Asus HD4850 512mb PCI-E Graphics Card EAH4850

Conclusion

Conclusion
 
Asus HD4850Frankly, ATI are really aiming at the middle market share with the HD4850, and it's fair to say that they've definitely captured this market with style. The HD4850 is already set at £140 and even £120 for the lower models, and this is a very important price point in a very tight market.
 
AA performance was a big downfall of the last gen, but ATI have fixed this issue and caused enthusiasts a real headache. Nvidia have been forced to drop the 9800 GTX in price very close to the £140 mark and some partners already have done so, but the HD4850 is a real player for your hard earned cash. Personally, I like to edge a little for the underdog, and since Nvidia blatantly started churning out G80 re-runs, I have almost been egging ATI on....finally we see a card that really performs and really gives (has given) Nvidia food for thought.
 
Check out the current price of the Asus HD4850 by visiting one of our recommended retailers: Scan, Aria & Novatech.
 
Can two big companies battling it out in the market be a bad thing for consumers? Hell no is my answer, bring it on!
 
The Asus HD4850 get's the OC3D Value for Money Award for really mixing it up.
 
 Asus HD4850
 
Thanks to Asus for providing the HD4850 for review. Discuss this review in our forums.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next»

Most Recent Comments

30-06-2008, 09:44:36

JN
"ATI have been quietly boiling away at their latest gen. We take the HD4850 out for a spin and see how it gets on"

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...213733164s.jpg

Asus HD4850 512mb review

By Kempez & Jim (dont ask)

30-06-2008, 09:53:08

Ham
Been spying on this review for a while .

So its not the most powerful card in the world. But it can be had for £120. VFM wise i can't see anything better atm. Rather tempting to pick up 2.

30-06-2008, 10:41:30

nunzio
Looks like a great card, wonder if i can Crossfire them on my commando.

30-06-2008, 11:08:45

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='nunzio'
Looks like a great card, wonder if i can Crossfire them on my commando.
8x 8x config might not work too bad with these cards actually. Especially at the price. Doesn't matter too much if you loose a few fps thru PCI-E bottlenecks

30-06-2008, 11:22:41

nunzio
Aye, just worried about the fact they might need PCI-e v.2

30-06-2008, 11:40:22

w3bbo
Nice review m8. Looks like ATI are slowly clawing back some performance.

30-06-2008, 11:53:46

ionicle
very nice looking cards

XFX should come across to the Red camp

i think XFX and ATi would make some damn fine cards together..

but yea, nice

good review

30-06-2008, 12:00:20

nunzio
lol yeah XFX ATi cards would be the best.

30-06-2008, 12:10:08

Jaster
FIGHT FIGHT FIGHT....its about time ATI stopped cowering behind the bikesheds...it bodes well for the 4870 and x2 derivitives.....

30-06-2008, 15:26:21

Luigi
Great review as ever Jim, the cost per frame is simply staggering on this card, much lower than nvidia

30-06-2008, 16:47:42

Kerotan
Awesome review and card really. ATi bringin back VFM, nuff said really

30-06-2008, 17:54:50

!TIMMY!
It is really tempting to get one of these, and then get another for crossfire at a later date.

Great reviews as always!

30-06-2008, 18:00:16

Toxcity
Not to bad a card really, performance is goodish... but price, WOAH!

30-06-2008, 18:18:05

Mr. Smith
For £120 that is a smoking card!

I think I might have to buy a 4870x2 when they come out, ati seems to have won this round

30-06-2008, 18:21:15

nepas
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Mr. Smith'
For £120 that is a smoking card!

I think I might have to buy a 4870x2 when they come out, ati seems to have won this round
that could be classed as an understatement

01-07-2008, 03:53:37

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Mr. Smith'
For £120 that is a smoking card!
Deffo. Especially when you consider that with a bit of overclocking it has the potential to totally wipe the floor with the 3800x2 cards.

01-07-2008, 06:58:47

cl0ck_ed
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='nunzio'
Looks like a great card, wonder if i can Crossfire them on my commando.
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Jim'
8x 8x config might not work too bad with these cards actually. Especially at the price. Doesn't matter too much if you loose a few fps thru PCI-E bottlenecks
I think the commando is actually 16x/4x. The 4x bus of the second slot is too crippling to performance. I was looking at two of these cards for crossfire on the same board and after researching crossfire on the p965 chipset there is little point. Best to sell the commando and buy a x38 or x48 mobo.

The HD 4850 is by far the best card VFM wise recently. I think it'll be even more of a hit than the 8800gt. Unless nVidia drastically reduce the price of there 9800gtx to the same or lower price level.

The Hd 4850 appears to beat the 9800gtx and the 8800gtx in most games. I was thinking of upgrading my 8800gts 640mb to a 8800gtx, but I'm glad I didn't as this card is cheaper and performs better.

I showed the card to my bro, and with a little persuasion I made him buy it. He'll be happy with it hope fully, upgrading from a x1950pro lol.

Also he got the HD 4850 for about £115 delivered from pixmania.com, hasn't arrived yet though.

01-07-2008, 07:00:28

niky_d
Great review Jim, as always.

The price/performance ration is clearly top with the 4850, but Iím looking more in the direction of the 4870 for my self.

It would be nice to see, how a 4870 performs against the gtx260 in a battle review .

And now that there will also be a black edition 4870 that can go over 1Ghz with its cpu, nvidia will have a hard time.

Better cards from ati, lower price for us, at least I hope nvidia will lower their prices.

01-07-2008, 07:14:03

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='cl0ck_ed'
I think the commando is actually 16x/4x. The 4x bus of the second slot is too crippling to performance. I was looking at two of these cards for crossfire on the same board and after researching crossfire on the p965 chipset there is little point. Best to sell the commando and buy a x38 or x48 mobo.
For most P965 boards that would be true, but the Command actually has a "Crosslinx" chip that splits the bandwidth of the first PCI-E slot into 8x/8x when running cards in Crossfire.

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='cl0ck_ed'

The HD 4850 is by far the best card VFM wise recently. I think it'll be even more of a hit than the 8800gt. Unless nVidia drastically reduce the price of there 9800gtx to the same or lower price level.

The Hd 4850 appears to beat the 9800gtx and the 8800gtx in most games. I was thinking of upgrading my 8800gts 640mb to a 8800gtx, but I'm glad I didn't as this card is cheaper and performs better.

I showed the card to my bro, and with a little persuasion I made him buy it. He'll be happy with it hope fully, upgrading from a x1950pro lol.

Also he got the HD 4850 for about £115 delivered from pixmania.com, hasn't arrived yet though.
Bloody hell thats a good price

01-07-2008, 07:27:49

cl0ck_ed
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Jim'
For most P965 boards that would be true, but the Command actually has a "Crosslinx" chip that splits the bandwidth of the first PCI-E slot into 8x/8x when running cards in Crossfire.

Bloody hell thats a good price
Are you sure? Canít find that anywhere. On the asus site it says 16x/4x. Sure your not thinking of the Blitz.

For the cheap price, sign up to Quidco, and you get 5% off at pixmania, you can also get money off at Misco and Novatech.

01-07-2008, 07:30:08

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='cl0ck_ed'
Are you sure? Canít find that anywhere. On the asus site it says 16x/4x. Sure your not thinking of the Blitz.

For the cheap price, sign up to Quidco, and you get 5% off at pixmania, you can also get money off at Misco and Novatech.
You could be right tbh. I've seen so many ASUS boards they've all become a blur.

01-07-2008, 07:46:24

PV5150
Blitz has the Crosslinx, Commando is x16 and x4

01-07-2008, 14:06:01

inconspicuousj
looks very nice. how does it compare to the 8800 gts in practice? It seems to have much better stats.

12-07-2008, 12:48:28

SuperRoach
I have a question about it.... I'm interested in putting this in a lower end pc, to keep me going until Xmas for a new pc build.

The specs are roughly:

Antec p150 case w/ neo430w psu

2gig DDR Ram

bunch of hdds

MSI 7800gtx (256meg)

Amd 3800x2 cpu (oced from 2.0ghz to 2.4ghz)

With the bottleneck of both the ram and the cpu, will I still get a reasonable boost in games, with their fps?

It's cheap enough to buy if I get more than a say, 30fps jump.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.