Zotac Z68-ITX WiFi Review

CineBench and 3D Mark 11

Zotac Z68-ITX WiFi Review

CineBench

Rendering is, as always, hugely demanding on a system and the Zotac Z68-ITX performs surprisingly well being on a par with similar stock results we've seen and only shaded in the overclocked scenario by the obvious smaller overclock it was able to deliver.

3D Mark 11

Finally despite the difficulties in getting the combination of cool overclocked CPU and discrete GPU to fit in the same board, the Zotac proves that big isn't necessarily better as it performs pretty well in 3D Mark 11, largely thanks to the full-fat PCIe x16 lane and the excellence of the GTX570.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next»

Most Recent Comments

08-07-2011, 07:32:52

tinytomlogan
Today we're taking a look at the latest ITX board from Zotac, based around the Z68 chipset. Is it a pocket powerhouse?



Continue Reading

08-07-2011, 07:55:42

sheroo
If you look at all the recent SB itx boards from Asus & Gigabyte, they also have the socket too close to the pci-e slot. But those are H61 & H67 boards that won't overclock. I'm eagerly awaiting the upcoming Z68 board from Gigabyte, hopefully they'll move the socket over so that you can get decent tower cooler on there. The Thermalright axp 140 seems to be the best choice for these boards at the moment - but the tolerances are very small....

The Prolimatech Samuel 17 is also a good choice.

08-07-2011, 09:37:34

Rastalovich
http://www.xcase.co.uk/PCI-Express-16X-Riser-Card-Slim-Case-p/riser-xlps005.htm

12. Would have been good for testing purposes.

In fairness to the manufacturers, they'd not envisage the sense in buying an itx mobo and sticking a tower on it. You'd ideally be looking at the smallest case to fit the thing in with your low power cpu and possibly a 1u/2u type cooler.

For benching the thing, naturally you'll go with the best cooler you have at hand and clock the crap out of it the best you can.

These itx mobos are too expensive imo.

08-07-2011, 09:45:53

SieB
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rastalovich View Post

These itx mobos are too expensive imo.
Exactly what I was thinking, you can get a full ATX one for the same price and seen as these Itx are half the size and use less PCB etc they should definietly be cheaper, by at least 40.

08-07-2011, 09:53:40

dugdiamond
IMO they are pointless for the likes of the power-users of this forum

but it is nice to know the developments of certain manufacturers

if it looks tacky and doesn't overclock very well, i ain't interested - lol

08-07-2011, 15:10:50

sheroo
I have been following the development of these itx boards for a few years now, waiting to build a small powerful rig. Zotac build alot of these itx boards but I think that their history has been somewhat spotted. I remember the old 9300 based boards that were billed as the ultimate itx board, but they wouldn't go to sleep properly. I personally wouldn't buy a Zotac board and have been waiting for the SB itx boards to mature. For my money I would buy the Asus P8H67-I Deluxe, it has just about everything - but you can't overclock it... I hope Gigabyte hit a homerun with their Z68 offering...

08-07-2011, 15:17:03

tinytomlogan
Im also waiting for the Gigabyte Z68 varient as the H55 version was awesome!

08-07-2011, 20:57:39

badtaylorx
sorry zotac,,,im not impressed... 4.5Ghz is just barley over the 4450Mhz i can squeeze out of my mini itx amd board
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.