ASUS GTX560 TOP Review

Test Setup, Overclocking and Temps

ASUS GTX560 TOP Review

Test Setup

ASUS GTX560 TOP
Forceware 275.20
Gigabyte Z68X UD5 B3
Intel Core i5-2500K @ 4.4 GHz
4GB Kingston Genesis 2133 MHz
Be Quiet Dark Power Pro
Windows 7 64 Bit SP1

Overclocking

With the standard voltage we managed to get the GTX560 TOP up to a healthy 977 MHz before it cried enough. However the benefit of the ASUS Voltage Tweak BIOS is that it's very easy to add a little boost to the GPU vCore and with an extra 0.05v bump it pushed up to 1011 MHz. Not bad going at all.

ASUS GTX560 TOP Review Default Clock     ASUS GTX560 TOP Review Overclocking

Temperatures

Of course speeds are pointless if the card is a cooker, but like the rest of the GF110 range of cards the GTX560 isn't a great heat-producer. Even better the Direct-CU II cooler is outstanding at remaining cool and quiet. Even with the extremely strenuous Unigine Heaven Benchmark suite running it didn't get its feathers ruffled at all.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next»

Most Recent Comments

17-05-2011, 09:09:09

tinytomlogan
In need of a GPU upgrade but have been holding off for something more affordable? Hopefully ASUS have just what you need.



Continue Reading

17-05-2011, 09:12:57

Karlos_the_n00b
Ah, so this is the new 560, not to be confused with the 560 TI, not that that should be confusing in any way

*begins to read*

17-05-2011, 09:54:42

SieB
Good card, I just found a 560 DirectCU II for 167.99 but the MSI Twin Frozer II 560ti is only 175.99, personalty I would go with the ti.

Nvidia have done the same thing as they did with the 450 and the 550, they have just made another version of an already existing card.

It's not really a bad thing but first we had the Nvidia 550 and AMD 6790 releases which apart from the water cooled version of the 6790 are no better than cards that only cost a few quid more and I feel like this is the same thing all over again. Saying that though there is also the normal DirectCU version of the 560 for only 155 so that is not to bad, still, it would have been nice to see a new card slightly better than the 560ti rather than one slightly less better.

17-05-2011, 09:56:44

dugdiamond
what form factor is this (length being the most important - as she says!) ??

and where can i get one of these babies from?

17-05-2011, 09:59:33

dugdiamond
answered:

22.9cm

~175 quid

17-05-2011, 10:14:53

Zeals
This card is essentially a rehashed GTX460 with a few optimizations made for DX11.

17-05-2011, 10:47:15

jonowee
The 560 Ti is in such a sweet spot, why bother without the Ti. I guess with the 5xx series months/years in the works, the product line's performance jumps seem crowded now they've pushed them into production.

17-05-2011, 13:06:02

murphy7801
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonowee View Post

The 560 Ti is in such a sweet spot, why bother without the Ti. I guess with the 5xx series months/years in the works, the product line's performance jumps seem crowded now they've pushed them into production.
Personally with the fact that you can get gtx 570 for 240 why bother with a gtx 560 ti its comparative less powerful for what maybe spending 50 less.

17-05-2011, 15:55:30

Aurus_OC
Looks like a great value card . Well written review as always from you guys

17-05-2011, 16:27:28

jack-uk
As Zeals said the card is a repeated 460 with dx11

18-05-2011, 01:36:15

Luger718
if this stayed at usd$200 instead o upping the price for custom cooler and whatnot itd be nice but paying more then 200 you could just go for a ti (usd$250)

18-05-2011, 09:03:26

Alicarve
well if you look at my gtx460 1gb top review http://forum.overclock3d.net/index.php?/topic/33283-asus-gtx460-1gb-top/page__p__391392#entry391392

it does give 5-10fps boost in games and big difference in 3d mark scores

18-05-2011, 09:17:51

Tortuga
Quote:
Originally Posted by jack-uk View Post

As Zeals said the card is a repeated 460 with dx11
The 460 is already a dx 11 card.

15-03-2012, 19:40:36

FTLN
Just to confirm to you all, this card is not a rebadged 460....

Sorry to bump an old review
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.