XFX 650i Ultra Socket 775 Motherboard

Installation and Test Setup


Installation was not much different to normal except for the fact that I could not fit the Scythe Infinity onto the board the right way round.

xfx 650i ultra installed xfx 650i ultra installed 2

As you maye be able to see I had to install the Scythe Infinity sideways and fit the fan on the right. This isn't too much of an issue for me but as I have said previously it may affect those who want to install a bit cooler face-on.

Test Setup

The following test setup was as following:

Core2Duo E6700 ES
XFX 650i Ultra motherboard
Sapphire X1600 Pro
1gb Mushkin HP2 6400 (4-4-4-10)
Hitachia Deskstar 7K160 SATA HDD
Sony DVD-Rom/CD-RW
Silverstone 560w ZEUS PSU
Silverstone TJ09 case

For comparison I used results from an earlier review by OC3D on the Abit AB9 Review, the AW9D max Review, the Asus P5B-E Plus Review and the abit IN9 32x Max Review.


To test the motherboard I first ran it at stock using as stress test comprising of Orthos (dual Prime95), Folding @ Home running on both cores (set to idle priority) and RTHDRIBL running 1/2 screen. I let this run for 12hours to see how the board would fare.

The benches and tests used on the motherboard were:

Super PI 1m and 32m

SiSoft Sandra:

Processor Arithmatic
Procsssor Multemedia
Memory Bandwidth
Memory Latency

3DMark05 and 3DMark06 @ 1024 x 768 and 1280 x 1024

Counter Strike Source @ 1024 x 768 and 1280 x 1024

HD Tach


CPU Rendering

Note also that I lived with and used the board for a period of around 2 weeks to check out fully any issues that I found.

As usual there was no problems with installing Windows etc and this all worked out of the box, after simply changing the RAM timings to suit and memory voltage to 2.1v.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next»

Most Recent Comments

05-06-2007, 12:17:42

"XFX are well known for producing high-quality, high-speed graphics cards. Now they're stepping it up and getting into main-boards. I take a look at the 650i Ultra and see if they do as good a job"


Posted on behalf of Kempez... Read Here

05-06-2007, 12:23:15

Thats pretty cool, i went for evga 680i though, by the way your link to the forums on the review is dead.

When you review stuff do you just get given it to test?

Did you get my pm?



05-06-2007, 12:40:11

cool review, i didnt expect that board to do so well tbh

05-06-2007, 12:45:12

Nice review, glad you pointed out the green! My 15quid Epox board is green

05-06-2007, 13:17:59

Cool review

I find it wierd that people are talking about mobo's (or hardware in general) when they mention 'colour schemes' etc

Reminds me of this thread

Originally Posted by name='XMS'
Agreed! it won't be long before we have colour coded processors, ram and graphics cards that match up with the relevant slots on the motherboard (or are Gigabyte already doing this with their technicoloured mobo's) :P
Not like the old days

05-06-2007, 14:39:06

Originally Posted by name='equk'

Not like the old days
QT. I remember marveling at one of Abits first mobo's that used a brownish PCB and thinking how cool that was compared to the green ones. Of course the PCI slots were white and the AGP,RAM and PATA slots black.

05-06-2007, 16:49:03

it's the same 650i Ultra nVidia reference mobo as eVga (& no doubt others) also provide.

bit surprised that it isn't significantly cheaper than a 650i SLI solution though.

13-06-2007, 06:28:44

Originally Posted by name='BUFF'
it's the same 650i Ultra nVidia reference mobo as eVga (& no doubt others) also provide.

bit surprised that it isn't significantly cheaper than a 650i SLI solution though.
Ye I was slightly surprised at that too

Not a BAD mobo, just nothing special

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.