Zotac ION ITX-F Motherboard

Packaging & Initial Impressions

Packaging & Initial Impressions
 
Much like it's sibling, the Zotac ION ITX-F arrived in a well designed box sporting the brand's black and bronze/orange colour scheme. As always, there is a full listing of the product's specifications such that it's relatively easy to tell the difference between this ION ITX board and the various derivatives of it.
 
 
The material of the box was of relatively thick cardboard, and an internal cardboard divider prevented accessories and the motherboard from moving. In case it wasn't made clear, the box is rather small and there is little in the way of wasted space.
 

The accessory list is reasonable for a motherboard such as this. Included in our sample was three SATA cables, one SATA power adapter, 80mm fan, Driver CD, Manual, WiFi Antennae and I/O Shield.
 
 
The installation of the motherboard was nigh on faultless from power on, through the installation of the operating system and onto the installation of drivers.
 
The motherboard's BIOS is a far cry from those found on DFI's overclock orientated motherboards but I think may of you will be surprised by it's offerings.
 
 
 
As a matter of fact, the ION ITX-F features very much the same BIOS as it's siblings. Do note that it is actually possible to overclock the Atom 330 Dual Core processor and that there is scope to use memory with optimal voltages of up to 2.10V. We'll take a look at overclocking on the next page...
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next»

Most Recent Comments

15-12-2009, 19:50:07

tinytomlogan
Mul takes a look at Zotacs latest Mini ITX offering.

Continue Reading

16-12-2009, 19:04:46

Diablo
Nice review, but seems a bit of an odd combination. The only point of the pcie slot is for gpus but the cpu hasn't got the grunt. If you want an HTPC, you would be better off with the previous ion board, for gaming the 9300 775.

I suppose you could run a decent home media server with the pcie slot used for a high performance raid card and have all your movies and music piped all over the house?

17-12-2009, 09:26:30

Rastalovich
Excellent read.

I think the phoneyness of the artificial benchmarks raise their ugly head here and shouldn't be too frowned upon in judgement.

The CoD4 w/8800gt is still impressive for me. Would like to have seen the stock 1.6 w/8800gt, but sneakingly think it'll be as-good, or good enough.

Would be nice to have dropped an AMD HD4xxxx+ card in there too to see how much the cpu effects the driver dependence.

It's certainly a different science than a regular mobo/cpu, and I like what it's achieving as I liked the previous models.

Soon as all the 775 kit I have goes south, I'd certainly consider for a htpc/media front room effort, with a gfxcard that u can keep in reserve. Although by the time that comes, there'll be new kit about I'm sure.

Good stuff, love a comment on the onboard sound.

17-12-2009, 10:14:55

Mul.
@Diablo

You have a fair point about the PCI-Express 16x slot. Even if you don't wish to use a dedicated graphics card, you're free to drop a PCI-E 1x/2x/4x card instead.

@Rasta

As far as the sound chip goes, there wasn't a lot to report. The sound quality itself when paired with a Cambridge Audio 5.1 set was more than acceptable and the cpu utilisation was low and of little concern. During this review, I didn't have access to a Monitor/TV with inbuilt speakers and so sound over HDMI could not be tested however I had no complaints with the onboard sound.

Thanks for the feedback.

17-12-2009, 10:35:36

tinytomlogan
I was thinking it would be best to use as a mini fold rig with the pcie, super lower power ect. Or drop a nice sound card in and have it as a high end HTPC.

21-12-2009, 08:15:03

Shinho
Very good Mobo for a HTPC machine.

22-12-2009, 06:45:30

sammytomjohn
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Shinho'
Very good Mobo for a HTPC machine.
not a very good price tho!

01-12-2013, 20:12:22

chuck4100
Anyone have any luck with overclocking one of these?
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.