ASUS GTX580 SLI Exclusive Review

Crysis Warhead & FarCry 2

ASUS GTX580 SLI Review

Crysis Warhead

Normally we run our Crysis Warhead testing at Gamer level and zero anti-aliasing. Partly because that's how we've always done it thanks to the ability of most graphics cards, and partly because Crytek didn't bother to optimise it. However as we've got more graphics power than we know what to do with it just begged to be maxed out completely, so with Enthusiast settings and 16xAA we headed back to the Island.

We ended up with quite a surprise. Although a single card is, as ever, way too little to be playable, the GTX580 in SLI can still churn out over 60FPS with these settings. Ok it's the thick end of £800s worth of silicon, but the results are undeniable.

 

FarCry 2

Although it was sprouted from the same genes as Crysis, FarCry 2 took a different, but still gorgeous, route to its goal.

A single GTX580 is more than plenty to run the game with everything on Ultra High. The ASUS GTX580 when overclocked rocks over a hundred frames a second. Add another and we see 150 on the board. We're as open-mouthed as you.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next»

Most Recent Comments

11-11-2010, 01:51:27

tinytomlogan
Following yesterdays first look at the new nVidia beast, today we go playing with a pair, courtesy of ASUS

Continue Reading

11-11-2010, 04:06:43

Black
WOW I want them

It is a shame that I bought 2x460 SLI - I should wait and buy 1x580 from Asus.

11-11-2010, 04:29:25

Runebeard
Wow wow wow wow wow! That's just insane performance! And it runs faster, quieter AND cooler than the Zotac! What is there to criticise? Well possibly the price, for those of us with out a job at the moment. But, post release of the 69xx series later his month, I'm banking on that dropping by as much as 50 if it comes anywhere near this in performance. Looks like I'll have to start saving up the reddies!

11-11-2010, 06:03:10

thestepster
best part of the review

http://i53.tinypic.com/6zlnxv.jpg

11-11-2010, 06:58:22

murphy7801
Quote:
Originally Posted by Black View Post

WOW I want them

It is a shame that I bought 2x460 SLI - I should wait and buy 1x580 from Asus.
Yer me too the only put off was the heat power of the gtx 480 had the cash it makes me sad oh well have do a rebuild in 6 months then

11-11-2010, 07:04:13

Bungral
Nice review Tom.. I like the Asus cards being plain jane.

Did the performance dip down at all when you had it clocked up to 950MHz on the core at all?? If it didn't then the issue of the card throttling before any decent overclocking can be done is blown out the windows.

Does look like you had a poo poo Zotac though.

Oh yeah and the SLI scaling in Metro is pretty decent.

11-11-2010, 07:21:43

F-alienware
Did you turn Physx on in Batman this time?

Reason I ask is because in the video for the Zotac it was disabled.

11-11-2010, 07:27:13

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienALX View Post

Did you turn Physx on in Batman this time?

Reason I ask is because in the video for the Zotac it was disabled.
No it wasnt everything is on max and all enabled dude.

11-11-2010, 07:30:29

Bungral
Tooooooooooom. How about the throttling fella. Notice any while fully overclocked at 950mhz odd?

11-11-2010, 07:40:02

PCTwin
Nice review. the only downer is I cant afford them. I want 1 for christmas, kids!!

11-11-2010, 07:41:33

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bungral View Post

Tooooooooooom. How about the throttling fella. Notice any while fully overclocked at 950mhz odd?
Not a sausage mate although we did have the fans on 100% (as mentioned) as its just a way to show whats possible.

11-11-2010, 08:19:42

Bungral
Na that's cool... that's one of the questions I asked in Brians review yesterday.

It's all getting rather confusing ay.

I know the card throttles if you use furmark or occt from logic in the card somewhere but I'm not sure what other throttling it'll do. Perhaps the furmark and occt are done on TDP while the rest of the throttling will come in to effect when the card gets too hot.

That would make sense as Nvidia did say that the throttling wouldn't effect gaming in the way it does the torture tests.

I don't bloody know, just theorising.

Anyway, it does show that a nice aftermarket cooler should allow some nice beefy overclocks that definitely have a decent effect on frame rates.

11-11-2010, 08:22:57

Techyandy
Quote:
Originally Posted by thestepster View Post

best part of the review

http://i53.tinypic.com/6zlnxv.jpg
Nice to know that this review stuff is serious business

11-11-2010, 08:31:41

Heebs
OMG... Do want... I probably need a new PSU though, I dont know if my Corsair 850 will handle 2 of them...

11-11-2010, 08:33:39

hmmblah
Tom, you honestly have the best job in the world. My nose would be sore from smelling all the brand new parts. Great review, nice to see that nVidia have a winner this time around in not only performance, but also keeping things cool. What kind of wattage do these cards use at load?

11-11-2010, 09:11:33

tinytomlogan
Finally YouTube has let me upload the game play video (been trying since 4am) so I have added it to the review.

Here it is for the forum go-ers anyways

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wZJsdeD4m-M

11-11-2010, 09:31:34

F-alienware
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post

No it wasnt everything is on max and all enabled dude.
In V1.0 of Batman you could enable everything but it didn't work. Your video of it running looks like this.

http://i72.photobucket.com/albums/i1...buron/oc3d.jpg

Which is this

http://i72.photobucket.com/albums/i1.../physxOFF1.jpg

Physx off. Physx on?

http://i72.photobucket.com/albums/i1...n/physxON1.jpg

The rolling benchmark looks completely different with Physx enabled mush.

Found another comparisson shot. Off

http://i72.photobucket.com/albums/i1.../PhysxOFF2.jpg

On

http://i72.photobucket.com/albums/i1...n/PhysxON2.jpg

11-11-2010, 09:34:54

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienALX View Post

In V1.0 of Batman you could enable everything but it didn't work. Your video of it running looks like this.
IDK then fella as its all maxed out, and i bought the game from Steam so its not an old copy or cracked or owt.

11-11-2010, 09:50:39

F-alienware
Ahh OK dude I see. Yeah something is deffo amiss there.

Doesn't matter really, but man, this game with Physx on is a sight to behold tbh. In the benchmark it's literally smoke and cobwebs. In the game? tiles smash, scenery breaks. Absolutely amazing stuff.

Ed. What I mean by doesn't matter.. In a benchmark as long as it's the same across the different hardware you are generating a comparisson. Those cards will absolutely eat Physx up any way

Edit. Again where are my manners. Thanks for the review chaps. Gives a man a chance to see how the rich and filthy live

Haha it's a good thing for you guys really. You have all the top end expensive stuff which makes me not want it as badly

11-11-2010, 11:01:33

Alicarve
Quote:
Originally Posted by thestepster View Post

best part of the review

http://i53.tinypic.com/6zlnxv.jpg
when i saw that in the review just made me laugh

but yeah nice cards, only if i had the money

though i still love my 460s

11-11-2010, 11:05:06

hmmblah
Any word on GTX570's yet?

11-11-2010, 11:31:10

Bungral
Think I read either before the end of this month or the end of the year.... One of the two.

But that's just rumours really.

Quote:
Originally Posted by hmmblah View Post

Any word on GTX570's yet?

11-11-2010, 12:48:39

Bungral
Tom, just watched the video's. Did you take any figures of the temps of a single Asus 580 or not really bother and just say what you'd seen?

16-11-2010, 21:24:14

rhomp2002
How does this compare to the AMD 5970?

17-11-2010, 19:43:45

murphy7801
Quote:
Originally Posted by rhomp2002 View Post

How does this compare to the AMD 5970?
lol most 5970 suck there were the worst of the 5000's series for what got and alot better.

26-11-2010, 12:16:18

Pullen
Just ordered one of these Asus 580s today .

26-11-2010, 13:31:05

Mr. Strawberry
only one?

you need to get 2

27-11-2010, 07:31:37

dipzy
Getting my two EVGA GTX 580's soon

27-11-2010, 09:09:18

AMDFTW
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pullen View Post

Just ordered one of these Asus 580s today .
dont forget to bench and fold

29-11-2010, 13:04:40

Pullen
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Strawberry View Post

only one?

you need to get 2
Getting one for now, will get another next month if I feel the need.

29-11-2010, 13:05:49

Mr. Strawberry
you disapoint me

lol

29-11-2010, 15:20:19

Pullen
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Strawberry View Post

you disapoint me

lol
You disappoint society .

29-11-2010, 15:32:31

AMDFTW
i loled ^

29-11-2010, 17:40:32

Mr. Strawberry
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pullen View Post

You disappoint society .
yeah but i am better than society so you still come out worse

29-11-2010, 18:52:54

F-alienware
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMDFTW View Post

dont forget to bench and fold
Sounds like a workout.

30-11-2010, 06:25:45

Todd
Haha, Tom, I'm loving the GTFO you sent to that geekster guy. Why would we want to possibly just see the results? That's what every other homo reviewer wannabe is there for.. Jesus, I think some people need to grow up

30-11-2010, 20:02:26

murphy7801
Damn you Tom making spend more money looks like im might go get a gtx 580 GS due to the fact had great experiences on the gtx 460 series though might be able to hold out for non ref cards

04-09-2011, 07:42:11

miliorocks
great review OC3d..i was wondering, i saw EVGA, Gigabyte, ASUS, and MSI with the gtx580?..which one is better?whici one would you recommend to use?..thnks for the help..

04-09-2011, 08:05:43

Jerome
With reference cards I think all of them are quite equal with different small personal perks for each like ASUS brags the glue used to stick the GPU to the board, MSI might have better capacitors, EVGA gives 10 year warranty, Gigabyte erm is very good

28-09-2011, 15:36:32

Ravious
Nice review as always!
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.