AMD HD6790 Review

Up Close

AMD HD6790 Overclock 3D Mark Review

Up Close

Our model of the HD6790 is an OEM version, so devoid of any stickers or fanciness. In this guise you can really see how uninteresting the reference cooler is. No vents or areas that will assist cooling in Crossfire.

AMD HD6790 Board Review     AMD HD6790 Circuit Board Review  

The business end of the HD6790 follows the standard AMD pattern which enables Eyefinity. Dual DVI, HDMI and twin DisplayPort cover your output needs.

Power is provided by two PCIe 6-pin which should make sure the HD6790 gets all the power it could require even in overclocked trim.

AMD HD6790 Outputs Review     AMD HD6790 Power Review  

Finally the only remotely noticeable feature is the standard red fan. We've been quite damning in our criticism of the noise that this generates normally, so we're interested to discover if it's much quieter now it wont have as much heat to shift.

AMD HD6790 Cooler Review     AMD HD6790 Reference Review

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next»

Most Recent Comments

05-04-2011, 05:19:42

tinytomlogan
Today we take a look at the latest budget card from AMD. Is it the perfect balance of price and performance or a cut too far?



Continue Reading

05-04-2011, 05:20:46

dugdiamond
cool

05-04-2011, 06:14:58

jonowee
Ahh... AMD's GTX 550 Ti. The meh cards that you're better off not cheaping out for.

05-04-2011, 06:18:45

dugdiamond
Hmmm - not bad at all

05-04-2011, 06:28:09

SieB
It's better than I expected it to be but IMHO it's pretty pointless when for a bit more you can get a 6850 and when non reference versions come out which will cost a bit more it will be even more pointless.

I don't understand why Nvidia and AMD released the 550 and 6790 surely the time and effort would have been better spent making improved versions of the 6850 and 460.

05-04-2011, 06:31:30

marsey99
Why do ati feel the need to flood the low/mid range with cards?

Architectualy speaking isn't this another 5 series card?

05-04-2011, 06:33:25

marsey99
Nice 1 for the review btw

05-04-2011, 06:41:24

SieB
Quote:
Originally Posted by marsey99 View Post

Architectualy speaking isn't this another 5 series card?
It's pretty much a overclocked 5770 with a different architecture, lower power consumption, less heat and noise.

05-04-2011, 09:40:46

chaotic_russ
no video review of this ? mind you , you are busy playing at a show TTL

05-04-2011, 09:46:33

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by chaotic_russ View Post

no video review of this ? mind you , you are busy playing at a show TTL
No time to video, Im building rigs for the show and making videos of them. They are far more interesting......

05-04-2011, 11:29:55

wotevajjjj
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post

No time to video, Im building rigs for the show and making videos of them. They are far more interesting......
they sure are ? cup of 1080p tea time today ?

05-04-2011, 14:51:27

Chaney
Quote:
Originally Posted by wotevajjjj View Post

they sure are ? cup of 1080p tea time today ?
x2, but im american.. Bleh tea... Redbull does a body good though

05-04-2011, 15:02:38

Luger718
a better 5770, why not? its better then the 550ti that means price drops for the 550 ti

but aa 460 or 6850 is too close to its price :/

05-04-2011, 15:20:53

wotevajjjj
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chaney View Post

x2, but im american.. Bleh tea... Redbull does a body good though
don't like real tea eighter, i drink ice-tea lol

05-04-2011, 17:02:03

Fodr Kreatr
Seems like something better suited as a mobile soloution

05-04-2011, 21:07:08

Luger718
we're american we dont drink tea we drink ARIZONA (lol)

05-04-2011, 23:18:17

zeppas
Quote:
Originally Posted by SieB View Post

It's pretty much a overclocked 5770 with a different architecture, lower power consumption, less heat and noise.
Doesn't that make it exactly not a 5770, lol.

06-04-2011, 05:26:49

SieB
Quote:
Originally Posted by zeppas View Post

Doesn't that make it exactly not a 5770, lol.
Technically yes but performance, price wise and where it fits into the market no.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.