ASUS MARS 2 SLI Madness

Introduction and Technical Specifications

ASUS MARS 2 SLI Madness

Introduction

Christmas is a time for gluttony. Over indulgence. Having way more than you really should. It's also the season of giving, of unexpected gifts.

So with all this in mind we thought we'd be very giving here at OC3D and bring you something unexpected, that's also extremely indulgent. So much hardware that you will be metaphorically stuffed and promising to never eat again.

Back in September we reviewed the ASUS MARS 2. A graphics card equipped with two full GTX580 chips and costing more than a thousand pounds. Since then we've looked at the Rampage IV Extreme and the latest 2011 Intel CPU, the 3960X. Lots of high-end hardware indeed.

What if you won the lottery and suddenly found yourself flush with cash. You'd surely put the MARS 2 in a 2011 motherboard. Although if you had that kind of money, why not have two and go Quad-SLI? That would be insane performance wouldn't it?

Wonder no more. That's where we come in. Welcome to the insanity that is our festive ASUS MARS 2 SLI review. Grab a plate of nibbles and strap in.

Technical Specifications

In case you've forgotten the monstrous specifications of the MARS 2, here they are in all their eye-opening glory.

Graphics EngineNVIDIA GeForce GTX 580x2
Bus StandardPCI Express 2.0
Video MemoryGDDR5 3GB
Engine Clock782 MHz
CUDA Core1024
Memory Clock4008 MHz ( 1002 MHz GDDR5 )
RAMDAC400 MHz
Memory Interface384-bit x2
ResolutionD-Sub Max Resolution : 2048x1536
DVI Max Resolution : 2560x1600
InterfaceD-Sub Output : Yes x 1 (via DVI to D-Sub adaptor x 1)
DVI Output : Yes x 2 (DVI-I)
HDMI Output : Yes x 1
Display Port : Yes x 1 (Regular DP)
HDCP Support : Yes
Accessories1 x Extended SLI cable
2 x Power cable
1 x DVI to D-Sub adaptor
SoftwareASUS Driver and Utility
ASUS FeaturesDirectCU Series
Super Alloy Power
Dimensions13 " x 6.2 " x 2.5 " Inch


But we know you're not here to ponder card dimensions and maximum resolutions.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 Next»

Most Recent Comments

29-12-2011, 05:58:43

tinytomlogan


The MARS 2 is the most powerful graphics card on the planet. So of course we've had to see what would happen if you ran two in SLI.

Continue Reading

29-12-2011, 06:06:23

Lollipop
OH MY GOD! Damn i can't wait to read it.

29-12-2011, 06:22:23

SieB
Madness

Some massive results from SLI, nothing is coming close to them for a while anyway.

29-12-2011, 06:26:14

Excalabur50
I really enjoyed watching the video review, Nice work on putting together such a great review, it's the sort of thing you don't see terribly often someone doing a review just cause they can. Keep up the great work!

29-12-2011, 07:04:39

Bammy
I've been looking forward to reading this review since you gave us a peek at the setup.

I'm kinda disappointed and impressed at the same time. You would expect mind blowing out the box... I guess no one expects someone to spend 2k + ON GRAPHICS ALONE!!!!

Thanks for the review Tom, I can't see anyone doing the same review for quite some time lol.

29-12-2011, 08:43:05

MSIRawZ
Get them submitted at the BOT!

29-12-2011, 09:46:35

S_I_N
Hey Tom when ur done with my cards can ya please send them back

Great Review Mate and thanks for doing stuff like this for us we really do enjoy seeing what e-peen can do

29-12-2011, 09:49:59

yassarikhan786
Madness indeed. Always a shame about the drivers, but the results were out of this world nonetheless.

29-12-2011, 10:40:08

DeerDance
Damn, get a f'kin power consumption meter.

If you tell them you will use it in many reviews and show the brand and stuff you will get it probably free or something damn it, but thats one aspect that would easily enrich the reviews of all components.

And maybe year later you can also add measurement of noise/loudness if you feel like it. But damn power consumption is really missing and is easily fixed.

29-12-2011, 10:43:30

VonBlade
I doubt anyone with the wedge to buy two MARS IIs is particularly fussed about the power draw

29-12-2011, 11:45:55

Mr. Strawberry
there are a couple of MARS II SLI builds on the internet that i found last week

29-12-2011, 12:34:48

badtaylorx
i love opulence!!!

i hope asus makes an ARES II with the new 7970's

29-12-2011, 17:50:53

Luscious
Excuse me while I get that mop to wipe my drool off the floor...

Curious if that 1350W Enermax PSU you looked at earlier would have been able to handle the rig, given that it can do 1600W peak and has the power connectors to run both cards.

Regarding the driver issues with SLI, I'm no expert, but would four regular GTX580 boards offer better frame rate and stability?

Great job Tom! Really appreciate the work you put into these builds, along with the video. Will you be sending the cards back to Asus or are they letting you keep them?

12-01-2012, 07:30:36

SnW
Do you never do a Folding test anymore ? aka in regards how much a "new" GPU puts out !

i really think its time then, that I can go and work on it , just fot the F@H section...........

12-01-2012, 07:43:57

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by SnW View Post

Do you never do a Folding test anymore ? aka in regards how much a "new" GPU puts out !

i really think its time then, that I can go and work on it , just fot the F@H section...........
When possible yes dude, things is the drivers wouldnt work for toffee with both of them in.

SOOOOOOOOOOOOO thats why it wasnt done.

You need to stick around a bit more fella youve obviously missed LOADS of 98860 shout outs and folding tests in reviews.

29-01-2012, 10:07:14

MaXiMiZe
This is an insane piece of hardware
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.