Asus 2600XT and 2600Pro - ATI mid range performance

Asus EAH 2600 Pro

The Asus 2600 Pro: Packaging, package and the card itself

NOTE: As both Asus cards are very similar I will cut these two pages a little shorter than usual.

Packaging

The packaging on the Pro version of the 2600 is the same as on the 2600 XT. Again Asus use their simple style packaging and an added CGI charactor.

asus 2600 pro

asus 2600 pro box rear

Again good information on the back of the box.

Taking a look at the internals of the packaging we see the same thing again here.

asus eah 2600 pro

Again could be a little better but should stave off most unwanted bumps and bruises from careless couriers.

Package

The package is again identical to the EAH 2600 XT.

We have:

* "Speed Setup" manual
* CD-based manual
* Driver CD
* ATI Internal Crossfire dongle
* DVI to VGA connector
* S-Video to component cable

asus eah 2600 pro

And again I say decent hardware bundle, just missing some kind of DVD player software.

The Card

The card is almost identical to the EAH 2600 XT with the nice looking red PCB and the cooler that really looks the biz.

eah 2600 pro card

eah 2600 pro rear card

Less solid caps are used on this card but again all high-quality Japanese capacitors are used and the look of the card itself is decent.

asus 2600 pro

Again double Dual-link DVI abounds on the card with HDCP compatible output for those of you wanting to play HD content on an HDCP TV.

The Cooler

Being a little more brief this time I can say again that the cooler is whisper quiet on the EAH 2600 Pro and looks great. Ambient at 23.5°C we have 34°C idle and 56°C load.

asus eah 2600 pro cooler

And also again I failed to get the cooler off of the card without actually going as far as breaking it.

Now onto my test setup.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next»

Most Recent Comments

17-08-2007, 15:42:31

FarFarAway
Take a look at the review here

Tell us what you think. ATI not done enough on this gen or are we overstating the case?

17-08-2007, 17:22:49

MikeEnIke
The first thing I thought was, Ouch...

That's a nice review kemp, and i'm pretty surprised by it.

17-08-2007, 20:00:45

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='MikeEnIke'
The first thing I thought was, Ouch...

That's a nice review kemp, and i'm pretty surprised by it.
Surprised at the performance?

17-08-2007, 20:40:21

MikeEnIke
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Kempez'
Surprised at the performance?
Yea surprised that it kinda sucks... a bit upset poor AMD lol

20-08-2007, 05:50:36

Mr. Smith
They suck hard.

Shame really.

Edit: I'd just like to add this came as no supise considering this whole 2900 fiasco. This generation of gfx card ahs been a failure for AMD.

20-08-2007, 16:28:58

FarFarAway
I agree

And it makes me a sad panda

http://upload.overclock3d.net/get.php?id=3601

20-08-2007, 16:55:54

markkleb
When the words Bad, Shame and Awful are in a review it cant be good.

20-08-2007, 16:57:38

Azreil_2
Lol ok gonna have to read this review just for kicks now :P

20-08-2007, 18:25:47

ionicle
thats depressing tbh

22-08-2007, 17:20:29

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='markkleb'
When the words Bad, Shame and Awful are in a review it cant be good.
lol and that's just in the conclusion

25-09-2007, 13:02:56

4evrnyt
No one is mentioning the fact that the 2600 is available in AGP and the 8600 is not. I dont use AGP but if you go to Valves system information page you will see that close to 40% of all the people using Valve still use a video card plugged into an AGP slot.

The fact that the 2600 comes in AGP is a HUGE advantage that Nvidia is simply overlooking.

25-09-2007, 14:47:32

FarFarAway
Honestly? I'd prefer an older DX9 card over the 2600 series
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.