Asus 9600 GT - G94 unveiled

Conclusion

Conclusion
 
The 9600 GT leaves me a little confused if I'm honest. The reason being is that Nvidia know how the HD3850 performs. They know what numbers it puts out and yet they made a card that basically rivalled it rather than beat it. Sure, I know that it is very close and so much so that it could come down to personal choice, but it still erks me somewhat that Nvidia are relying on their loyal fanbase to buy cards that lose out to ATI's current generation.
 
Not that the Asus 9600 GT is a bad card, indeed it performs well, but to my mind it's a little close to the pricing of the 8800 and above the pricing of the HD3850. The Asus 9600 GT reviewed today is suggested to go out at about £127, which is slightly more than the quicker HD3850's (around £110ish). That means that even though the ATI card we tested was not stock-clocked, it is still £17 cheaper than this 9600 GT and armed with the same features.
 
As such it leaves this card a little in no-mans land as far as pricing and performance. Now I know the drivers I am using are beta's (albeit retail shipping drivers) so we should see some performance increase there. I'm also aware that pricing will drop after launch...but there's just something in the back of my mind that leaves me wanting more.
 
Either way, looking at performance and pricing, I don't think I can recommend the Asus 9600 GT for you to buy right now, perhaps a price cut or two down the line will change my mind.
 
The Good
+ Excellent hardware bundle
+ Good cooler
+ Excellent overclocking
+ Decent Performance

The Mediocre
* Looks a bit dated

The Bad
- Loses out to ATI's HD3850 in a lot of our tests
 
 
 
Thanks to Asus for the review sample
 
Agree with me? Want to abuse me for slating Nvidia? Go ahead, right here
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next»

Most Recent Comments

21-02-2008, 06:55:24

FarFarAway
We take the latest card from Nvidia, via Asus and put it to the test.

9600 GT laid bare

21-02-2008, 08:54:27

FarFarAway
OK, let's try again

Enjoy

21-02-2008, 09:23:28

JN
Nice review fella. Shame the card isn't much cop. Sounds like Nvidia got a bit lazy :/

21-02-2008, 09:35:02

FarFarAway
Aye. It's good, just not up to par of a "next gen card" in my opinion

21-02-2008, 09:43:37

Rastalovich
After seeing the slick-look of the 8800GT stock cooler (looks alone), after not liking the double-slot coolers, the fan-on-a-card appearance to me looks awful >.<

One heck of an oc on that sucker mind u. Bit of a breathe of fresh air from the latest GT/GTS cards, which were woeful clockers imo - and tempremental in the process.

There`s only one thing that holds this mid-range card back for me, cos I do think it seems like a good mid-gamer (rts, tame fps, media), and that`s it`s price in comparison with the ATI variety that can beat it in performance.

Around £127 with £150ish GT out there.. I dunno.

Thanks for the read m8.

The audio work well on the hdmi ?

21-02-2008, 09:52:53

Brooksie
Hmm looks like it didn't do well, not a very good start to the 9 series

Looking forward to the 9800 review though

21-02-2008, 09:55:08

Hatman
It isn't mean tot be high end though, its to replace the 8600GTS. Id say it does its job quite well in that respect.

But considering the 3850 I cant see how this is any good.

21-02-2008, 10:07:24

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Hatman'
It isn't mean tot be high end though, its to replace the 8600GTS. Id say it does its job quite well in that respect.

But considering the 3850 I cant see how this is any good.
That's the thing

I see no point in comparing it with the 8600, Nvidia did a bad job on that one and it sucked, they shouldn't get points for actually making a card that didn't suck as much as it's predecessor

But ye, it gets beat by the lower priced HD3850

21-02-2008, 10:10:22

Rastalovich
U reckon the 8600 sucked ?

As in comparison to another ATI variety ? Or performance over the 7600 ?

21-02-2008, 10:16:02

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Rastalovich'
U reckon the 8600 sucked ?

As in comparison to another ATI variety ? Or performance over the 7600 ?
I think it was priced too high for what it was and performance wasn't amazing

21-02-2008, 10:21:12

Rastalovich
Yeah. nVidia suffering from some strange form of price structuring.

http://www.overclock3d.net/reviews.php?/gpu_displays/nvidia_8600_gts_and_8600_gt_-_foxconn_and_xfx/10

I kinda agreed with that tho, price and ati stuff to one side.

Installed 3 of them for mid range use and they worked extremely well. Again being blinkered as an nVidia fanboi, and spending other peoples money.

21-02-2008, 11:00:43

FarFarAway
And then ATI bring out the HD3850 and it completely re-writes the books, it just really is the mid range card of choice, no doubt about it

21-02-2008, 11:03:20

Hatman
What helps it too is ATI seem to prefer to majorly lower clocks rather then lock hardware out.

So tons of boost from OC'ing on one hand you have half a card with 9600gt, on the other you just have a downclocked 3870 lol.

I guess a 9600GTS may come out with higher clocks later on haven't heard much on it though. The 100mhz overclock or w/e it was seems to indicate something like that may happen.

21-02-2008, 11:04:04

eeto
This is the FIRST review i've read that the 9600GT performs lower than 3850.

After looking at your test specs I found that you are using an OCed 3850, comparing to a stock speed 9600GT. Lots of 9600GT manufacturers dont even release 9600GT at stock speeds...

21-02-2008, 11:27:23

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='eeto'
This is the FIRST review i've read that the 9600GT performs lower than 3850.

After looking at your test specs I found that you are using an OCed 3850, comparing to a stock speed 9600GT. Lots of 9600GT manufacturers dont even release 9600GT at stock speeds...
It's also one of the first using a 512mb card

I am using a card that compares in price to the card I was given to test. The pure fact of the matter is that you can buy the fastest HD3850 for the price of a stock clocked 9600GT

21-02-2008, 11:37:43

Rastalovich
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Hatman'
What helps it too is ATI seem to prefer to majorly lower clocks rather then lock hardware out.

So tons of boost from OC'ing on one hand you have half a card with 9600gt, on the other you just have a downclocked 3870 lol.

I guess a 9600GTS may come out with higher clocks later on haven't heard much on it though. The 100mhz overclock or w/e it was seems to indicate something like that may happen.
I don`t see the current market for these GTS cards in all honesty.

It is right tho, a 9600GTS will come out and be basically just under what Kemp`s managed to get out of the GT.. + £50 or something.

With different manufacturers pricing their cards 10-25 pound different to each other, u can almost predict a fan-spread from £125 to £155 of 12 differently labeled 9600 cards, in steps of 10 or so mhz. Trying to cover every1`s cash position artificially (cos of course there`s a variation shop to shop too).

I dunno. And of course as Kemp points out, the 3850 underpins them all.

21-02-2008, 11:45:58

eeto
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Kempez'
It's also one of the first using a 512mb card

I am using a card that compares in price to the card I was given to test. The pure fract of the matter is that you can buy the fastest HD3850 for the price of a stock clocked 9600GT
Then your review is based on price/performance on that exact price. Price is important, but it's not a constant factor and definitely not on newly released cards. It varies from retail, supply and demand, mail-in-rebates, bundled software.

IMO, if you think exact price/performance is that important, you should throw in more testing samples. A reference design, an OC version... and on sidenote telling others this is more expensive. I agree price/performance is important factor, but you cant control price, and they drop every freaking single day. You are doing a review on 9600GT's performance... now you are just doing a price/performance review, focusing on value determined by price, which changes everyday in all ways.

EDIT: more stuff to add.

21-02-2008, 11:57:40

FarFarAway
This is a mid-range card, pricing is paramount.

On top end performance cards I would agree, price goes out the window, especially at launch. However, if you're buying a mid-range card: price is obviously a consideration or you'd be buying a high end card. I can only use prices at the time of review and as stated in the conclusion, if and when the price drops then things may change, although ATI are also likely to drop prices as well.

If I "threw" in a non-OC version 256mb and it performed below the 9600 GT but was half the price, which card is a better card?

A lot of the reviews I've seen have been "engineered" to flatter the 9600 GT, I simply don't believe in doing that.

21-02-2008, 12:05:08

Hatman
I noticed that, like on anandtech they used a 256mb 3850 on resolutions of 1600x1200. Pretty obvious of whats going to happen there.

Also, price drops like this:

http://www.tomshardware.com/2008/02/20/amd_announces_hd3800_price_drops/

So much for 9600GT lol..

21-02-2008, 12:26:25

eeto
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Kempez'
I can only use prices at the time of review and as stated in the conclusion, if and when the price drops then things may change, although ATI are also likely to drop prices as well.

If I "threw" in a non-OC version 256mb and it performed below the 9600 GT but was half the price, which card is a better card?

A lot of the reviews I've seen have been "engineered" to flatter the 9600 GT, I simply don't believe in doing that.
Using MSRP price as a base to show a cards performance with very limited testing samples, is just not fair to compare ANY cards. Price in GPU nowadays have too much additional variables to counted as a good base to used as a reference.

We rarely buy things at MSRP to begin with, and also manufacturers have LOTS of flexibility to modify their products. Those are the real things we buy. Even using the same chip core but different manufacturers, they bundles different games which worths differently, the price means different for every single person.

Maybe just imo, but a review should be a comparison of performance and let consumers decide on the price value since price is a more subject to variation thing. You can give an overall average score of a card's performance, and do a price/performance chart if you want to bring out the price/performance idea.

The price/performance scale is NEVER linear to begin with....

21-02-2008, 14:28:17

Bungral
Nice one Matt.. Been looking forward to this review just to gauge where it would drop in. Worked out to be close to where I guessed but a touch miffed as to why its not a touch better.

Anyway nice review

21-02-2008, 15:47:18

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='eeto'
Using MSRP price as a base to show a cards performance with very limited testing samples, is just not fair to compare ANY cards. Price in GPU nowadays have too much additional variables to counted as a good base to used as a reference.
Yeah your right, I should have only compared cards that made the 9600 GT look good, my bad!

Using a 256mb HD3850 is totally bias against the ATI card, is that the right thing to do? Personally, no I don't think so. I couldn't care less whether a product that does well is ATI or Nvidia as I have absolutely no preference for either (or indeed: any), manufacturer but I do feel strongly that a review should contain as good a representation of a cards competition as possible and this HD3850 was at the right price and performance level to be direct competition to the 9600 GT.

[QUOTE=name='eeto;248673]We rarely buy things at MSRP to begin with, and also manufacturers have LOTS of flexibility to modify their products. Those are the real things we buy. Even using the same chip core but different manufacturers, they bundles different games which worths differently, the
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='eeto''
price means different for every single person.
I go on prices at the time of the review, there's no sliding scale - it's a snapshot in time. These cards are aimed at a specific price point in the mid-level market where price is paramount in the buying decision.

I reviewed an Asus 9600 GT which is priced at retail at £127. The HD3850 in question in the review is priced at retail at around £110 and beats the reviewed card in the majority of tests

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='eeto'
Maybe just imo, but a review should be a comparison of performance and let consumers decide on the price value since price is a more subject to variation thing. You can give an overall average score of a card's performance, and do a price/performance chart if you want to bring out the price/performance idea.
As a reviewer I have tested the product and put all the numbers at the readers disposal.

I then give my opinion on the price/performance and anything else pertinent to the card. That's how reviews work and that's how they should do. I would not deny any other reviewer their opinion either.

I see a review as giving a reader the tools to make an informed decision. If they give credit enough to my opinion to take that into consideration then that is up to them, but I'm glad people do.

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='eeto'
The price/performance scale is NEVER linear to begin with....
Not even sure what this means, but price does indeed fluctuate. And I said above, this is price at the time of review, doing it another way is impractical, unless Asus come back to me in a couple of days saying their product has dropped £20+, in which case I may reconsider as part of the right of a manufacturer to reply to a review.

I'm afraid we are not going to agree and if you would like to buy the Nvidia card, then that's your choice - it just wouldn't be mine

EDIT: Bungral - ta. Next time perhaps a PM? Not that I'm that bothered, I finished very late...well early this morning.

21-02-2008, 16:04:22

MikeEnIke
Well it was a top-end 9600GT vs. a top-end HD3850, so I have yet to see the dilemma?

21-02-2008, 17:29:10

eeto
I almost forgot until you mention pounds. My bad for not putting that into consideration.

That's why imo your choice of cards to do comparison review shouldn't be based on the exact price, but a range of cards because the price tags are different everywhere, just like here in North America. Your review just showed, for this amount of money in THIS store, the 3850 is of better value.

This is review of the 9-series debuting. By least should include comparisons with the lowest of 9600gt, and the best of 9600gt, along with lowest of 3850 and best of 3850. Gives you a range, the max and min of both cards can get then that will give you a better stats.

You claim that you don't want to follow other reviewers "engineered" the charts to make it look like the 9600GT's good... I agree some reviews tend to do that..... but what you did wasnt much different, just the other way round.

How about compare the price of the 3850 here in NA, vs the 9600GT there in UK? 3850 will for damn sure win by a mile.

Oh well, I dont want to pursue in the matter anymore since it's your review however I do hope you understand what I'm trying to say (i doubt tho). Regardless, thanks for the hard work.

PS. damn your graphics cards are expensive!

21-02-2008, 17:31:00

Hatman
Yes, yes they are

21-02-2008, 21:51:57

NickS
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Jim'
Nice review fella. Shame the card isn't much cop. Sounds like Nvidia got a bit lazy :/
It's not bad considering this is the new "8600GT." It's at least 2x as fast as the 8600GT.

22-02-2008, 01:54:47

sabre1
perhaps the reason they didn't go all out with the 9600 to beat the competing ATI card is that they were saving up to really give it a shot with their high end cards? i mean it may be a stupid thought but all things do take money and since ATI excells at high-end cards, perhaps nvidia's saving up to hit 'em where it hurts, lol

22-02-2008, 05:09:32

-VK-
Nice review Kemp

22-02-2008, 07:10:46

Rastalovich
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='sabre1'
perhaps the reason they didn't go all out with the 9600 to beat the competing ATI card is that they were saving up to really give it a shot with their high end cards? i mean it may be a stupid thought but all things do take money and since ATI excells at high-end cards, perhaps nvidia's saving up to hit 'em where it hurts, lol
W00t !?!?

Imo the 8800GTX/Ultra has been king of the hill since it came out. That`s ages ago... something like Nov/Dec 2006!

22-02-2008, 07:14:24

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='NickS'
It's not bad considering this is the new "8600GT." It's at least 2x as fast as the 8600GT.
True, but then if its not on-par/better with the current competition, it doesn't matter if it's 10x faster than its predecessor.

22-02-2008, 08:32:05

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='NickS'
It's not bad considering this is the new "8600GT." It's at least 2x as fast as the 8600GT.
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Jim'
True, but then if its not on-par/better with the current competition, it doesn't matter if it's 10x faster than its predecessor.
My view is that, Yes it's faster than an 8600 GT, but that's not what it's competing with

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='sabre1'
perhaps the reason they didn't go all out with the 9600 to beat the competing ATI card is that they were saving up to really give it a shot with their high end cards? i mean it may be a stupid thought but all things do take money and since ATI excells at high-end cards, perhaps nvidia's saving up to hit 'em where it hurts, lol
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='eeto'
I almost forgot until you mention pounds. My bad for not putting that into consideration.

That's why imo your choice of cards to do comparison review shouldn't be based on the exact price, but a range of cards because the price tags are different everywhere, just like here in North America. Your review just showed, for this amount of money in THIS store, the 3850 is of better value.

This is review of the 9-series debuting. By least should include comparisons with the lowest of 9600gt, and the best of 9600gt, along with lowest of 3850 and best of 3850. Gives you a range, the max and min of both cards can get then that will give you a better stats.

You claim that you don't want to follow other reviewers "engineered" the charts to make it look like the 9600GT's good... I agree some reviews tend to do that..... but what you did wasnt much different, just the other way round.

How about compare the price of the 3850 here in NA, vs the 9600GT there in UK? 3850 will for damn sure win by a mile.

Oh well, I dont want to pursue in the matter anymore since it's your review however I do hope you understand what I'm trying to say (i doubt tho). Regardless, thanks for the hard work.

PS. damn your graphics cards are expensive!
I do see what you mean.

2 Points to make:

* Whilst I have a fair amount of GPU's to compare, I don't have an endless supply, I wish I did

* I didn't engineer the Nvidia card to look bad. I just compared it to a card that I personally would consider if I was buying in that price-range.

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Hatman'
Yes, yes they are
Unfortunately the prices are very expensive in the UK , that's the way it goes. We're a UK site so we go on UK numbers.

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='-VK-'
Nice review Kemp
Thanks, that's appreciated

I don't think the card is a "bad" card and as I said in my conclusion, it could be excellent if price went down a bit and perhaps an overclocked card at the same price-point would have looked different.

I'm not anti-Nvidia, or Anti-anyone actually, I just review what is put in front of me to the best of my abilities/resources

22-02-2008, 08:44:18

Hatman
And then:

http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showproduct.php?prodid=GX-083-PC

HD 3850 Pro 256MB

£88.11

HD 3870 XT

£111.61

Here come the price drops.. ATI sure are ahead on this one. £110 for a 3870x2 is unbelievable!

22-02-2008, 14:19:56

Azza
Palit 9600GT can be had at Scan for £117

22-02-2008, 14:44:11

sabre1
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Rastalovich'
W00t !?!?

Imo the 8800GTX/Ultra has been king of the hill since it came out. That`s ages ago... something like Nov/Dec 2006!
well, i was watching this one thing and it mentioned how nvidia's main strengths reside in the mid-range market, was i missinformed?

22-02-2008, 15:11:41

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='sabre1'
well, i was watching this one thing and it mentioned how nvidia's main strengths reside in the mid-range market, was i missinformed?
It has been known to be yes, but the 8 series has been sitting pretty since it came out

22-02-2008, 17:46:32

Hatman
Can I just bring your attention to this from expreview

http://www.expreview.com/img/review/...96sli_96gt.png

I mean wth... super scaling lol....

2 of these things DESTROY a 8800GTS 512.

Idk, I guess nvidia may have done something to it. With just half the shaders it manages within 14% of 8800GT and scales MUCH better in SLI.

Can only hope the GX2 scales as well.

Link

edit: also this

http://en.hardspell.com/pic/article/...763fb5e551.gif

So much for 9 series just being named 9 for marketing purposes...

link

26-02-2008, 07:14:53

firefly
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Hatman'

Here come the price drops.. ATI sure are ahead on this one. £110 for a 3870x2 is unbelievable!
That would be pretty good - unfortunately it's for an XT.

26-02-2008, 07:20:50

FarFarAway
Two should beat an 8800 GTS really.

Nvidia have done a lot of R&D in the new cards to make sure SLI is really improved, especially over the 8600 GT which had appalling scaling.

26-02-2008, 07:23:11

Rastalovich
Begs the question for me - why would you buy 2 x 9600GT for SLI when an 8800GT would be better/as good/whatever ?

I mean - what`s the point ?

And if you want the performance - cost of 2x 9600GT can buy u a ... ?!?!

So again - why ?

26-02-2008, 07:39:45

FarFarAway
For people who have a 9600 GT then a few months down the line want better performance and buy another one?

Personally I like powerful single cards but I can see that angle too

26-02-2008, 07:42:10

Rastalovich
That`s a fair comment. But I pity the fool who forks out for a single card, then in a few months buys another one - when they can w8 those few months and buy a card better than both.

Tbh tho, if they were dropped in your lap, I can see some1 giving it a go.

06-05-2008, 11:26:29

RedPlague
I have to choose between a Club 3D Radeon 3850 OC (720Mhz Core /1800 Memory) with a Zerotherm heatpipe cooper cooler (www.pccomponentes.com/CLUB_3D_RADEON_HD_3850_512MB_OVERCLOCKED_EDITION.h tml) and the Asus GeForce 9600GT in the review (www.pccomponentes.com/ASUS_GEFORCE_EN9600GT_HTDI_512M_PCI_E.html)

The pages in the links are in Spanish, but it's more for the pictures.

Now for the tricky part: the 3850 is 87€ and the 9600GT is 115€.

According to the review I should get the ATI, what do you think?

Side note: I want to keep the VGA for about 1 year, sell it on eBay for about 10-20€ less than a better and newer card and get another card (for 10-20€ more). I have just got this idea because I own a 8600GTS and I hope I can sell it for 60-70€, so with about 20€ more I could get (far better) performing 3850. (I have seen a x1600Pro DDR2 sell for 32+shipping on eBay so my hopes are really up)

06-05-2008, 11:50:31

w3bbo
For a tiny little more I'd go for the 8800GT which beats both cards hands down. If you are stuck between the 2 cards you suggested then the 9600gt is the way to go.

06-05-2008, 11:51:24

Rastalovich
8800GT is silly cheap atm.

06-05-2008, 12:14:36

RedPlague
The cheapest 8800GT is 155€ (almost double the price of the OCed 3850) so it's not exactly "dirt-cheap" to me. I realize it is a better choice, but it's out of my budget.

I don't plan to further OC any card (as I think I gain little and risk burning it).

the 9600 is 28€ more and (in the review) worse than the OCed 3850. Are there any specific issues with the ATI card? I've seen reviews and a stock 3850 is roughly 10% slower (in real games) than a 9600GT (please correct me if I'm wrong), which is consistent with te results of this review.

06-05-2008, 14:10:14

Rastalovich
Dirt cheap relatively, considering the release was around £200.

8800GTX/Ultra are dirt cheap too, older tech tho. Original pricing and performance compared to what they are now. £250 or so ?? something like that.

06-05-2008, 16:55:20

ali_james
Over here the price difference is so small between the 3850/9600GT/8800GT that the 8800GT is the only one thats really value for money in the range, the rest we can't really recommend. If you can shop around a bit more in Spain and see if you can get one any cheaper, I'm not sure.

What else have you got in your rig or planned build?

I think the 3850 would more than do the job, as it shows it hits around 60 a second in Bioshock which is a pretty demanding game still.

I don't think you'll be able to sell on any of these cards for as much as you plan in a year though. I fancy there's going to be so many about on ebay and other places as they really are the next big thing before a top top end card, 9900 or whatever.

Cheers!

06-05-2008, 17:46:41

RedPlague
I have searched a lot and these are the absolute cheapest I have found so far (the fact that both are from the same shop is merely a coincidence). The prices are a bit high compared to the US.

Current (lowest) prices of the boards:

3850 OC 720/1800 106€ / £81

9600GT ASUS 115€/ £90

8800GT 155€/£120

(all are 512MB models)

Edit:

After much consideration I have gone with 9600GT because http://forum.overclock3d.net/showthread.php?p=262789#post262789

12-05-2008, 22:04:58

lesso
when you compared the 9600gt to the 3850 you didn't compare sli / crossfire benchmarks as sli in the new nvidia card give around a 60% increase in performance which is well above the 3850's crossfire.

just another enthusiest

13-05-2008, 08:01:31

FarFarAway
It's pretty hard to run SLI or Crossfire tests when we don't get given two of each card for launch day

Perhaps that's a review for future

13-05-2008, 08:09:03

Rastalovich
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='lesso'
when you compared the 9600gt to the 3850 you didn't compare sli / crossfire benchmarks as sli in the new nvidia card give around a 60% increase in performance which is well above the 3850's crossfire.

just another enthusiest
Or u just buy a high end single card instead of 2 midrangers and have zero SLI/xfire issues with anything.

?

22-05-2008, 07:30:04

Black_ice
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='RedPlague'
I have to choose between a Club 3D Radeon 3850 OC (720Mhz Core /1800 Memory) with a Zerotherm heatpipe cooper cooler (www.pccomponentes.com/CLUB_3D_RADEON_HD_3850_512MB_OVERCLOCKED_EDITION.h tml) and the Asus GeForce 9600GT in the review (www.pccomponentes.com/ASUS_GEFORCE_EN9600GT_HTDI_512M_PCI_E.html)

The pages in the links are in Spanish, but it's more for the pictures.

Now for the tricky part: the 3850 is 87€ and the 9600GT is 115€.

According to the review I should get the ATI, what do you think?

Side note: I want to keep the VGA for about 1 year, sell it on eBay for about 10-20€ less than a better and newer card and get another card (for 10-20€ more). I have just got this idea because I own a 8600GTS and I hope I can sell it for 60-70€, so with about 20€ more I could get (far better) performing 3850. (I have seen a x1600Pro DDR2 sell for 32+shipping on eBay so my hopes are really up)
Hello, i got the 9600gt from asus in pccomponentes too, i like nvidia more than ati, not a fanwhore but i like em more xP,

i sold my XFX 7950gt 512mb for 120€ on eBay 3days ago, so i think you could get a good price for your one if your lucky

oh and btw, from stock clocks (and 9600 overclocks fairly better than 7950... and also has shader independant overclocking), 9600 gives 100fps in the situation that 7950 gives 42fps (cod4 wo antialiasing), and on crysis it gives 30-40fps (very high dx9 with cuban ultima sword configurator) where 7950 gave 13-18, so your upgrade will be good even if ya have to spend more than me xP all @ 1280x1024,

One question i have for the experts here, idk the answer, Nvidia 9600gt has 64 stream processors (aka half a 8800), ati 3850 has 320 stream processors, doesnt that mean more electrical power consumition? (aka the cheap becomes expensive :/)

22-05-2008, 10:58:29

RedPlague
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Black_ice'
Hello, i got the 9600gt from asus in pccomponentes too, i like nvidia more than ati, not a fanwhore but i like em more xP,

i sold my XFX 7950gt 512mb for 120€ on eBay 3days ago, so i think you could get a good price for your one if your lucky

oh and btw, from stock clocks (and 9600 overclocks fairly better than 7950... and also has shader independant overclocking), 9600 gives 100fps in the situation that 7950 gives 42fps (cod4 wo antialiasing), and on crysis it gives 30-40fps (very high dx9 with cuban ultima sword configurator) where 7950 gave 13-18, so your upgrade will be good even if ya have to spend more than me xP all @ 1280x1024,

One question i have for the experts here, idk the answer, Nvidia 9600gt has 64 stream processors (aka half a 8800), ati 3850 has 320 stream processors, doesnt that mean more electrical power consumition? (aka the cheap becomes expensive :/)
I think I saw your board (and thought who on earth can buy it at that price)... I know it's (a lot) better than my 8600GTS and I thought less people are going to buy my card.

I have bought the 9600GT because the store rised the price of the 3850 to 109€ ... so for 6€ more I got the 9600GT (now they have the 3850 at 88€, which is a competitive price, better reflecting it's performance).

The 320 stream processors are actually 64 processors directly comparable to Nvidia's (taking into account what they do) and 256 simpler processors (that only do basic operations like multiply and add, aka MAD). On top of that the ATI cards are lower clocked (they have the speed of the core if I am not mistaken... so that's avout half the frequency of a 8800/9600 card) and are fabricated with a 55nm process, whereas Nvidia uses a 65nm process.

All in all, ATI and Nvidia have different stream processors that are pretty difficult to interpret. (see my thread for a more in-depth explanation http://forum.overclock3d.net/showthread.php?t=22569 ... the title sucks, but the main body has some good information).

The power consumption is not that different on the two cards.

22-05-2008, 12:43:09

Black_ice
thx for info xP

29-05-2008, 09:01:46

baadman25
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.