AMD HD7770 Review

3D Mark - Low-End Cards

AMD HD7770 Review

Now for the sake of direct comparisons our testing is the same as it always is. However we're aware that this card isn't designed to go up against a lot of the cards in our graphs, so we wondered if the latest HD7770 had enough new features to make it a worthwhile purchase. To this end we dug out our long-past reviews of the low-end Radeon cards, and saw how they stacked up in 3D Mark.

It's worth noting that the other four cards were tested on a 4GHz i7-950, rather than the 4.6GHz HexCore all-singing X79 rig we're using today. Finally, the other four cards are all available for around £100 rather than the £130 that the HD7770 is rumoured to retail at.

3D Mark 11

Even with the underlying benefits of a better test system and more modern drivers, the HD7770 barely keeps up with a HD6790 and is decimated by the HD6850 and plain GTX560.

3D Mark Vantage

In Vantage it makes a better fist of things, but once again it's worth noting that the other cards were tested on the PhysX heavy version of Vantage, rather than the patched version which moves PhysX to the CPU. So given the extra CPU power available from the i7-3960X it's not a great surprise that the HD7770 just edges ahead of its Radeon rivals. All in all if you're going for pure gaming performance, you can do better at a cheaper price with the older cards.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 Next»

Most Recent Comments

15-02-2012, 05:46:47

tinytomlogan


The x770 cards from AMD have always been their most popular models, so does the HD7770 keep up this value and performance balance?

Continue Reading

15-02-2012, 06:02:52

Lollipop
Just woke up, can't wait...

15-02-2012, 06:05:10

Ruthless
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lollipop View Post

Just woke up, can't wait...
not much to get excited about

15-02-2012, 06:12:36

yassarikhan786
Really disappointing card. As you said in the conclusion no point in getting it over a 560 or 6870 for gaming purposes. The noise and power aspects are the only pluses about this card :/

15-02-2012, 06:13:00

SieB
The prices at the moment are what are making these cards bad, they are good cards but they are priced a lot higher than they should be making them bad value for your money. Really they should replace the 6xxx series equivalent in price and position.

If you look at the 6 series launch prices, the 7xxx equivalent should come in at the same and replace the lower model, maybe priced 10 or 20 higher than last gen but not 100+ more like we are seeing now.

6770 - 100 this is where the 7770 should be at around 100 new - actual price is ~130

6850 - 150 this is where the 7850 should be at around 150 new - actual price will be ~250+ (rumored)

6870 - 170 this is where the 7870 should be at 170 new - actual price will be ~280+ (rumored)

6950 - 250 this is where the 7950 should be at around 250 new - actual price is 350+

6970 - 300 this is where the 7970 should be at around 350 new - actual price is 450+

If it wasn't for these cards being priced as high as they are, they would be much better because price to performance would be good, but at the moment it's not. I just hope when Nvidia launches Kepler the prices even out, for now i'll stick with my 6850.*

15-02-2012, 06:27:20

Lollipop
The card is a bit.... meh.

15-02-2012, 06:37:47

UkGouki
kinda reminds me of the 8800 to 250gtx very marginal gain and on most test = no gain at all.. this card just isnt worth it unless it goes under 100...

15-02-2012, 07:28:47

SieB
To be fair the card it's self isn't bad, it is the 6770 replacement and it has a good performance increase over it. The thing that makes it seem bad is the pricing of the current cards and no price drop for the last lot. *

15-02-2012, 07:47:22

PEXON
I agree, that AMD have got their pricing wrong with the new range of cards, but you have to think the fact they can charge what they like, until NVidya release their new range, when I think AMD will bring their prices down drastically to compete, which is where AMD has always done well, price - performance. Of course if wan't a quiet, more efficient and cooler card, the 28nm process is going to be better for you.

15-02-2012, 08:55:34

badtaylorx
holy $hite.....that was wierd.....just as he was saying "vantage score six thousand six hundred sixty" and then BOOP "an error has occured" followed by a crash

but beyond that i do think the first 1GHz card is a milestone for sure....

congrats AMD

15-02-2012, 10:00:24

MaXiMiZe
Disappointed to say the least

15-02-2012, 11:10:41

Ghosthud1
this is.....pathetic to say the least, guess it will make the 7800 series look beefy?

15-02-2012, 11:48:25

MutleyUK
When I got my 6950's back in August I paid 171 a piece for the 1gb cards. I did shop around but you can still get these for around 180.

The 2gb version can be got for under 200.

So what I am trying to say is , for 50 quid more you can get alot more card if you are prepared to look around.

Thanks TTL for another honest review, I was suprised you gave it a Bronze award though , You are in a generous mood

15-02-2012, 15:15:02

Rob_the_scot
Doing some shopping around you can actually pick up after market 7770 cards for 109,... there's a video on youtube with this card in crossfire that gives out some good results, I reckon in a few months when the dust has settled these card will be worth buying for those on a budget and want to crossfire at a later date.

as for recommending the 6850 that's oki rite now but that choice wont always be around unless you want to go down the 2nd hand route,

Personally I like the card but more interested in the 7800 cards

15-02-2012, 16:50:45

MichaelH
I really like this card, despite the pricing and performance issue.

Why? Well. It's a 110-odd card, and for that you get a very quiet and cool chip which performs QUITE well in Black OPS - I mean, it probably averaged about 30-40FPS and it was around the 90FPS mark for a considerable amount of time.

Admittedly you'd be better with a 6850 or a similar card, perhaps even an nVidia rival of the 6770. BUT really, this card would be perfect for a tight budget media/gaming build - medium settings with a decent frame rate in new-ish games will suffice for many on a low budget. I mean. You could probably build a decent system with one of these for about the 400-500 range.

This card is definitely good for those looking for a card for a HTPC or Entertainment system - it's very quiet and cool; it's not over-priced TOO MUCH; it's small (therefore good for a Mini-ITX or MATX board) and it's very low on the power consumption front. Another bonus is the ability to CrossFire with another one, as there are one or two reviews floating around showing the performance in CrossFire to be quite good.

Pros



  • Average value (a tad overpriced);

  • Very quiet

  • Cool;

  • Small & Compact;

  • 30-40FPS on quite a few games on MAX settings (sufficient for some)



Cons



  • Slightly overpriced;

  • Not adequate for Eyefinity gaming at high res and settings;

  • Not as good performance as some 6770s (which are cheaper);

  • HIS isn't very "pretty" or stylish.



Thanks for the review. Enjoyed it.

02-03-2012, 20:29:27

Zraupp
would the 7770 be a nice upgrade from a GTS 250 512 MB !?

or wait till GTX 6xx ?

I play Call of Duty 1, UO, 2, 4, 5. BattleField 2, 3 and BC2. Axis and Allies (not much anymore). and Company of Heroes

my GTS 250 rums the game fine but i think i need something New(er) soon ...

MSI Z68A-GD65 (G3)

Intel Core i5 2500 3.8GHz Turbo 4 CORES

COOLER MASTER Hyper N 520

8GB (2x4G DDr3 1866

XFX GTS 250 CE 512MB

AZZA Hurrican 2000

TT Black mouse (would love a new mouse Corsair m60? )

Logitech wave (would love a new Keyboard Corsair K60? )

W7 Pro 64-Bit

ASUS LED BackLight 19"1440x900

Western Digital CB 500GB 7200 RPM SATA III

Patriot Pyro 60GB SSD
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.