Asus 5850 TOP Review

Test Setup, Overclocking and Temps

ASUS 5850 TOP

Test Setup, Overclocking and Temperatures

Test Setup

Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.2GHz
6GB Corsair Dominator @ 1600MHz
Asus P6T Deluxe
Windows 7 64 Bit
ASUS HD5850 Top
Catalyst 10.3 Final
ASUS HD5850 Reference for comparison

Overclocking

Our overclocking tests used a combination between the ASUS Smart Doctor, that allows us to modify the speed of the core and also the voltages, along with Furmark to test the stability of our overclock.

Starting at the default 765MHz we quickly hit 940MHz before any voltage adjustment was needed. It took an increase of 0.1v to move to 980MHz with stability and eventually 1.27v to crack the 1GHz barrier. Even with our fan at a modest 50%, the same we use with all our GPU overclocks, the HD5850 TOP didn't pass 65 degrees C after 5 minutes of the intense Furmark benchmark.


Temperatures

Temperatures were taking from GPUz after 5 minutes of Furmark testing. Because of the auto-underclock when in 2D applications the idle temperatures were within a gnats chuff of each other and so have been left out for clarity.

So we know what we're using, and what it'll do. Let's see how it performs under pressure.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

09-04-2010, 05:40:09

tinytomlogan
Asus 5850 TOP GPU..... But is it top of the pile?

Continue Reading

09-04-2010, 06:27:08

AMDFTW
grammer error on the dirt 2 intro

09-04-2010, 08:41:27

Msm2
Spelling mistake..... AMD

09-04-2010, 08:58:25

a8875624
There's an error on the Dirt2 graph labels. I think 'Top Stock' and 'OC Ref' are the wrong way around - according to the description you gave.

09-04-2010, 10:09:29

AMDFTW
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Msm2'
Spelling mistake..... AMD
alryt my bad

09-04-2010, 12:38:54

VonBlade
Glad you boys pay attention. Helps us feel good about our work.

Graph key on Dirt2 graph was backwards. Fixed. So words are right, graph is right, key was wrong.

Danke

09-04-2010, 12:39:40

VonBlade
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='AMDFTW'
grammer error on the dirt 2 intro
Everyone's a critic. Care to be a little more specific?

09-04-2010, 13:11:27

a8875624
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='VonBlade'
Glad you boys pay attention. Helps us feel good about our work.

Graph key on Dirt2 graph was backwards. Fixed. So words are right, graph is right, key was wrong.

Danke
Lol, sorry but I was surprised that the stock Top settings beat the OC Ref on FPS - I guess I just needed confirmation. Sorry if it sounded a bit anal.

09-04-2010, 13:34:17

emax27
Any idea if DirectCU comes on reference design pcb?

09-04-2010, 15:15:00

alders
you need to add other cards to the graphs, 5870, 5850 normal, etc.

09-04-2010, 16:01:29

VonBlade
@alders

You do realise that all our reviews are on the site already? You can look through them if you'd like.

We did a 5 series round up you can look at. We've just done a 5870 both stock and overclocked. They are all easily visible within the website.

Rather than many sites that regurgitate their data month after month, we retest every single time for each review. If we covered every card you could think of, including reformatting between cards, we'd put a review up every couple of months.

So we prefer to test what needs to be tested to get sensible results. If you wish to compare further, feel free to make the effort of reading our other reviews.

@ emax27. No it doesn't. It's the cooler design itself and therefore specific to this model.

12-04-2010, 09:42:45

AMDFTW
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='VonBlade'
Everyone's a critic. Care to be a little more specific?
it was in the dirt 2 intro when you was writing about the card,but it has been changed now anyay

12-04-2010, 18:01:17

VonBlade
Hmm. Strange I didn't change a word.

Thanks anyway
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.