Asus 5850 TOP Review

ASUS 5850 TOP Up Close

ASUS 5850 TOP

The 5850 TOP Up Close

The first thing that strikes you, apart from the racing stripes, is that this isn't a full length cooler. This is something we're always concerned about as the heat is expelled into the case and the less of that the better. With a good sized case and decent airflow this isn't a major problem, but with graphics cards just situated under the processor and heat rising any degree is one we could do without.

The rear view gives us our first glimpse of the huge heatpipes and how well laid out the board is.

ASUS 5850 TOP     ASUS 5850 TOP  

Unlike the standard reference design ASUS' DirectCU cooler has a large amount of fins, two big heatpipes and a very large fan that should dissipate the heat far more efficiently than the standard one, and with the the size of the fan hopefully much quieter too.

Despite the size it's still well within a double-card depth, and has a nice little ASUS logo on the side, to go along with the one on the fan, and the one on the cooler shroud, and the one on the board. Nobody will be in any doubt about who makes this when it's in your show case.

ASUS 5850 TOP     ASUS 5850 TOP  

ASUS 5850 TOP     ASUS 5850 TOP  

Finally we have the three outputs on the rear of the HD5850 Top. One DVI-D, one HDMI and one DisplayPort, providing Eyefinity compatibility right out the box without needing adaptors. 

One of the things the pictures don't do full justice too is how solid this thing feels. This is definitely a well built piece of kit.

ASUS 5850 TOP     ASUS 5850 TOP

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

09-04-2010, 05:40:09

tinytomlogan
Asus 5850 TOP GPU..... But is it top of the pile?

Continue Reading

09-04-2010, 06:27:08

AMDFTW
grammer error on the dirt 2 intro

09-04-2010, 08:41:27

Msm2
Spelling mistake..... AMD

09-04-2010, 08:58:25

a8875624
There's an error on the Dirt2 graph labels. I think 'Top Stock' and 'OC Ref' are the wrong way around - according to the description you gave.

09-04-2010, 10:09:29

AMDFTW
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Msm2'
Spelling mistake..... AMD
alryt my bad

09-04-2010, 12:38:54

VonBlade
Glad you boys pay attention. Helps us feel good about our work.

Graph key on Dirt2 graph was backwards. Fixed. So words are right, graph is right, key was wrong.

Danke

09-04-2010, 12:39:40

VonBlade
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='AMDFTW'
grammer error on the dirt 2 intro
Everyone's a critic. Care to be a little more specific?

09-04-2010, 13:11:27

a8875624
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='VonBlade'
Glad you boys pay attention. Helps us feel good about our work.

Graph key on Dirt2 graph was backwards. Fixed. So words are right, graph is right, key was wrong.

Danke
Lol, sorry but I was surprised that the stock Top settings beat the OC Ref on FPS - I guess I just needed confirmation. Sorry if it sounded a bit anal.

09-04-2010, 13:34:17

emax27
Any idea if DirectCU comes on reference design pcb?

09-04-2010, 15:15:00

alders
you need to add other cards to the graphs, 5870, 5850 normal, etc.

09-04-2010, 16:01:29

VonBlade
@alders

You do realise that all our reviews are on the site already? You can look through them if you'd like.

We did a 5 series round up you can look at. We've just done a 5870 both stock and overclocked. They are all easily visible within the website.

Rather than many sites that regurgitate their data month after month, we retest every single time for each review. If we covered every card you could think of, including reformatting between cards, we'd put a review up every couple of months.

So we prefer to test what needs to be tested to get sensible results. If you wish to compare further, feel free to make the effort of reading our other reviews.

@ emax27. No it doesn't. It's the cooler design itself and therefore specific to this model.

12-04-2010, 09:42:45

AMDFTW
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='VonBlade'
Everyone's a critic. Care to be a little more specific?
it was in the dirt 2 intro when you was writing about the card,but it has been changed now anyay

12-04-2010, 18:01:17

VonBlade
Hmm. Strange I didn't change a word.

Thanks anyway
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.