ASUS EAH6970 Review

Unigine

ASUS EAH6970 Review

Unigine 0xAA

Wow. Here is a turn-up for the books. We're using the same Catalyst 10.12 drivers here as we did on our most recent testing, but there is something about this combination that eats Unigine for breakfast. To gain 5FPS in a benchmark that takes huge amounts of extra grunt to gain a single FPS is stunning. Does the ultra-high settings of 8xAA keep it up.

 

Unigine 8xAA

Normally increasing image quality narrows the gap between results. Especially on systems that should theoretically perform identically. However here the gap widens yet further to a frankly unbelievable 8 frames per second. With both the reference card and this ASUS model at the same clock speeds, the same drivers and with identical speed, but not specification, processors we're really at a loss to explain such a monumental improvement.

So astounded are we, here is the result from Unigine itself.

ASUS EAH6970 Review

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

21-12-2010, 05:02:29

tinytomlogan
The latest variant of the HD6970 comes to us via ASUS. Does their voltage tweak BIOS enable extra performance?

Continue Reading

21-12-2010, 05:28:01

Rastalovich
Something still doesn't seem right. A colleague is still scratching his head here.

But looking at it from my pov, I've seen that issue with using an overclocking tool before. You ramp the slider as high as it'll go and you feel you could take it further - and it just won't allow it. It happened

to me recently using afterburner on a 8400 (which is besides the point), but you feel the 'tool' is being told the up/low limits. Perhaps the bios is the key.

If it were mine (I mean donate to me to play with), I'd delve into the bios fiddling menu like atitool/afterburner has and try and massage the limits. From memory tho, if the tool doesn't know the card's bios, it will limit what you can do. I'd still fiddle with it tho.

This is besides the point tho. Off the shelf, something still aint right to me.

Voltage tweak and a oc limit ? Nah, definitely not.

I hate to harp on about it, but those bios versions from the ref card and this would be interesting. I'm going to see if there's any revisions coming out in the future too.

21-12-2010, 05:28:49

lawson
Nice review Tom

21-12-2010, 05:37:07

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by lawson View Post

Nice review Tom
If you look dude Bryan wrote it It does say at the top of each review who the author is.

21-12-2010, 05:49:05

Pyr0
i'd like that voltage tweak bios

any chance of a dump please Bryan?

[edit] did you try the "EnableUnofficialOverclocking" feature of Afterburner to get past the limitations of Catalyst Control Center?

21-12-2010, 05:49:24

DSV-UltraGL
finally the ASUS!

man, i need some more info!

1- what is a the max voltage in smart doctor?

2- why didn't you use MSI's AfterBurner for OC;ing? ppl are getting higher clocks with that, max i saw @ stock voltages was 980mhz Core, so maybe up the voltage using Smartdoctor and get to 1Ghz (World FIRST!!) using Afterburner??

3-What are the temps? this one has aluminum cover, wanna see how much this one is cooler! before and after OC please!

i know am asking alot, but am barely holding back waiting for those to be in stock (USA), if no diff than other ones (plastic cover) my wait is over! thanx in advance!

EDIT:damn 19 sec diff pyro!

21-12-2010, 07:05:45

Rastalovich
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pyr0 View Post

i'd like that voltage tweak bios

any chance of a dump please Bryan?

[edit] did you try the "EnableUnofficialOverclocking" feature of Afterburner to get past the limitations of Catalyst Control Center?
OT

I liked Afterburner for a while, but it appears to be selective on cards it likes. I've subsequently reverted to ATITool v0.26 (for the card I was messing with) and it allows changing of limits.

21-12-2010, 07:12:56

SiLo
Really nice review here guys But I would love to see just this versus a 570. Just the two, nothing else, in a big head to head.

For me currently thinking about upgrading, these are the two best performers for the money, is it possible to set up such a test?

21-12-2010, 07:29:07

PCTwin
I don.t suppose you've managed to try RBE on these cards yet.

I know they added prelim support for the 6850/70 series.

Edit

Great effort as always.

21-12-2010, 07:54:57

Pyr0
not sure i'd try using RBE just yet

after dumping the bios with GPU-Z, there's a couple of things RBE doesn't read correctly

could be due to a bad dump or just being mis read

http://i2.sqi.sh/s_1/4s2/l_rbe1.png

http://i2.sqi.sh/s_1/4s2/l_rbe2.png

21-12-2010, 08:02:36

PCTwin
Thanks Pyro.

Interesting.

21-12-2010, 12:52:55

AraS
something wrong with that voltage tweak slide i guess it will be fixed soon , also as i pointed out on youtube .

The Radeon HD 6900 Series are the first graphics cards to use the Volterra VT1556. It offers extensive voltage control and monitoring via I2C. At this time no software supports this controller yet, but I am sure this will change in the weeks to come.

21-12-2010, 14:38:43

Captain Caveman
Quote:
Originally Posted by SiLo View Post

Really nice review here guys But I would love to see just this versus a 570. Just the two, nothing else, in a big head to head.

For me currently thinking about upgrading, these are the two best performers for the money, is it possible to set up such a test?
If I'm not mistaken they've already done reviews on both GPU's you mentioned...just watch or read them both separately and compare.

21-12-2010, 15:02:43

Captain Caveman
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post

The latest variant of the HD6970 comes to us via ASUS. Does their voltage tweak BIOS enable extra performance?

Continue Reading
I am extremely let down with the new 68-6950/70's. To me it seems that ATI is purposely confusing and misleading people with the number branding. To me they're just new versions of the 5750 cards and not worth replacing my 5970 with

21-12-2010, 16:03:39

F-alienware
Quick question. The scores reported from Vantage. Are they the total score or just the 3D score?

Thanks for the review as always Bryan, pleasure to read mate

21-12-2010, 17:47:39

murphy7801
Not says that these cards are bad just feeling bit underwhelmed compared to the gtx580/570 though still like to see gtx 570 sli to compare the 6970 crossfire

21-12-2010, 18:46:36

F-alienware
Quote:
Originally Posted by murphy7801 View Post

Not says that these cards are bad just feeling bit underwhelmed compared to the gtx580/570 though still like to see gtx 570 sli to compare the 6970 crossfire
I wouldn't. It simply wouldn't be fair.

I've been benchmarking my 470 OC @ 710mhz (I've heard they can go 800+ pish) and tbh? the 6970 is barely any better in any of the benchmarks I have ran on a non OC cpu. And, the 6970 is maxed out. I would lay a guess I could actually beat the 6970 in pretty much everything if I pushed harder.

Vantage

http://i54.tinypic.com/30acfiq.jpg

Heaven

http://i56.tinypic.com/2ziwldj.jpg

Putting the 6970 against a 570 would be rather pointless. The 570 would rip it limb from limb considering that the 570 is basically a 480 in a cool quiet package. The 570 actually overclocks too.

Important Edit. Why is the PCIE lane on the test rig running at 8x?

22-12-2010, 05:29:10

murphy7801
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienALX View Post

I wouldn't. It simply wouldn't be fair.

I've been benchmarking my 470 OC @ 710mhz (I've heard they can go 800+ pish) and tbh? the 6970 is barely any better in any of the benchmarks I have ran on a non OC cpu. And, the 6970 is maxed out. I would lay a guess I could actually beat the 6970 in pretty much everything if I pushed harder.

Vantage

http://i54.tinypic.com/30acfiq.jpg

Heaven

http://i56.tinypic.com/2ziwldj.jpg

Putting the 6970 against a 570 would be rather pointless. The 570 would rip it limb from limb considering that the 570 is basically a 480 in a cool quiet package. The 570 actually overclocks too.

Important Edit. Why is the PCIE lane on the test rig running at 8x?
more interested to see how current gen crossfire scales against current sli with using the gtx 580 because thats way off the charts

22-12-2010, 06:25:17

F-alienware
I still think that even though Crossfire scales better (I've no problem in accepting that because it does ) that the 570s in SLI would still win. Thing is let's face it the two aren't even in the same price bracket. I mean, SLI 570 works out to about 520 whilst a pair of 6970 are going to touch on 600.

I'm still very concerned as to why the PCIE lanes in the test on this card here are running @ 8x. Whether there was a problem with the driver or something? don't know. But, the 6970 in this review just doesn't seem to perform as it should. I know for a fact that ATI were gunning for the 470 and 480 with the release of the 6950 and 6970 and progressively the 6950 was designed to edge out the 470 and the 6970 to edge out the 480. Obviously where they came unstuck was the 5 series GPUs. They just weren't planning on that and it was too late to go back to the drawing board and start again.

Very similar to the 5850 and 5870 story really. Early samples of the 470 and 480 were bloody awful. Then all of a sudden ATI release the 5850 and 5870 and then there's a huge delay before Fermi finally releases and they are actually faster (though hot and loud and use loads of power).

TBH I would still rather have a single 580 than 6970CF or 570SLI. Mind you, that is just my personal preference

22-12-2010, 07:36:51

murphy7801
See alot talk no real hard evidence I like to see some test so can draw my own conclusions thats why I want see sli gtx 570 so can actually know whats best for me and my Christmas bonus

22-12-2010, 07:58:28

F-alienware
Quote:
Originally Posted by murphy7801 View Post

See alot talk no real hard evidence
Take off the rose coloured specs. Look at my Vantage and heaven scores on a 470 and then compare them to the results with this overclocked 6970. Then go and look at the 570 review and watch how it utterly obliterates the 6970 as a single card. Then do some research and figure out the scores comparitively by using stated performance gains in SLI and Crossfire.

If you still can't work it out? well, not much more to say really. Just trying to help you out is all. Mind you, if you're absolutely dead set then I'm surely wasting my breath so I guess just go with what you want to go with.

As I said just think about it logically. Some times you don't need reviews or your hand held you can find the answers you need with a good old fashioned bit of investigation.

22-12-2010, 08:05:00

Rastalovich
Easy tiger, each to their own methods.

It's a weird one for me tho, since I just spent some google time, why there aren't a good handful of 570 sli reviews.

I don't expect much more than the 480 sli reviews, but even so. Lack of benching, lack of results, lack of reviews. I don't think it's too early.

22-12-2010, 08:06:03

Pyr0
the only reason your vantage score is higher or "utterly obliterates" is because of the use of physx

because of physx, the cpu score is hugely inflated

22-12-2010, 08:06:37

murphy7801
Im sorry but if compare them on identical pc's with not just synthetic benchmarks also but some actual real life test in there that would be little more scientific also alot info out there is corporate sponsor pumped up stats

22-12-2010, 08:10:31

Rastalovich
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pyr0 View Post

the only reason your vantage score is higher or "utterly obliterates" is because of the use of physx
I know I'm probably one of a few with this opinion, but I don't think it should be disabled.

I'd not insist the extra special additions to a Intel P4 HT be "disabled" when benched against a P3 to make fast calculations.

22-12-2010, 08:20:07

F-alienware
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rastalovich View Post

Easy tiger, each to their own methods.

It's a weird one for me tho, since I just spent some google time, why there aren't a good handful of 570 sli reviews.

I don't expect much more than the 480 sli reviews, but even so. Lack of benching, lack of results, lack of reviews. I don't think it's too early.
Indeed. TBH this is what I am trying to get across. No review or benchmark is really going to give you the answer. The very fact that reviews are usually done once and give you a pile of pics and figures doesn't usually equate to exacting performance in your computer, in your house in your bedroom. Each of the setups will have its positives and its drawbacks.

For example, these are just a few I have worked out from reading reviews.

Crossfire scales better (we all know that) and thus in reviews the 6970 will likely come out on top in 'scored' results.

SLI has a few advantages. Firstly you get CUDA and Physx thrown into the mix which again, will improve a good selection of games. Enabling Physx on say, Mafia 2 will bring the Radeons to a crawl. Running Just Cause 2 (which uses Havok for the physics engine and CUDA to increase performance) will bring out the best in a Geforce. Radeons are crap at Metro, ETC, ETC. Radeons are better at Stalker Pripyat, ETC ETC.

The 570 is cooler and quieter. It just goes on. For every disadvantage of one there is a disadvantage for the other. The sorts of questions he is asking, IE "Which is better?" is absolutely and utterly impossible to answer without being a mind reader. Only he knows what he wants and what he is looking for, and that could be a boat load of things.

Firstly if he wants to run Vantage a lot and do a bit of posing? the 6970CF will probably be the better option for boasting with (given the results against 580 CF).

If he's into folding? no brainer.

If he likes Just Cause 2 and loves a bit of Physx goodness? no brainer.

It just seems to me from what I can gather that he is asking OC3D to give him all of the answers. Which TBH is impossible to do. OC3D can only really go so far before he has to make his own decision. His decision would likely be based on what he wants, mine would be based on what I want. Over the past six months I, personally, have come to the following conclusions.

I can't be without Physx as four of my top ten games all use it and I know how Radeons are crap for it.

I wouldn't ever use CF or SLI again *unless* one of the cards *alone* could be muscular enough to belt out max settings on its own as Crossfire and SLI simply aren't reliable enough. OC3D uses a set of the same games to show performance. However, they don't use brand new games and then say "hmm, simply doesn't work". This is a side of Crossfire and SLI that people just don't get to see and I don't blame OC3D for that. Expecting an entire review that takes days just to answer the questions I have would be taking the wee a little bit.

I've tried to point out the pros and cons of both SLI and Crossfire to people using my own real life experiences with both. I ran SLI 8600GTS and Crossfire 5770. SLI had tearing issues among other problems and Crossfire refused to work all of the time and needed fettling and fiddling. This is what brought me to my conclusion that I would never use either again unless one card was man enough to do the job without me having to rely on something that is driver based. Heck, we all know how crap drivers can be.

So that's about it really. Apologies if I sounded a bit crappy, that's not what was intended. However, it seems to me that Murph is relying on OC3D to make the decision for him. Sometimes you just need to take the plunge and if you make a mistake learn from it. I do empathise that the kind of cash we are talking about here is a big decision, but TBH if I was in any doubt whatsoever I would avoid both and go for a single powerful card solution.

But again, that's me. That's what I would do based on me and my experiences.

Quote:
Originally Posted by murphy7801 View Post

Im sorry but if compare them on identical pc's with not just synthetic benchmarks also but some actual real life test in there that would be little more scientific also alot info out there is corporate sponsor pumped up stats
My post should have answered that but if not? You're not going to find any one to cater to all of your needs dude. Sometimes you just need to 'suck it and see'. If life hands you lemons? well, all you can really do is suck on them.

22-12-2010, 10:49:44

murphy7801
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienALX View Post

Indeed. TBH this is what I am trying to get across. No review or benchmark is really going to give you the answer. The very fact that reviews are usually done once and give you a pile of pics and figures doesn't usually equate to exacting performance in your computer, in your house in your bedroom. Each of the setups will have its positives and its drawbacks.

For example, these are just a few I have worked out from reading reviews.

Crossfire scales better (we all know that) and thus in reviews the 6970 will likely come out on top in 'scored' results.

SLI has a few advantages. Firstly you get CUDA and Physx thrown into the mix which again, will improve a good selection of games. Enabling Physx on say, Mafia 2 will bring the Radeons to a crawl. Running Just Cause 2 (which uses Havok for the physics engine and CUDA to increase performance) will bring out the best in a Geforce. Radeons are crap at Metro, ETC, ETC. Radeons are better at Stalker Pripyat, ETC ETC.

The 570 is cooler and quieter. It just goes on. For every disadvantage of one there is a disadvantage for the other. The sorts of questions he is asking, IE "Which is better?" is absolutely and utterly impossible to answer without being a mind reader. Only he knows what he wants and what he is looking for, and that could be a boat load of things.

Firstly if he wants to run Vantage a lot and do a bit of posing? the 6970CF will probably be the better option for boasting with (given the results against 580 CF).

If he's into folding? no brainer.

If he likes Just Cause 2 and loves a bit of Physx goodness? no brainer.

It just seems to me from what I can gather that he is asking OC3D to give him all of the answers. Which TBH is impossible to do. OC3D can only really go so far before he has to make his own decision. His decision would likely be based on what he wants, mine would be based on what I want. Over the past six months I, personally, have come to the following conclusions.

I can't be without Physx as four of my top ten games all use it and I know how Radeons are crap for it.

I wouldn't ever use CF or SLI again *unless* one of the cards *alone* could be muscular enough to belt out max settings on its own as Crossfire and SLI simply aren't reliable enough. OC3D uses a set of the same games to show performance. However, they don't use brand new games and then say "hmm, simply doesn't work". This is a side of Crossfire and SLI that people just don't get to see and I don't blame OC3D for that. Expecting an entire review that takes days just to answer the questions I have would be taking the wee a little bit.

I've tried to point out the pros and cons of both SLI and Crossfire to people using my own real life experiences with both. I ran SLI 8600GTS and Crossfire 5770. SLI had tearing issues among other problems and Crossfire refused to work all of the time and needed fettling and fiddling. This is what brought me to my conclusion that I would never use either again unless one card was man enough to do the job without me having to rely on something that is driver based. Heck, we all know how crap drivers can be.

So that's about it really. Apologies if I sounded a bit crappy, that's not what was intended. However, it seems to me that Murph is relying on OC3D to make the decision for him. Sometimes you just need to take the plunge and if you make a mistake learn from it. I do empathise that the kind of cash we are talking about here is a big decision, but TBH if I was in any doubt whatsoever I would avoid both and go for a single powerful card solution.

But again, that's me. That's what I would do based on me and my experiences.

My post should have answered that but if not? You're not going to find any one to cater to all of your needs dude. Sometimes you just need to 'suck it and see'. If life hands you lemons? well, all you can really do is suck on them.
Ok fair enf but you made me want quote something dont take this the wrong way "if god hands you lemons get a new god"

22-12-2010, 13:19:55

F-alienware
Quote:
Originally Posted by murphy7801 View Post

Ok fair enf but you made me want quote something dont take this the wrong way "if god hands you lemons get a new god"
One should therefore go through life blaming himself for his choices and actions and not some one else.

22-12-2010, 14:54:53

murphy7801
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienALX View Post

One should therefore go through life blaming himself for his choices and actions and not some one else.
No it was joke http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t-3qncy5Qfk see this for explanation, seeing we were not going see eye to eye trying lighten the mood.

22-12-2010, 14:58:49

F-alienware

22-12-2010, 15:48:42

SiLo
So for me it's really which one is cheaper? Considering they perform similarly in the games I play (Last 4 CoD's, CoH, MoW, DiRT 1&2, f1 2010 etc) I do Have metro but I can run it on very high settings with my 5870 and I don't get any lag (which I'm thankful for).

So cheapness then, because I'm never going to do any benchamrking with Vantage and what not.

22-12-2010, 15:54:20

F-alienware
Yeah deffo second 5870 FTW dude. IMO the 5870 doesn't fall that short of the 6970 (will probably start WWIV saying that) but hey, 5870 are awesome cards nuff said. And with deals like this

http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showproduct.php?prodid=GX-136-OK&groupid=701&catid=56&subcat=1502

And this

http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showproduct.php?prodid=GX-147-XF&groupid=701&catid=56&subcat=1502

It would be pretty crazy to consider anything else IMO.

Ed. If you went for the XFX you could black edition bios flash it

22-12-2010, 17:48:40

SiLo
Hmmm very tempting, but you say that even crossfire doesn't always work well with games and that it may not always scale well. I only have a UD-2 at the moment too, So the second lane would run at 8 or 4x (cant remember). Hoping to grab a Maximus 3 Gene though soon.

22-12-2010, 18:08:50

tinytomlogan
the 5870 does fall behind the 6970 in FPS Alien. I deffo wouldnt stick a 6970 in a x8 and deffo not in a x4 lane tbh.

Depends on the games you play but the new cards ravage the games that the 5870 struggled with.

22-12-2010, 18:12:16

F-alienware
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post

the 5870 does fall behind the 6970 in FPS Alien. I deffo wouldnt stick a 6970 in a x8 and deffo not in a x4 lane tbh.

Depends on the games you play but the new cards ravage the games that the 5870 struggled with.
Awesome so that's that one out of the way

It really is hard making a choice based on reviews tbh. I mean sure, the information is all there but sometimes it doesn't give you that actual sort of answer..

Quote:
Originally Posted by SiLo View Post

Hmmm very tempting, but you say that even crossfire doesn't always work well with games and that it may not always scale well. I only have a UD-2 at the moment too, So the second lane would run at 8 or 4x (cant remember). Hoping to grab a Maximus 3 Gene though soon.
Dual 16x are a luxury. However, I can safely say that the differences are minimal having seen them first hand. When I originally set up Crossfire I had a triple SLI board (Nforce) that wasn't cheap. North of 150 IIRC so was really in no mood to get another top class board. Asrock it was, 30, dual 8x lanes. IIRC the difference between dual 8x and dual 16x (in the ridiculous Asus board I got shortly after) was something like 900 3dmarks in Vantage.

I wouldn't worry too much about it dude. Grab a card. You're in the comfy position to have one super fast card to back you up when Crossfire doesn't behave, and it shouldn't break the bank picking up one of those cheapies.

23-12-2010, 08:17:48

SiLo
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post

the 5870 does fall behind the 6970 in FPS Alien. I deffo wouldnt stick a 6970 in a x8 and deffo not in a x4 lane tbh.Depends on the games you play but the new cards ravage the games that the 5870 struggled with.
This is why I want to get one of these:Maximus 3 Gene

Heard they are pretty good If not I will try and get a 2 Gene on the cheap somewhere.

23-12-2010, 11:49:24

Undermoose
I think they missed the check box in SmartDoctor in the review. There is a setting that enables enhanced range for the OC sliders.

I have two of these graphics cards in CrossfireX, clicked the checkbox on settings in SmartDoctor, and walla!, new range in the sliders was immediately available.

Nice xmas present, 2x EAH6970, for my 2 year old Rampage Extreme

23-12-2010, 12:36:33

Pyr0
any chance of dumping the bios and sharing please Undermoose?

just try the GPU-Z where W1zzard added support for the 6970/6950:

http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?t=136218

23-12-2010, 13:38:59

Undermoose
Done. Uploaded via GPU-Z to Techpowerup.com.

PM me your email and I'll send you a copy of the 128kb Cayman.bin.

24-12-2010, 15:45:03

Pyr0
oops, only just noticed your post. pm on the way

26-12-2010, 09:42:38

Pyr0
I got a copy of the Asus ROM from ZoLKoRn and flashed it to my HIS card

before: http://img408.imageshack.us/img408/6...oregpuz.th.gif after: http://img524.imageshack.us/img524/2...tergpuz.th.gif

In case anybody else is interested or would like to try it, I've uploaded the version of ATIFlash I used, along with the ROM to Mediafire:

http://www.mediafire.com/?cgl0st3ng21i1

I put the ROM and ATIFlash onto a bootable USB drive and booted from it.

First I backed up my cards original BIOS with the command:

atiflash -s 0 backup.rom

Next it needed unlocking so it could be flashed:

atiflash -unlockrom 0

and finally flashed with:

atiflash -p -f 0 asus6970.bin

http://img64.imageshack.us/img64/4663/1003322n.th.jpg

[edit]

Not sure the Voltage control in asus Smart Doctor is actually working, but at least it extends the range of clockspeeds available doesn't it Bryan

Think you need to spend some time looking at what you review m8

http://i2.sqi.sh/s_1/4xB/l_clocks.png

[edit2]

You can also flash the 6970 ROM to the 6950 cards

01-01-2011, 08:56:10

Pyr0
ok, smartdoc def works for voltage adjustment

previously i've only been able to bench at 950 core, 960 would only pass sometimes

i set smartdoc to 1.25V and was able to get a couple of runs at 992 core

http://i2.sqi.sh/s_1/4KI/l_3dm11_p6020.png

not a great score, but i'm kinda happy to have passed 6000, lol

09-01-2011, 08:39:24

murphy7801
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienALX View Post

Yeah deffo second 5870 FTW dude. IMO the 5870 doesn't fall that short of the 6970 (will probably start WWIV saying that) but hey, 5870 are awesome cards nuff said. And with deals like this

http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showproduct.php?prodid=GX-136-OK&groupid=701&catid=56&subcat=1502

And this

http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showproduct.php?prodid=GX-147-XF&groupid=701&catid=56&subcat=1502

It would be pretty crazy to consider anything else IMO.

Ed. If you went for the XFX you could black edition bios flash it
/

Yes 5870 was/is great card now really cheap http://www.videocardshop.co.uk/searc...+HD5000+Series

19-01-2011, 14:04:27

Ron
Quote:
Originally Posted by Captain Caveman View Post

I am extremely let down with the new 68-6950/70's. To me it seems that ATI is purposely confusing and misleading people with the number branding. To me they're just new versions of the 5750 cards and not worth replacing my 5970 with
I would say I agree but it's not that simple. In my very limited experiance I have found that it's not worth upgrading every time a new range of cards are released. I normally wait for every second release. In my case I had the 4850 and now have a HD6970. This proves much cheaper and garentees a great improvement for a lesser long term investment. I don't understand upgrading every 8-12mts for the sake of 4-6fps (~ofc could b more of less)

That is just me. The 57##, 58## and 59## cards were awesome and I wouldn't find it a justified investment to get a 6### card to replace them.

Have fun
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.