It's an easy winner of our Performance award. It's just stretching our "performance at all costs" definition to the limits.

Pros
Bulletproof construction
Theoretically nearly unlimited potential

Mediocre
Our one didn't overclock any better than any other we've tested
Matrix lighting is perhaps more for flash than anything

Cons
That price. The HD5870 is a price/performance King. This is nearly GTX480 money.

   

Thanks to ASUS for providing the Matrix Platinum for review. Discuss in our forums.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

15-05-2010, 04:37:16

tinytomlogan
We do apologise its a day late, but most of the staff at OC3D are dieing from one ailment or another ATM! Anyways 5870 Platinum, we see what all the fuss is about.....

Continue Reading

15-05-2010, 07:13:52

LooseNeutral
The tone of write up said it, The vid displays it, the lack of enthusiasm. It's a shame shame. Again though, this is why I come to this site. Honesty! Great point about pricing. All in all, I figure they'll have the 6000 series and GTX 500's out by the time I'm ready to build. lol. Keep up the good work

15-05-2010, 07:35:02

Diablo
Bit dissapointing really. For that cash, I would expect something a bit more special. A 480GTX is almost that price, or for 90 extra (which isn't that much more at the end of the day for another core) one could have a 5970. Nice card, but not the difference I was expecting.

15-05-2010, 09:20:40

AMDFTW
its a nice looking card,it looks the same as the gtx285 matrix,are we not just paying for the back cover,the lights and the ML cap?

15-05-2010, 12:27:12

adicool96
Is the MATRIX faster than the GTX 480?????????????

15-05-2010, 12:30:02

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='adicool96'
Is the MATRIX faster than the GTX 480?????????????
did you even read the review? pfffft

---

To answer non-time wasting questions the card is priced the same as other 2GB 5870s.

15-05-2010, 12:32:01

adicool96
Ya I did read the review i guess i didnt notice it.

15-05-2010, 12:57:30

Diablo
I don't see why the chip is so expensive and doesn't offer something that other big manufacturers attach to their flagships: a waterblock.

With a normal 5870 and waterblock (particularly MSI or Asus) you can get 1GHz core. To ask 400 plus the cost of a waterblock to get the most out of the card (not to mention the fact that you lose the fancy lights) seems ridiculous.

15-05-2010, 18:07:02

Bungral
Aria had a 2gb vapor-x 5870 at 350 a coulple of days ago but its up to 370 now.

17-05-2010, 01:30:21

thewoolard
I wonder if OC3D had a bad sample, we will have to wait till some of the community get it into their hands.

17-05-2010, 02:37:40

Diablo
The whole point is that OC3D had a sample that was not cherry picked, i.e. one that a standard user could expect, not a specailly selected review only one.

17-05-2010, 04:57:05

LooseNeutral
I whole heartedly agree with "Diablo" and thats where Asus should have known better than to just slap a logo on a product aimed at the extreme lot(ROG). Someone at Asus had some serious crainialrectumitis. Thats why my earlier comment was aimed at this site. Honesty is a commodity to be treasured. I base my hard sweat earned dollars on sites like this, as well as all of those who participate. I had a long list of sites I went to when I first got into the modding scene, It's a short list now! As a good musician friend of mine always says... "The proof is in the picking" I like the song they sing and play here Thanks OC3D

17-05-2010, 08:05:03

sheri
what program do you use for so nice charts?

17-05-2010, 08:06:16

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='sheri'
what program do you use for so nice charts?
A secret one

17-05-2010, 10:08:23

Rastalovich
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='AMDFTW'
its a nice looking card,it looks the same as the gtx285 matrix,are we not just paying for the back cover,the lights and the ML cap?
Lights, badges, stickers, names. RoG or Fatal1ty, tack on the extra monkey.

The 2g 5870s, whilst the 1g cards are going eol, are pushing the 400 mark. Whilst the latest retail 480s can be had for 393 and falling. Older 480s can still be had for anything up to 490.

17-05-2010, 10:47:31

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Rastalovich'
Lights, badges, stickers, names. RoG or Fatal1ty, tack on the extra monkey.

The 2g 5870s, whilst the 1g cards are going eol, are pushing the 400 mark. Whilst the latest retail 480s can be had for 393 and falling. Older 480s can still be had for anything up to 490.
With reservations on the noise and heat aside. With 400 to spend even I would buy a 480 over a 400 5870 from any manufacturer.

17-05-2010, 17:19:58

cl0ck_ed
Guys this card is aimed at the extreme OCers!! that will use ln2 etc, and make use of the extra power phases just like the msi lightning. I don't see you all bashing the evga classified for being twice the price of a normal x58 mobo! I mean for the average user this card and other components like the classified are excessive 'bling' bits of kit to give a system some WOW factor.

I really don't know what you were expecting 1200mhz core?

17-05-2010, 17:41:31

Diablo
The EVGA classifieid wasn't that much more than a normal X58 when it came out 290 vs. ~250. This on the other hand doesn't really have that much advantage over a standard 5870, and by the time someone has stuck a waterblock on the standard 5870, this one doesn't have much of a chance.

An Xtreme clocker (so to speak) wouldn't go for this over a similar card, because they would stick a waterblock on it. If they were going for benchy records, wouldn't they use a superclocked 5970? They clock almost as well and have two chips instead of one.

18-05-2010, 07:35:40

Rastalovich
.. but it's got cool lights !

18-05-2010, 07:59:04

Diablo
True...but if you're going to pay 400 for that, I can offer a nice ball of string for you to chase at a mere 350, hours of enjoyment.

18-05-2010, 09:22:21

Rastalovich
What kind of string ?
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.