Asus 5850 TOP Review

3D Mark and Gaming

ASUS 5850 TOP

3D Mark and Gaming

For our tests we're using two cards at three settings. A reference design HD5850 at our best overclock (940MHz), and the ASUS Top at Stock (765MHz) and Overclocked (1014MHz). We're using the latest Catalyst 10.3 drivers that give a nice boost in most of our test games.

Vantage Performance Test

Vantage, whilst pushing cards very hard indeed, naturally doesn't make a big fuss in the default performance benchmark because the resolution is so low. As you can see the stock performance isn't bad, the overclocked reference is good, but the overclocked Top really stretches its legs pushing past the 20000 barrier. Definitely got plenty of oomph at lower resolutions.

 

Vantage High Test

Moving to the high test which is much more realistic we find that although the difference between them naturally diminishes as architecture plays as bit a role as clock speed, but still the Top shows its worth by stretching a lead over the stock and reference models.

 

Modern Warfare 2

Infinity Ward's Modern Warfare 2 provides both great looking graphics and also isn't too hard on the system requirements. Although the overclocked Top has a clear lead they all are well clear of the 60FPS rock-solid frame rate we need for smooth gaming.

 

Crysis Warhead Gamer

Crysis Warhead gives us our first slight stumbling block in that we're not past 60FPS. But the new drivers are clearly working a treat because with Gamer settings we're not far off a fully playable experience on all three, although once again the power of the Top shows through.

 

Crysis Warhead Enthusiast

Moving to Enthusiast settings with 4 x Anti-Aliasing we really get a feel for what is under the hood. Sure none of our cards on test provide a particularly glorious experience, but the gap between the ASUS HD5850 Top overclock and the reference design overclock stands out a mile at these low frame-rates. When you're down here one or two frames can make all the difference and the playing experiences was unquestionably smoother.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

09-04-2010, 05:40:09

tinytomlogan
Asus 5850 TOP GPU..... But is it top of the pile?

Continue Reading

09-04-2010, 06:27:08

AMDFTW
grammer error on the dirt 2 intro

09-04-2010, 08:41:27

Msm2
Spelling mistake..... AMD

09-04-2010, 08:58:25

a8875624
There's an error on the Dirt2 graph labels. I think 'Top Stock' and 'OC Ref' are the wrong way around - according to the description you gave.

09-04-2010, 10:09:29

AMDFTW
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Msm2'
Spelling mistake..... AMD
alryt my bad

09-04-2010, 12:38:54

VonBlade
Glad you boys pay attention. Helps us feel good about our work.

Graph key on Dirt2 graph was backwards. Fixed. So words are right, graph is right, key was wrong.

Danke

09-04-2010, 12:39:40

VonBlade
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='AMDFTW'
grammer error on the dirt 2 intro
Everyone's a critic. Care to be a little more specific?

09-04-2010, 13:11:27

a8875624
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='VonBlade'
Glad you boys pay attention. Helps us feel good about our work.

Graph key on Dirt2 graph was backwards. Fixed. So words are right, graph is right, key was wrong.

Danke
Lol, sorry but I was surprised that the stock Top settings beat the OC Ref on FPS - I guess I just needed confirmation. Sorry if it sounded a bit anal.

09-04-2010, 13:34:17

emax27
Any idea if DirectCU comes on reference design pcb?

09-04-2010, 15:15:00

alders
you need to add other cards to the graphs, 5870, 5850 normal, etc.

09-04-2010, 16:01:29

VonBlade
@alders

You do realise that all our reviews are on the site already? You can look through them if you'd like.

We did a 5 series round up you can look at. We've just done a 5870 both stock and overclocked. They are all easily visible within the website.

Rather than many sites that regurgitate their data month after month, we retest every single time for each review. If we covered every card you could think of, including reformatting between cards, we'd put a review up every couple of months.

So we prefer to test what needs to be tested to get sensible results. If you wish to compare further, feel free to make the effort of reading our other reviews.

@ emax27. No it doesn't. It's the cooler design itself and therefore specific to this model.

12-04-2010, 09:42:45

AMDFTW
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='VonBlade'
Everyone's a critic. Care to be a little more specific?
it was in the dirt 2 intro when you was writing about the card,but it has been changed now anyay

12-04-2010, 18:01:17

VonBlade
Hmm. Strange I didn't change a word.

Thanks anyway
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.