Asus 5850 TOP Review

Packaging

ASUS 5850 TOP

Packaging

Starting as we always do with the external packaging. It's like Christmas, gradually unwrapping layers.

ASUS always impress with their packaging and sure enough they have done so again here. The front of the box has a lovely drawing of a mythological human/wings/panther hybrid next to the 110% speed advertisement. Along with that we have the standard model and manufacturer details and the various badges explaining the feature set.

On the rear we get a good close up of the board and information about the Voltage Tweak and DirectCU parts special to this particular model.

ASUS 5850 TOP     ASUS 5850 TOP  

The frontal artwork is carried around on the side as well. Often we find artwork limited to just the front, or generic enough that you don't really notice. With this though it's a very classy looking box. Of course we're far more interested in the contents, so let's take the inside box out.

ASUS 5850 TOP     ASUS 5850 TOP  

As always with ASUS it's a very sturdy box adorned with a simple gold ASUS logo. It adds such an air of quality and really heightens our desire to see what treats lay within. Once the main flap is open we find the box that contains the manuals and the smaller one with the cables. With the manual box out the way we get our first glimpse of the card in its static wrappings. But you can wait a moment before we can feast our eyes on that.

ASUS 5850 TOP     ASUS 5850 TOP  

Inside the box we find a quick start manual, a PDF disk manual and the driver disk that also contains the ASUS overclocking utilities. Also provided are a Molex to PCI-6, a Crossfire bridge and two DVI adaptors to VGA and HDMI respectively.

One thing I do have to point out though is the manual disk. Not, for once, that any product costing more than a tenner has got a PDF manual because I think we all understand that is so frustrating as to be beyond a joke, but rather the disk itself. Apparently it's a "Muti Language Manual". That doesn't bode well for the quality of the manual within but thankfully it's a small mistake.

So blindingly obvious it's disappointing ASUS didn't pick it up though.

ASUS 5850 TOP     ASUS 5850 TOP

Enough teasing. Let's see what this cooler looks like.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

09-04-2010, 05:40:09

tinytomlogan
Asus 5850 TOP GPU..... But is it top of the pile?

Continue Reading

09-04-2010, 06:27:08

AMDFTW
grammer error on the dirt 2 intro

09-04-2010, 08:41:27

Msm2
Spelling mistake..... AMD

09-04-2010, 08:58:25

a8875624
There's an error on the Dirt2 graph labels. I think 'Top Stock' and 'OC Ref' are the wrong way around - according to the description you gave.

09-04-2010, 10:09:29

AMDFTW
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Msm2'
Spelling mistake..... AMD
alryt my bad

09-04-2010, 12:38:54

VonBlade
Glad you boys pay attention. Helps us feel good about our work.

Graph key on Dirt2 graph was backwards. Fixed. So words are right, graph is right, key was wrong.

Danke

09-04-2010, 12:39:40

VonBlade
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='AMDFTW'
grammer error on the dirt 2 intro
Everyone's a critic. Care to be a little more specific?

09-04-2010, 13:11:27

a8875624
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='VonBlade'
Glad you boys pay attention. Helps us feel good about our work.

Graph key on Dirt2 graph was backwards. Fixed. So words are right, graph is right, key was wrong.

Danke
Lol, sorry but I was surprised that the stock Top settings beat the OC Ref on FPS - I guess I just needed confirmation. Sorry if it sounded a bit anal.

09-04-2010, 13:34:17

emax27
Any idea if DirectCU comes on reference design pcb?

09-04-2010, 15:15:00

alders
you need to add other cards to the graphs, 5870, 5850 normal, etc.

09-04-2010, 16:01:29

VonBlade
@alders

You do realise that all our reviews are on the site already? You can look through them if you'd like.

We did a 5 series round up you can look at. We've just done a 5870 both stock and overclocked. They are all easily visible within the website.

Rather than many sites that regurgitate their data month after month, we retest every single time for each review. If we covered every card you could think of, including reformatting between cards, we'd put a review up every couple of months.

So we prefer to test what needs to be tested to get sensible results. If you wish to compare further, feel free to make the effort of reading our other reviews.

@ emax27. No it doesn't. It's the cooler design itself and therefore specific to this model.

12-04-2010, 09:42:45

AMDFTW
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='VonBlade'
Everyone's a critic. Care to be a little more specific?
it was in the dirt 2 intro when you was writing about the card,but it has been changed now anyay

12-04-2010, 18:01:17

VonBlade
Hmm. Strange I didn't change a word.

Thanks anyway
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.