Asus HD4850 512mb PCI-E Graphics Card EAH4850

Call of Duty 4 & BioShock

Call Of Duty 4
 
Call of Duty 4 is a stunning DirectX 9.0c based game that really looks awesome and has a very full feature set. With lots of advanced lighting, smoke and water effects, the game has excellent explosions along with fast gameplay. Using the in-built Call Of Duty features, a 10-minute long gameplay demo was recorded and replayed on each of the GPU's using the /timedemo command a total of 5 times. The highest and lowest FPS results were then removed, with an average being calculated from the remaining 3 results.
 
Call of Duty 4 - FPS
 
Call of Duty 4 - CPF
 
Call of Duty 4 shows that there is some truth in the 3DMark05/06 results over the previous page, with the HD4850 managing to beat out the 9800GTX card at high resolutions, but falling slightly short at 1280x1024. The insanely low price of the card more than makes up for this though, with the HD4850 being over £0.60 cheaper per fps at 1280x1024 and £0.78 cheaper at 1900x1200.
 
 
BIOSHOCK
 
BioShock is a recent FPS shooter by 2K games. Based on the UT3 engine, it has a large amount of advanced DirectX techniques including excellent water rendering and superb lighting and smoke techniques. All results were recorded using F.R.A.P.S with a total of 5 identical runs through the same area of the game. The highest and lowest results were then removed, with an average being calculated from the remaining 3 results.
 
BIOSHOCK - FPS
 
BIOSHOCK - CPF
 
The results from Call of Duty 4 are further amplified in the BIOSHOCK tests, with the 9800GTX beating out the HD4850 by around 20FPS at 1280x1024 and the results swinging back in favour of the HD4850 at 1900x1200. Interestingly, the HD4850 manages to beat out both of its dual-GPU predecessors (the 3870x2 and 3850x2) by quite a significant margin.
 
Yet again the HD4850 is the best buy, being over  £1.00 cheaper per frame than the 9800GTX at 1900x1200 and £0.14 cheaper at 1280x1024.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next»

Most Recent Comments

30-06-2008, 09:44:36

JN
"ATI have been quietly boiling away at their latest gen. We take the HD4850 out for a spin and see how it gets on"

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...213733164s.jpg

Asus HD4850 512mb review

By Kempez & Jim (dont ask)

30-06-2008, 09:53:08

Ham
Been spying on this review for a while .

So its not the most powerful card in the world. But it can be had for £120. VFM wise i can't see anything better atm. Rather tempting to pick up 2.

30-06-2008, 10:41:30

nunzio
Looks like a great card, wonder if i can Crossfire them on my commando.

30-06-2008, 11:08:45

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='nunzio'
Looks like a great card, wonder if i can Crossfire them on my commando.
8x 8x config might not work too bad with these cards actually. Especially at the price. Doesn't matter too much if you loose a few fps thru PCI-E bottlenecks

30-06-2008, 11:22:41

nunzio
Aye, just worried about the fact they might need PCI-e v.2

30-06-2008, 11:40:22

w3bbo
Nice review m8. Looks like ATI are slowly clawing back some performance.

30-06-2008, 11:53:46

ionicle
very nice looking cards

XFX should come across to the Red camp

i think XFX and ATi would make some damn fine cards together..

but yea, nice

good review

30-06-2008, 12:00:20

nunzio
lol yeah XFX ATi cards would be the best.

30-06-2008, 12:10:08

Jaster
FIGHT FIGHT FIGHT....its about time ATI stopped cowering behind the bikesheds...it bodes well for the 4870 and x2 derivitives.....

30-06-2008, 15:26:21

Luigi
Great review as ever Jim, the cost per frame is simply staggering on this card, much lower than nvidia

30-06-2008, 16:47:42

Kerotan
Awesome review and card really. ATi bringin back VFM, nuff said really

30-06-2008, 17:54:50

!TIMMY!
It is really tempting to get one of these, and then get another for crossfire at a later date.

Great reviews as always!

30-06-2008, 18:00:16

Toxcity
Not to bad a card really, performance is goodish... but price, WOAH!

30-06-2008, 18:18:05

Mr. Smith
For £120 that is a smoking card!

I think I might have to buy a 4870x2 when they come out, ati seems to have won this round

30-06-2008, 18:21:15

nepas
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Mr. Smith'
For £120 that is a smoking card!

I think I might have to buy a 4870x2 when they come out, ati seems to have won this round
that could be classed as an understatement

01-07-2008, 03:53:37

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Mr. Smith'
For £120 that is a smoking card!
Deffo. Especially when you consider that with a bit of overclocking it has the potential to totally wipe the floor with the 3800x2 cards.

01-07-2008, 06:58:47

cl0ck_ed
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='nunzio'
Looks like a great card, wonder if i can Crossfire them on my commando.
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Jim'
8x 8x config might not work too bad with these cards actually. Especially at the price. Doesn't matter too much if you loose a few fps thru PCI-E bottlenecks
I think the commando is actually 16x/4x. The 4x bus of the second slot is too crippling to performance. I was looking at two of these cards for crossfire on the same board and after researching crossfire on the p965 chipset there is little point. Best to sell the commando and buy a x38 or x48 mobo.

The HD 4850 is by far the best card VFM wise recently. I think it'll be even more of a hit than the 8800gt. Unless nVidia drastically reduce the price of there 9800gtx to the same or lower price level.

The Hd 4850 appears to beat the 9800gtx and the 8800gtx in most games. I was thinking of upgrading my 8800gts 640mb to a 8800gtx, but I'm glad I didn't as this card is cheaper and performs better.

I showed the card to my bro, and with a little persuasion I made him buy it. He'll be happy with it hope fully, upgrading from a x1950pro lol.

Also he got the HD 4850 for about £115 delivered from pixmania.com, hasn't arrived yet though.

01-07-2008, 07:00:28

niky_d
Great review Jim, as always.

The price/performance ration is clearly top with the 4850, but Iím looking more in the direction of the 4870 for my self.

It would be nice to see, how a 4870 performs against the gtx260 in a battle review .

And now that there will also be a black edition 4870 that can go over 1Ghz with its cpu, nvidia will have a hard time.

Better cards from ati, lower price for us, at least I hope nvidia will lower their prices.

01-07-2008, 07:14:03

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='cl0ck_ed'
I think the commando is actually 16x/4x. The 4x bus of the second slot is too crippling to performance. I was looking at two of these cards for crossfire on the same board and after researching crossfire on the p965 chipset there is little point. Best to sell the commando and buy a x38 or x48 mobo.
For most P965 boards that would be true, but the Command actually has a "Crosslinx" chip that splits the bandwidth of the first PCI-E slot into 8x/8x when running cards in Crossfire.

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='cl0ck_ed'

The HD 4850 is by far the best card VFM wise recently. I think it'll be even more of a hit than the 8800gt. Unless nVidia drastically reduce the price of there 9800gtx to the same or lower price level.

The Hd 4850 appears to beat the 9800gtx and the 8800gtx in most games. I was thinking of upgrading my 8800gts 640mb to a 8800gtx, but I'm glad I didn't as this card is cheaper and performs better.

I showed the card to my bro, and with a little persuasion I made him buy it. He'll be happy with it hope fully, upgrading from a x1950pro lol.

Also he got the HD 4850 for about £115 delivered from pixmania.com, hasn't arrived yet though.
Bloody hell thats a good price

01-07-2008, 07:27:49

cl0ck_ed
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Jim'
For most P965 boards that would be true, but the Command actually has a "Crosslinx" chip that splits the bandwidth of the first PCI-E slot into 8x/8x when running cards in Crossfire.

Bloody hell thats a good price
Are you sure? Canít find that anywhere. On the asus site it says 16x/4x. Sure your not thinking of the Blitz.

For the cheap price, sign up to Quidco, and you get 5% off at pixmania, you can also get money off at Misco and Novatech.

01-07-2008, 07:30:08

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='cl0ck_ed'
Are you sure? Canít find that anywhere. On the asus site it says 16x/4x. Sure your not thinking of the Blitz.

For the cheap price, sign up to Quidco, and you get 5% off at pixmania, you can also get money off at Misco and Novatech.
You could be right tbh. I've seen so many ASUS boards they've all become a blur.

01-07-2008, 07:46:24

PV5150
Blitz has the Crosslinx, Commando is x16 and x4

01-07-2008, 14:06:01

inconspicuousj
looks very nice. how does it compare to the 8800 gts in practice? It seems to have much better stats.

12-07-2008, 12:48:28

SuperRoach
I have a question about it.... I'm interested in putting this in a lower end pc, to keep me going until Xmas for a new pc build.

The specs are roughly:

Antec p150 case w/ neo430w psu

2gig DDR Ram

bunch of hdds

MSI 7800gtx (256meg)

Amd 3800x2 cpu (oced from 2.0ghz to 2.4ghz)

With the bottleneck of both the ram and the cpu, will I still get a reasonable boost in games, with their fps?

It's cheap enough to buy if I get more than a say, 30fps jump.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.