ASUS Ares II Preview

Asus Ares 2 - 7990 - 7970 X2 Preview

ASUS Ares II Preview  

Introduction

Regular readers will remember the original Ares, a monster of a card with two fully functioning Radeons at the heart of it. Having moved to the Mars II a while ago (the Mars being the dual-GPU nVidia cards and the Ares being the AMD variant) it's about time that a new Ares graced our pages. That's exactly what we have with a sneak preview of the Ares II.

By far the most obvious change is the move from a large hunk of copper and a big fan to a self-contained water-cooled system. Anyone who remembers the PNY GTX580 will know that this has the potential to allow for some serious overclocking at very cool temperatures. This is especially important when there is so much raw horsepower beneath the hood.

ASUS Ares II Preview     ASUS Ares II Preview  

We all know how much manufacturers love to tell us how great their new product is, but if the Ares II is capable of out-performing the GTX690 by 13% then it's already got our attention, and if it even gets close to those numbers we're pretty sure we'll all start saving.

The liquid cooling certainly needs to be flexible, especially with the amount of things demanding the single exhaust port in our cases. Hopefully the LED colour isn't reliant upon the cards status and can be customised.

ASUS Ares II Preview     ASUS Ares II Preview

There aren't many things you can do with a card once you've removed the ability to create a fancy cooler, but we think the Ares II has got a nice organic look to it. It's like a surrealist Dairy Milk.

ASUS Ares II Preview      ASUS Ares II Preview

We're starting to reach the limits of how much can be crammed onto a single PCB, and with two full-on Tahiti cores and enough GDDR5 to keep even the most hungry game running smoothly. Similarly to how the LED and cooler have the potential to be either awesome or very disappointing, it's strange to see that ASUS have chosen to remove the HDMI port entirely, and leave us with just two DVIs and four DisplayPort connections.

ASUS Ares II Preview     ASUS Ares II Preview

So we'll spend the next couple of weeks wringing the neck of this behemoth, and check back on the 28th for the full review. In the meantime, let us know what you think in the OC3D Forums.

«Prev 1 Next»

Most Recent Comments

17-01-2013, 12:15:38

tinytomlogan
Anyone fancy an exclusive? Come inside and take a sneak peek at the latest monster card from ASUS, the Ares II

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...141116619l.jpg


Continue Reading

17-01-2013, 12:29:16

madness777
Would anyone even consider buying this? Also, the video is flickering Tom! Artifacts, I dunno how to say it, but it's flickering. xD

17-01-2013, 12:30:17

wassupdoc
Waaaaaay to expensive, just buy 2 7970 GHz editions and be done with it IMO

17-01-2013, 12:33:42

jamesriley94
Quote:
Originally Posted by madness777 View Post
Would anyone even consider buying this?
Considering you can get the same thing without a normal cooler for 500 cheaper, I don't see many buying it. But the Ares and Mars cards have always been about making rarer, prestige cards. Still can't see anyone buying one though...

http://www.aria.co.uk/Products/Compo...roductId=53680

17-01-2013, 12:38:35

gamingevolved
you got to show the cooler tom!

17-01-2013, 12:39:49

Ofan
Isn't that like saying why would anyone buy a superbike when they can get a little 125 to get them down the shops, or a Ferrari when they can have a volvo? It's money......you can't take it with you can you

17-01-2013, 12:44:44

powerfuse0
Where would you put that cooler? I thought you could like, loop it outside the case?
I dunno though

17-01-2013, 12:45:36

seumasbeathan
Don't really like the idea of closed loop watercooling with a gpu, would prefer a custom loop or air cooler, still great temps tho

17-01-2013, 12:54:43

wassupdoc
Quote:
Originally Posted by powerfuse0 View Post
Where would you put that cooler? I thought you could like, loop it outside the case?
I dunno though
Just on a bog standard exhaust/intake fan location mate

17-01-2013, 13:06:46

powerfuse0
Quote:
Originally Posted by wassupdoc View Post
Just on a bog standard exhaust/intake fan location mate
What about the CPU cooler though, idk about you but mine CPU cooler wouldn't allow for room for it .
Plus even if there was room, would it not interfere with the air flow?

17-01-2013, 13:40:08

dugdiamond
exactly the same rad from 'coolit' that they used for the 'vantage' - i have one collecting cobwebs

17-01-2013, 13:42:49

wassupdoc
Quote:
Originally Posted by powerfuse0 View Post
What about the CPU cooler though, idk about you but mine CPU cooler wouldn't allow for room for it .
Plus even if there was room, would it not interfere with the air flow?
Nope, plus if someone's going to be spending that kind of money on a gpu they are going to have more exhaust ports than the rear top :/

17-01-2013, 13:45:56

powerfuse0
Quote:
Originally Posted by wassupdoc View Post
Nope, plus if someone's going to be spending that kind of money on a gpu they are going to have more exhaust ports than the rear top :/
ah yeah. I guess it would work well on a full tower wouldn't it.

17-01-2013, 13:53:37

dipzy
Dat iz one BAMF

17-01-2013, 14:27:25

son of spanner
i think it would have been better if asus made it air cooled but given you a full pcb waterblock in the case for people that have a loop in there rig

i dont see that 120 rad doing all that much good for a card thats so powerfull i bet to get the kind of temps asus say thay can get from it you must have to have the fans at 12v

18-01-2013, 08:36:19

pcnoob
this looks really nice but can i ask would this end up having the same problem that other water coolers have and that's the fan messing up after a few months of use?

18-01-2013, 10:34:03

murphy7801
Shame it wasnt the coolit version cooler

18-01-2013, 11:19:53

badtaylorx
man...that things just BEGGING to have some gpu blocks on it and run in a real loop....come on tom....do it....we'll wait the xtra time.....pleeeeeeeeeaaaaaaaaaaaasssssssssseeeeeeee e......


Quote:
Originally Posted by pcnoob View Post
this looks really nice but can i ask would this end up having the same problem that other water coolers have and that's the fan messing up after a few months of use?
whaaaa???? not an issue really...fans are no different than anything else

18-01-2013, 11:55:36

pcnoob
Quote:
Originally Posted by badtaylorx View Post

whaaaa???? not an issue really...fans are no different than anything else
sorry was meant to say pump not fan's sorry,i had a coolit cooler never lasted more than 6 months before the pump started playing up

19-01-2013, 04:42:45

murphy7801
TBH had a 2 coolit eco coolers on 2 of work stations for 2 years no failures as of yet?

19-01-2013, 09:04:20

pcnoob
Quote:
i had a coolit cooler never lasted more than 6 months before the pump started playing up
please read what i said i did not say it went i said playing up lol


so back to my main point.

Quote:
this looks really nice but can i ask would this end up having the same problem that other water coolers have and that's the fan messing up after a few months of use?
just asking since im not a lover anymore of water cooling due to the above .

19-01-2013, 16:35:25

DwarfAdigginAhole
Buy two 7970s is what I continue to see here...have any of you even thought of what this card is actually meant for? These type of cards go in LAN rigs that are ether Mini-itx or Micro ATX rigs in which buying two graphics cards is not an option. (Yes I do include Micro Atx rigs as well because I would not take up all four pci slots with graphics cards and just neglect mah audio ;] ) So before you say you should buy this or that think about what this card is applicable towards.

19-01-2013, 21:08:15

BPRSM
Wow, I wish I had such money to buy this. . .

20-01-2013, 00:51:19

Dragon_Orb
Quote:
Originally Posted by DwarfAdigginAhole View Post
Buy two 7970s is what I continue to see here...have any of you even thought of what this card is actually meant for? These type of cards go in LAN rigs that are ether Mini-itx or Micro ATX rigs in which buying two graphics cards is not an option. (Yes I do include Micro Atx rigs as well because I would not take up all four pci slots with graphics cards and just neglect mah audio ;] ) So before you say you should buy this or that think about what this card is applicable towards.
It may be that's the general idea behind most dual GPU cards but I don't think that's why they make cards like this.

I would say the main reasons they make cards like this and in limited quantities is to make claim as the fastest/best performance, because they will sell them in limited quantity and honestly just because they can. It's basically a shout out to the world "look what we can do!"

This card is not designed for, and I dare say was never planned for, mini or micro atx builds - even if that was the original idea behind dual GPU cards

20-01-2013, 08:22:55

PsyTech
Great design for a great card.

28-01-2013, 13:12:11

Lystfiskern
First full reviews are out - Ill wait for TTLs take on the beast (s)

28-01-2013, 13:25:29

tinytomlogan
Asus did change the NDA to the 14th of Feb so Ive only made the Videos, only to phone me at 4pm and say they have changed their mind and I can go live now....

Not a happy boy, full review will be later in the week now

28-01-2013, 14:03:33

Lystfiskern
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
Asus did change the NDA to the 14th of Feb so Ive only made the Videos, only to phone me at 4pm and say they have changed their mind and I can go live now....
Not a happy boy, full review will be later in the week now
I hear that ...

Obv "someone" has got the heads-up on this. Realy poor judgement call from Asus!
They should at least give "all contenders" the benefit of a 24h -warning IMO!

01-02-2013, 21:48:20

Deadtroopers
"you can't take it with you can you" as Ofan said. Put me down for two!
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.