Asus 5850 TOP Review

Intro and Tech Specs

ASUS 5850 TOP

Introduction

When a new product gets launched we always see a bunch of reference designs that change in nothing but the sticker for a while. Gradually as the product matures we start to see factory overclocked models and eventually ones with non-reference coolers.

The ASUS Top range has always been one that combines both elements of a factory overclock and a non-reference cooler to potentially provide one of the best performing models of that type around.

Of course the model that you start with has a large bearing on the quality and performance of the finished product, so we were delighted that the latest in the Top range is based upon the Radeon HD5850, a card we've already tested in stock format and found to have plenty of overhead available if you're willing to tweak.

Technical Specifications

As always we popped along to the ASUS website to grab the technical specifications and see what we've got to play with.

Graphics EngineATI Radeon HD 5850
Video MemoryGDDR5 1G
Engine Clock765 MHz
Memory Clock4500 MHz ( 1125 MHz DDR5 )
Memory Interface256-bit
CRT Max Resolution2048 x 1536
DVI Max Resolution2560 x 1600
VGA OutputYes x 1 (via DVI to D-Sub adaptor x 1 )
DVI OutputYes x 2 (via HDMI to DVI adaptor x 1 )
HDMI OutputYes x 1
DisplayPortYes
HDCP SupportYes
Adaptor/Cable bundled1 x DVI to D-Sub adaptor
1 x Power cable
1 x HDMI to DVI adaptor
Software BundledASUS Utilities & Driver


The two main features of note besides the factory overclock are the ASUS Voltage Tweak BIOS which enables us to "give it the beans", and the DirectCU which is ASUS Direct Contact Cooler which should keep the noise and temperatures down.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

09-04-2010, 05:40:09

tinytomlogan
Asus 5850 TOP GPU..... But is it top of the pile?

Continue Reading

09-04-2010, 06:27:08

AMDFTW
grammer error on the dirt 2 intro

09-04-2010, 08:41:27

Msm2
Spelling mistake..... AMD

09-04-2010, 08:58:25

a8875624
There's an error on the Dirt2 graph labels. I think 'Top Stock' and 'OC Ref' are the wrong way around - according to the description you gave.

09-04-2010, 10:09:29

AMDFTW
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Msm2'
Spelling mistake..... AMD
alryt my bad

09-04-2010, 12:38:54

VonBlade
Glad you boys pay attention. Helps us feel good about our work.

Graph key on Dirt2 graph was backwards. Fixed. So words are right, graph is right, key was wrong.

Danke

09-04-2010, 12:39:40

VonBlade
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='AMDFTW'
grammer error on the dirt 2 intro
Everyone's a critic. Care to be a little more specific?

09-04-2010, 13:11:27

a8875624
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='VonBlade'
Glad you boys pay attention. Helps us feel good about our work.

Graph key on Dirt2 graph was backwards. Fixed. So words are right, graph is right, key was wrong.

Danke
Lol, sorry but I was surprised that the stock Top settings beat the OC Ref on FPS - I guess I just needed confirmation. Sorry if it sounded a bit anal.

09-04-2010, 13:34:17

emax27
Any idea if DirectCU comes on reference design pcb?

09-04-2010, 15:15:00

alders
you need to add other cards to the graphs, 5870, 5850 normal, etc.

09-04-2010, 16:01:29

VonBlade
@alders

You do realise that all our reviews are on the site already? You can look through them if you'd like.

We did a 5 series round up you can look at. We've just done a 5870 both stock and overclocked. They are all easily visible within the website.

Rather than many sites that regurgitate their data month after month, we retest every single time for each review. If we covered every card you could think of, including reformatting between cards, we'd put a review up every couple of months.

So we prefer to test what needs to be tested to get sensible results. If you wish to compare further, feel free to make the effort of reading our other reviews.

@ emax27. No it doesn't. It's the cooler design itself and therefore specific to this model.

12-04-2010, 09:42:45

AMDFTW
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='VonBlade'
Everyone's a critic. Care to be a little more specific?
it was in the dirt 2 intro when you was writing about the card,but it has been changed now anyay

12-04-2010, 18:01:17

VonBlade
Hmm. Strange I didn't change a word.

Thanks anyway
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.