ASUS 7970 Matrix Platinum

Metro 2033

ASUS HD7970 Matrix Platinum

Metro 2033

We do love putting an HD7970 through its paces in Metro 2033. It's one of the few cards in existence that, for inexplicable reasons, actually do better than 30 FPS. The Matrix Platinum is an admirable performer but there is no getting away from the fact that an overclocked reference card in PowerColor trim, and a specialist model in the guise of the Gigabyte Windforce.

 

 

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 Next»

Most Recent Comments

22-10-2012, 04:13:52

tinytomlogan
http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...094114833l.JPG

We finally get our hands on the top-line HD7970 from ASUS, the Matrix Platinum. Has it been worth the lengthy wait?


Continue Reading

22-10-2012, 05:25:39

B NEGATIVE
Harsh but fair.

22-10-2012, 05:44:34

233Kosta
I always hate to see good manufacturers righteously get their bollocks handed to them (Except for NZXT, that was pretty funny!)

ASUS could have at least sent a cherry picked review sample, so they wouldn't look as bad.

By the way, Tom, is it planned for the future to get the graphs in HTML5 instead of Flash (or some sort of compromise). I went on this on a mobile device and none of the numbers would show.

22-10-2012, 06:42:45

CPMFW
its a lovely designed card but the performence is really disappointing...
tom was swearing and that doesnt happen often

22-10-2012, 06:56:54

Vicey
Disappointing. Asus make great motherboards but their GPU's feel more fluff than substance.

I really get the sense that they are using the Republic of Gamers branding on products that aren't really that premium. If they continue to dilute the brand it will become worthless. I also don't think the lights on the side of the card are a good idea, makes it look like a cheap afterthought to distract from the cards main fault: Performance.

22-10-2012, 20:09:11

badtaylorx
idk tom.... i think you got a dud....

the platinums ARE cherry picked...hence the "Platinum"

22-10-2012, 20:42:36

tristan
if they are cherry picked then they are doing a bad job of it given that tom had a chip that wouldn't go past 1200. i definitly had higher hopes for this card...

22-10-2012, 20:45:00

Josh Weston
Cherry picking suggests that they've been tested in-house by the manufacturer, right? As Tristan says, they're obviously not doing it right.

22-10-2012, 21:04:32

tristan
For the price of this card you can get a gtx 680 that comes with a factory overclock of 1200 if asus's "cherry picking" process allows a chip that can only do 1200 then somthing is wrong.

22-10-2012, 21:36:37

airdeano
reading other print reviews of this same card and you'd think there was a
different version becasue they are all upside-down giddy with the results.
comparo to GTX and gains over the reference cards, you'd thought the 2nd
coming was in this card. dribble... just dribble.. cost to performance ratio is
so lope-sided.

"....11% performance improvement over the regular HD 7970 and a 3% boost
over the HD 7970 GHz and MSI HD 7970 Lightning." for 35-40% more cost to
the Lightning?
but nobody else is barking about the low frequency clocking ability. edged by the
PowerColor at more cost?
should have been stomped a mud-hole in the competitions butt on this purchase.
but instead "edged-out" by its competitor..

ASUS good for you, but i think this is not a great card from the stables of ROG
performance line..

another spot-on point was the RBG lighting and the control. Corsair Link was
getting similar flack on the "effect" and gave "ownership" to the end-user instead
of locking them out. same aurguement, "oohh it changes under load.." obvious
reply, "MEH".

just my opinion...

airdeano

23-10-2012, 03:54:41

Lollipop
Quote:
Originally Posted by 233Kosta View Post
I always hate to see good manufacturers righteously get their bollocks handed to them (Except for NZXT, that was pretty funny!)

:
Contradiction.

23-10-2012, 21:30:37

233Kosta
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lollipop View Post
Contradiction.
Oh come on, you have to give this one to Tom!

24-10-2012, 13:49:04

badtaylorx
thats why i think this one was a dud....it happens.....

if my money tree didnt die, id buy another and send it to tom to see if the results be similar

24-10-2012, 14:06:59

233Kosta
Quote:
Originally Posted by badtaylorx View Post
thats why i think this one was a dud....it happens.....

if my money tree didnt die, id buy another and send it to tom to see if the results be similar
I agree. I seriously doubt ASUS are stupid enough to brand a card for overclocking and then not cherry pick the chip that goes on it, especially when they'd be sending samples to reviewers such as TTL.

I hope they send him one that performs to rectify the situation, otherwise they will suffer imho.

24-10-2012, 15:57:29

airdeano
Quote:
Originally Posted by 233Kosta View Post
I agree. I seriously doubt ASUS are stupid enough to brand a card for overclocking and then not cherry pick the chip that goes on it, especially when they'd be sending samples to reviewers such as TTL.

I hope they send him one that performs to rectify the situation, otherwise they will suffer imho.
ditto.. but im afraid that its been done. itll take a "golden" card to undo the
puzzled looks. but reading other reviews, it sounds pretty on par with
what Tom's already said as far as performance. they just "gussied" the print
up for specatular effects. not saying speaks as loud..

airdeano

24-10-2012, 21:09:15

233Kosta
I need to look up the other reviews, because so far I've only heard about what other reviewers were saying. Before Tom's review I'd only seen a 5 min overview and charts by Linus, but I don't take that guy's word for anything, especially GPU and CPU reviews, as he does have a vested interest in bigging up the hardware.

My trust in Tom's reviews surpasses anything else on youtube. They're just the most detailed and honest videos I've seen on youtube. (to me if Tom says it's bad - it's bad, end of)

Off to google now to see what people write about this card.

24-10-2012, 21:31:18

233Kosta
I just looked up some reviews. Most claim about 1300MHz. At 1300MHz, the 680 still seems to beat it by a tiny bit.

Obviously this card isn't all they say it is

28-10-2012, 04:45:51

CEUOTC
Great review TTL, balanced and fair, will stick with my vanilla HD 7970.

Regards.

C.

28-10-2012, 11:19:33

DB006
tl;dr, Tom, have you re tested using 12.11beta 4's?

28-10-2012, 11:21:12

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by DB006 View Post
tl;dr, Tom, have you re tested using 12.11beta 4's?
Theres only 24 hours in a single day so sadly not. If I retest this why shouldnt I retest all the other 7970's or even 680's because they have new drivers out too!

28-10-2012, 11:24:34

DB006
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
Theres only 24 hours in a single day so sadly not. If I retest this why shouldnt I retest all the other 7970's or even 680's because they have new drivers out too!
Yes agreed, not enough hours in the day to do everything, maybe save it until the official WHQL AMD drivers are out? If the beta is anything to go by, AMD has claimed the fastest single and dual gpu crown back from Nvidia

28-10-2012, 12:43:03

CEUOTC
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
Theres only 24 hours in a single day so sadly not. If I retest this why shouldnt I retest all the other 7970's or even 680's because they have new drivers out too!
TTL all you have to do is move to Venus = 243 Sol days = 1 Venusian day.

Or

Mars, as one Marian day = 58 days and 15 hrs Sol days

Or do what said

Regards.

C.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.