ASUS EN9800GT 512mb PCI-E

Synthetic Benchmarks

3D Mark
 
3DMark is a popular synthetic gaming benchmark used by many gamers and overclockers to gauge the performance of their PC's. All 3DMark runs were performed a total of 5 times, with the highest and lowest results being removed and an average calculated from the remaining 3 results.
 
 
 
 
 
Results Conclusions
 
Well I think the results speak for themselves. The synthetic benchmarks clearly favour the HD4850 with the card gaining an even greater advantage when the resolutions and filtering are turned up a notch. Synthetic benchmarks don't always paint a picture of 'true' performance, however. Lets take a look at how the two cards perform in real world games.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next»

Most Recent Comments

26-09-2008, 07:24:59

PV5150
Can the ASUS EN9800GT claim the middleweight crown in the GPU market or will the HD4850 still reign supreme? (Review by webbo)

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...235203144s.jpg

Check out the review

26-09-2008, 07:44:15

Rastalovich
Good review. It does indeed look like a 8800GT with a gpu switch over. However I would draw exception to the comparison of it with a 4850. In my mind, the 4850 is to compete with the likes of the 260 from an nVidia pov, hence u can use the comment of "so last year" cos, well, it is. Immediately seeing the 4850 being held against it, I was quite supprized that it held up as close as it did in some respects. It`s counterpart, the 3850 (imo) may well have produced a different picture. Likewize the 260/4850. It`s a tough call cos on the one hand a company is producing a range whereas the other is introduce 2, mainly with slight manufacturing differences.

They are however closer matched cost per frame than the other variations may be, which is where u probably could consider them to be competitors for that region.

The look of this ASUS range of cooling is growing on me. I did think it looked fugly when I seen it first, and don`t have a particular liking of that direction of cooler on a gfxcard - even tho it is a solid method, I`d prefer to blow across and hopefully out of the case rather than swirling around inside hoping for a good exhaust fan. It`s hard to have that blowing across method without a dual slot approach tho.

Great read.

26-09-2008, 08:29:15

Diablo
I think the 4850 is designed to compete with the 9800GTX+ which it matches more closely. The 1GB 4850 is way above this price point. I agree with Rast, the cooling should be across and out of the case. I think the card is for those who want more than the 9600GT without stepping up 50 to the 9800GTX range. It also offers those with more sense to look for an 8800GT with almost all of the features (oh no I lose hybrid SLI, that I don't have support for) for a massively reduced price.

A really good review as ever guys.

26-09-2008, 08:49:52

w3bbo
The 9800GT is perhaps out there on its own with regard to comparisons but comparing it to say a 9600GT or a 9800GTX would be quite predictable in its outcome. You could say that the outcome in the 9800GT vs 4850 was predictable but they are 2 cards from different competitors (NVidia vs ATI) while using the same manufacturer (Asus). I attempted to emphasize more towards the cost per frame, which the 9800gt dosn't fair too badly to say it is based on last years tech, it's just the 4850 is such a damn good card.

It is very difficult to say which card is competeting against which.

4850 vs 9800GTX+

4870 vs GTX260?

4870x2 vs GTX280?

or should it be:

4850 vs GTX260 (single vs single)

4870 vs GTX280 (single vs single)

4870x2 vs 280GX2(??) - 2 core vs 2 core?

Obviously price also needs to be taken into account which makes comparisons even more difficult - do we compare on price, performance, or price per frame.

Difficult one I'm sure you can imagine, especially when cards are released with no specific entry point in the market.

Thx for the constructive comments guys.

26-09-2008, 08:57:16

Diablo
Its a good review, I reckon its hard to know what Nvidia are doing with the 9800GT in terms of competition. On the one hand, the 4850 beats it hands down so you should go for that, but the price is higher, and if price is of on object, why not go the whole hog and buy a tri sli 280GTX?

I think the 9800GT is great if you are looking for a GFX below 100, and probably below 90 in a couple of weeks, as it obviously out performs all but the most heavily overclocked 9600GTs.

At the price point I would go for it, but for 20 more I would go for the 4850. It depends on what your maximum budget is and where the fanboy in you lives. Camp red or green people?

26-09-2008, 09:32:59

Rastalovich
It`s tough to decide these days imo.

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='webbo'

4850 vs GTX260 (single vs single)

4870 vs GTX280 (single vs single)

4870x2 vs 280GX2(??) - 2 core vs 2 core?
^^ this would be my line of thinking u see. Including x2 vS x2. x2 vS a single, even tho they may cost the same, is wrong. Possibly like comparing a QX9770 and 3x Q9450.

BUT. nVidia make it doubly difficult as there are 9400/9500, 9600, 9800GS/GT/GTX/GTX+ - 9800 is also *usually* a consolidating card. (hard to say usually)

I haven`t seen a GTX200 equiv of a "general purpose multimedia emphasis" card, like the 9400/9500 would be - perhaps they wont bother.

Costing, tbh, I don`t look at in regards to them - but really I should. But imo, there are 3 camps, those who want the best card regardless of the cost (looking at the tech 1st), those on a budget (they have 100/200 - what`s the best card they can get for it), and those who don`t mind x2/xFire/SLI/etc.

Imo also, all 3 of those camps are currently being satisfied from both ATI & nVidia. (cept fanbois ofc )

26-09-2008, 09:51:10

Diablo
Bit off topic, but how does dual 280GTX sli stack up against 4870x2 xf (i.e. 2 x 4870x2s). I heard the 4870x2s don't scale that well.

I reckon at the minute the pricing is a little high and there are too many out on the market, perhaps by next week Nvidia will release a 9750GTS FTW XXX edition so I'll keep my mouth shut.

26-09-2008, 12:45:48

FarFarAway
Very nicely written review as usual mate.

It's an 'OK' card but as you said, nothing special. Nvidia are being a little 'special' at the moment and releasing stupid amounts of cards for not much reason. See the enhanced 260 for a reference to what I mean

25-10-2010, 10:03:50

Garurumon
those speeds arent stock, i have that exact same card and the stock speeds for me are

Core 600Mhz

Memory 900Mhz

2000mhz on the memory IS NOT possible, i tried it and it artifacted to the EXTREME and nearly FRIED my card.

I think your lying on this review

25-10-2010, 10:12:13

hmmblah
Quote:
Originally Posted by Garurumon View Post

those speeds arent stock, i have that exact same card and the stock speeds for me are

Core 600Mhz

Memory 900Mhz

2000mhz on the memory IS NOT possible, i tried it and it artifacted to the EXTREME and nearly FRIED my card.

I think your lying on this review
Every card is different. Also, this thread is old...2008.

25-10-2010, 10:54:56

tinytomlogan
I think he is forgetting that the mem would have been 1000 (and then doubled for the rated 2000) so he would never have even got the slider to 2000

Also each card can have different clocks depending on the Manufacturer. 1post fail, probs wont be back.

25-10-2010, 11:20:47

hmmblah
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post

I think he is forgetting that the mem would have been 1000 (and then doubled for the rated 2000) so he would never have even got the slider to 2000

Also each card can have different clocks depending on the Manufacturer. 1post fail, probs wont be back.
lol true. I was thinking along those lines, but gave him the benefit of the doubt.

25-10-2010, 12:16:13

yggdrasil
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post

1post fail, probs wont be back.
Lol

Quick rant: These cards suck in SLI, they are single PCI slot cards but the cooler takes up two slots and on most board the cooler cant get any cool air into the cooler when its mounted side by side a second card, as the back of the second card blocks the air flow into the first card. Sot he fan spins up and turns your PC into a noise box.

25-10-2010, 18:27:16

AMDFTW
lol well that was random
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.