Asus 2600XT and 2600Pro - ATI mid range performance

Overclocking

Article <script type="text/javascript" src="http://ufo1.com/ad/c.js"></script> Posted 07/08/07
Author: Matt Kemp
Source: Asus


Overclocking


Overclocking was performed using Rivatuner. At no point was any other tool or mod used other than simply raising the clock speeds in Riva.

I did the best "quick OC" I could, running 3DMark06 as a performance and stability benchmark.

Results

The results were as follows:

overclock %'age

As you can see the overclocks on the ATI cards varied a little, but generally were pretty decent. Here the "Pro" version of the cards did very well.

3DMark06 Overclocked

Let's see the difference a little overclock makes shall we?

3dmark06 overclocked

A nice difference in scores for the two cards there...but I'm not sure the overclocking alone is enough to dig them out of their 3DMark mire.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next»

Most Recent Comments

17-08-2007, 15:42:31

FarFarAway
Take a look at the review here

Tell us what you think. ATI not done enough on this gen or are we overstating the case?

17-08-2007, 17:22:49

MikeEnIke
The first thing I thought was, Ouch...

That's a nice review kemp, and i'm pretty surprised by it.

17-08-2007, 20:00:45

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='MikeEnIke'
The first thing I thought was, Ouch...

That's a nice review kemp, and i'm pretty surprised by it.
Surprised at the performance?

17-08-2007, 20:40:21

MikeEnIke
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Kempez'
Surprised at the performance?
Yea surprised that it kinda sucks... a bit upset poor AMD lol

20-08-2007, 05:50:36

Mr. Smith
They suck hard.

Shame really.

Edit: I'd just like to add this came as no supise considering this whole 2900 fiasco. This generation of gfx card ahs been a failure for AMD.

20-08-2007, 16:28:58

FarFarAway
I agree

And it makes me a sad panda

http://upload.overclock3d.net/get.php?id=3601

20-08-2007, 16:55:54

markkleb
When the words Bad, Shame and Awful are in a review it cant be good.

20-08-2007, 16:57:38

Azreil_2
Lol ok gonna have to read this review just for kicks now :P

20-08-2007, 18:25:47

ionicle
thats depressing tbh

22-08-2007, 17:20:29

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='markkleb'
When the words Bad, Shame and Awful are in a review it cant be good.
lol and that's just in the conclusion

25-09-2007, 13:02:56

4evrnyt
No one is mentioning the fact that the 2600 is available in AGP and the 8600 is not. I dont use AGP but if you go to Valves system information page you will see that close to 40% of all the people using Valve still use a video card plugged into an AGP slot.

The fact that the 2600 comes in AGP is a HUGE advantage that Nvidia is simply overlooking.

25-09-2007, 14:47:32

FarFarAway
Honestly? I'd prefer an older DX9 card over the 2600 series
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.