Asus HD4850 512mb PCI-E Graphics Card EAH4850

Crysis & F.E.A.R.

Crysis
 
Crysis is without doubt one of the most visually stunning and hardware-challenging games to date. By using CrysisBench - a tool developed independently of Crysis - we performed a total of 5 timedemo benchmarks using a GPU-intensive pre-recorded demo. To ensure the most accurate results, the highest and lowest benchmark scores were then removed and an average calculated from the remaining three.
 
Crysis - FPS
 
Crysis - CPF
 
With less than 2FPS between the HD4850 and  9800GTX at 1900x1200 and almost exact results at 1280x1024, the two cards are left to fight it out once again on price. This is also true for the previous generation 3850x2 and 3870x2 cards, which, while  able to compete with the 4850 and 9800GTX on the FPS front, get left behind when it comes to value.
 
 
F.E.A.R
 
F.E.A.R. is a game based on the Lithtech Jupiter EX engine. It has volumetric lighting, soft shadows, parallax mapping and particle effects. All results were recorded using F.R.A.P.S, with a total of 5 identical runs through the same area of the game. The highest and lowest results were then removed, with an average being calculated from the remaining 3 results.
 
F.E.A.R - FPS
 
F.E.A.R - CPF
 
While most of the previous benchmarks have been quite a mixed bag of results, the HD4850 shows a clear advantage over the 9800GTX at both 1280x1024 and 1900x1200 resolutions. This works greatly in favour of the HD4850 when it comes to the CPF scale, with the card costing less than £1.00 per frame at lower resolutions.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next»

Most Recent Comments

30-06-2008, 09:44:36

JN
"ATI have been quietly boiling away at their latest gen. We take the HD4850 out for a spin and see how it gets on"

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...213733164s.jpg

Asus HD4850 512mb review

By Kempez & Jim (dont ask)

30-06-2008, 09:53:08

Ham
Been spying on this review for a while .

So its not the most powerful card in the world. But it can be had for £120. VFM wise i can't see anything better atm. Rather tempting to pick up 2.

30-06-2008, 10:41:30

nunzio
Looks like a great card, wonder if i can Crossfire them on my commando.

30-06-2008, 11:08:45

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='nunzio'
Looks like a great card, wonder if i can Crossfire them on my commando.
8x 8x config might not work too bad with these cards actually. Especially at the price. Doesn't matter too much if you loose a few fps thru PCI-E bottlenecks

30-06-2008, 11:22:41

nunzio
Aye, just worried about the fact they might need PCI-e v.2

30-06-2008, 11:40:22

w3bbo
Nice review m8. Looks like ATI are slowly clawing back some performance.

30-06-2008, 11:53:46

ionicle
very nice looking cards

XFX should come across to the Red camp

i think XFX and ATi would make some damn fine cards together..

but yea, nice

good review

30-06-2008, 12:00:20

nunzio
lol yeah XFX ATi cards would be the best.

30-06-2008, 12:10:08

Jaster
FIGHT FIGHT FIGHT....its about time ATI stopped cowering behind the bikesheds...it bodes well for the 4870 and x2 derivitives.....

30-06-2008, 15:26:21

Luigi
Great review as ever Jim, the cost per frame is simply staggering on this card, much lower than nvidia

30-06-2008, 16:47:42

Kerotan
Awesome review and card really. ATi bringin back VFM, nuff said really

30-06-2008, 17:54:50

!TIMMY!
It is really tempting to get one of these, and then get another for crossfire at a later date.

Great reviews as always!

30-06-2008, 18:00:16

Toxcity
Not to bad a card really, performance is goodish... but price, WOAH!

30-06-2008, 18:18:05

Mr. Smith
For £120 that is a smoking card!

I think I might have to buy a 4870x2 when they come out, ati seems to have won this round

30-06-2008, 18:21:15

nepas
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Mr. Smith'
For £120 that is a smoking card!

I think I might have to buy a 4870x2 when they come out, ati seems to have won this round
that could be classed as an understatement

01-07-2008, 03:53:37

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Mr. Smith'
For £120 that is a smoking card!
Deffo. Especially when you consider that with a bit of overclocking it has the potential to totally wipe the floor with the 3800x2 cards.

01-07-2008, 06:58:47

cl0ck_ed
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='nunzio'
Looks like a great card, wonder if i can Crossfire them on my commando.
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Jim'
8x 8x config might not work too bad with these cards actually. Especially at the price. Doesn't matter too much if you loose a few fps thru PCI-E bottlenecks
I think the commando is actually 16x/4x. The 4x bus of the second slot is too crippling to performance. I was looking at two of these cards for crossfire on the same board and after researching crossfire on the p965 chipset there is little point. Best to sell the commando and buy a x38 or x48 mobo.

The HD 4850 is by far the best card VFM wise recently. I think it'll be even more of a hit than the 8800gt. Unless nVidia drastically reduce the price of there 9800gtx to the same or lower price level.

The Hd 4850 appears to beat the 9800gtx and the 8800gtx in most games. I was thinking of upgrading my 8800gts 640mb to a 8800gtx, but I'm glad I didn't as this card is cheaper and performs better.

I showed the card to my bro, and with a little persuasion I made him buy it. He'll be happy with it hope fully, upgrading from a x1950pro lol.

Also he got the HD 4850 for about £115 delivered from pixmania.com, hasn't arrived yet though.

01-07-2008, 07:00:28

niky_d
Great review Jim, as always.

The price/performance ration is clearly top with the 4850, but Iím looking more in the direction of the 4870 for my self.

It would be nice to see, how a 4870 performs against the gtx260 in a battle review .

And now that there will also be a black edition 4870 that can go over 1Ghz with its cpu, nvidia will have a hard time.

Better cards from ati, lower price for us, at least I hope nvidia will lower their prices.

01-07-2008, 07:14:03

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='cl0ck_ed'
I think the commando is actually 16x/4x. The 4x bus of the second slot is too crippling to performance. I was looking at two of these cards for crossfire on the same board and after researching crossfire on the p965 chipset there is little point. Best to sell the commando and buy a x38 or x48 mobo.
For most P965 boards that would be true, but the Command actually has a "Crosslinx" chip that splits the bandwidth of the first PCI-E slot into 8x/8x when running cards in Crossfire.

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='cl0ck_ed'

The HD 4850 is by far the best card VFM wise recently. I think it'll be even more of a hit than the 8800gt. Unless nVidia drastically reduce the price of there 9800gtx to the same or lower price level.

The Hd 4850 appears to beat the 9800gtx and the 8800gtx in most games. I was thinking of upgrading my 8800gts 640mb to a 8800gtx, but I'm glad I didn't as this card is cheaper and performs better.

I showed the card to my bro, and with a little persuasion I made him buy it. He'll be happy with it hope fully, upgrading from a x1950pro lol.

Also he got the HD 4850 for about £115 delivered from pixmania.com, hasn't arrived yet though.
Bloody hell thats a good price

01-07-2008, 07:27:49

cl0ck_ed
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Jim'
For most P965 boards that would be true, but the Command actually has a "Crosslinx" chip that splits the bandwidth of the first PCI-E slot into 8x/8x when running cards in Crossfire.

Bloody hell thats a good price
Are you sure? Canít find that anywhere. On the asus site it says 16x/4x. Sure your not thinking of the Blitz.

For the cheap price, sign up to Quidco, and you get 5% off at pixmania, you can also get money off at Misco and Novatech.

01-07-2008, 07:30:08

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='cl0ck_ed'
Are you sure? Canít find that anywhere. On the asus site it says 16x/4x. Sure your not thinking of the Blitz.

For the cheap price, sign up to Quidco, and you get 5% off at pixmania, you can also get money off at Misco and Novatech.
You could be right tbh. I've seen so many ASUS boards they've all become a blur.

01-07-2008, 07:46:24

PV5150
Blitz has the Crosslinx, Commando is x16 and x4

01-07-2008, 14:06:01

inconspicuousj
looks very nice. how does it compare to the 8800 gts in practice? It seems to have much better stats.

12-07-2008, 12:48:28

SuperRoach
I have a question about it.... I'm interested in putting this in a lower end pc, to keep me going until Xmas for a new pc build.

The specs are roughly:

Antec p150 case w/ neo430w psu

2gig DDR Ram

bunch of hdds

MSI 7800gtx (256meg)

Amd 3800x2 cpu (oced from 2.0ghz to 2.4ghz)

With the bottleneck of both the ram and the cpu, will I still get a reasonable boost in games, with their fps?

It's cheap enough to buy if I get more than a say, 30fps jump.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.