The Computer Council - Clocked Gamer Quad

System Setup & Further Overclocking

System Setup
 
Being the first PC system review conducted here at Overclock3D, we unfortunately do not have any results from previous systems to compare the Clocked Gamer Quad against. However, for the benefit of comparison we have constructed a similar spec'd non-overclocked machine to give an idea of just how much faster the Clocked Gamer Quad is to an "off-the-shelf" PC.
 
System Setup Table
 
The following benchmarks are part of Overclock3D's standard suite of applications and should give us a good overall idea of how the Clocked Gamer Quad performs in both synthetic and real world situations.
 
Synthetic CPU & Memory
• Sisoft Sandra XII 2008c
• Lavalys Everest 4.0
• SuperPI Mod 1.4 (8m)

File Compression & Encoding
• 7-Zip File Compression
• River Past ViMark

Disk I/O Performance
• HDTach 3.0.4.0
• Sisoft Sandra XII 2008c

3D / Rendering Benchmarks
• Cinebench 10
• 3DMark05
• 3DMark06
• POV-Ray 3.6

3D Games
• Quake 4
• Bioshock
• F.E.A.R
 
 
Stability & Overclocking
 
Being a pre-overclocked system great attention needs to be paid to the stability of the machine under high loads for extensive periods (Gaming etc..). TCC state that every one of the machines in their Clocked range is tested for full stability with 8 hours of Prime95 and 3DMark tests. While this is probably more than enough to guarantee full stability, we decided to push the Clocked Gamer Quad a little harder subjecting it to an entire day's (12hrs) worth of OCCT and ATITool Artifact Scanning. At the end of the day, the Clocked Gamer Quad had pretty much heated the entire office, but impressively it hadn't faltered once.
 
Overclock3D Stability PASSED
 
Of course, knowing that the Clocked Gamer Quad was 100% stable we couldnt help but wonder just how much further we could push that 3.3ghz overclock before things started to get a little wobbly. By using the BIOS to simply raise the FSB a few notches, this is what we managed:
 
TCC - CPUZ TCC - CPUZ
 
While we could have probably taken things further with extra voltage and additional tweaking, we felt that the original 3.3ghz overclock performed by TCC offered the best balance of performance and stability. Re-testing the unit with a further 8-12hours of OCCT just simply wasn't worth the additional effort for an extra 100-200mhz.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next»

Most Recent Comments

24-04-2008, 14:45:09

JN
"Fitted with top quality components and overclocked to 3.3ghz, the Clocked Gamer Quad offers top performance at a reasonable price."

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...121022368l.jpg

Clocked Gamer Quad Review

24-04-2008, 15:04:23

ali_james
Nice review there, I like what you've done comparing it to a stock system. Really shows what a good O/C can do for performance.

Respect to TCC, nice rig with a great, sensible spec. It shocks me how some companys fool nubs with the stupid sales tricks by throwing in "extreme dx10 gaming with sli" with poorer cards such as a pair 8600's when a much better single card solution is a mere 30~40 more. Good call on the psu aswell, I'd be horrified to buy a high end rig with a cheapy psu in it.

Cheers for the read

24-04-2008, 15:54:38

Nick R
Does this mean there will be more full PC reviews?

I agree with what you said about the website as well, it just lacks the right feel.

24-04-2008, 16:16:09

ionicle
looks like a good system, personally, i wouldnt give up the fun of building my own for a prebuilt, even if it does have such a nice spec, and an overclock, but its gotta be good for beginers, or gamers who dont wanna know about hardware...

24-04-2008, 16:27:52

JN
Cheers for the feedback guys

This is indeed the first in what will hopefully be a fairly long line of system reviews. We've got some gaming notebook reviews coming up soon, so look out for those.

But as always, we're not gonna slacken off on the cutting edge hardware reviews

24-04-2008, 17:03:00

Toxcity
Fantastic Jim!

Seems we have found another good contact.

24-04-2008, 17:31:41

equk
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='ionicle'
looks like a good system, personally, i wouldnt give up the fun of building my own for a prebuilt
That's exactly what I am thinking after seeing this review.

I might buy prebuilt if it was cheaper than building it, had good components and was still just as clockable. (prob never going to happen tho)

I'm also a bit bemused at the benchmark results?

Is it the same spec just not overclocked?

If so, it just really proves that overclocking gains performance which is the whole basis/point of overclocking?

Gaming laptop reviews could be interesting

24-04-2008, 17:59:35

w3bbo
Great review Jim. Very informative and an enjoyable read. It's nice to see someone putting the time into building a quality pre-overclocked setup that just 'works' straight from the off. Some people have neither the inclanation nor the time to build and then overclock a setup and don't mind paying a small premium for that service - well done TCC.

24-04-2008, 19:01:46

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='equk'

I'm also a bit bemused at the benchmark results?

Is it the same spec just not overclocked?

If so, it just really proves that overclocking gains performance which is the whole basis/point of overclocking?
Quote:
Originally Posted by review

Being the first PC system review conducted here at Overclock3D, we unfortunately do not have any results from previous systems to compare the Clocked Gamer Quad against. However, for the benefit of comparison we have constructed a similar spec'd non-overclocked machine to give an idea of just how much faster the Clocked Gamer Quad is to an "off-the-shelf" PC.
Pretty much sums it up right there.

It was a t0ss-up between benchmarking it against nothing which would be totally pointless, or benchmarking against a stock clocked machine and at least giving a small amount of readers the opportunity to see what advantage overclocking has.

24-04-2008, 19:41:35

Bungral
Mate.... That was an awesome review. The generic test was as close to a perfect comparison as you could get, baring the ram but the difference in that spec was minimal.

Just shows what a nice overclock really does.

Tis good to see the time and effort put into each PC built by TCC.. Good job guys!

25-04-2008, 04:23:36

Mr. Smith
I'm going to be a little critical here because, frankly, it's in my nature

The specs of the rig - you already addressed the 4gb issue so hats off, use the ReaperX they rock. The 15 cooler really isn't acceptable in my eyes on a 1K machine; a TRUE should be sitting pretty on that quad. The gpu; having owned two X2's I can safely say they are not gamers cards at all. They give erratic, sluggish performance and when I swapped out the X2 for my 88GT there was hardly any difference in performance. For this reason I believe TCC should use a 98GTX (even a GTS, both are cheaper and better than the X2) and OC it. The CPU overclock is pretty unspectacular BUT I'm willing to let that slide on the basis it is a pre built machine and TCC offer a warranty etc.

Jim - I'm a little shocked in the OC section you 'pushed' to 3.4 on the same voltage and threw the towel in. 1.55v is more than safe for 24/7 usage for years, I'd liked to have seen a voltage increase and a real attempt at pushing for more mhz. This is even more important on this setup as the X2 is involved as it simply laps up cpu power, with every 100mhz it's performance increases (from my own observations and researching around the net).

On the whole the system offers a great pre built system better than most other pre built systems, none of the components are bad but there are better alternatives in the same price category, e.g. even if the X2 was one of the cheaper ones at 240 the 98GTX can be found for 190, saving 50. This can be reinvested into the machine to offset the 4gb reaperX upgrade and the TRUE (as I see it there is the 50 saving on the gpu plus the money for the AF7 and the existing ram). With these changes the quad gamer would be just that, more of a gamers machine, definitely superior to competitors offerings. Actually, I’m going to go a little further and say an e8400/e8500 should be offered as an alternative, they overclock higher than the q6600 and with the lower tdp the air cooler can adequately handle the bigger OC’s. They also yield higher frame rates and sm2/sm3 scores than their quad brethren.

Just a few thoughts, I’m at work, this is rushed so consider this my disclaimer against any mistake/oversight

Overall a good job

Side note: I'd be happy to review any pre built system.

25-04-2008, 04:54:21

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Mr. Smith'
I'm going to be a little critical here because, frankly, it's in my nature

The specs of the rig - you already addressed the 4gb issue so hats off, use the ReaperX they rock. The 15 cooler really isn't acceptable in my eyes on a 1K machine; a TRUE should be sitting pretty on that quad. The gpu; having owned two X2's I can safely say they are not gamers cards at all. They give erratic, sluggish performance and when I swapped out the X2 for my 88GT there was hardly any difference in performance. For this reason I believe TCC should use a 98GTX (even a GTS, both are cheaper and better than the X2) and OC it. The CPU overclock is pretty unspectacular BUT I'm willing to let that slide on the basis it is a pre built machine and TCC offer a warranty etc.
What drivers was you using with your X2 mate? Catalyst 8.4's were installed on this rig which from the low/high/avg frame rates seemed to be a little more consistent from what I've seen in the previous cats.

True on the cooler, but in all honesty it does the job nicely. Everybody rates this particular cooler, and rightly so.

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Mr. Smith'

Jim - I'm a little shocked in the OC section you 'pushed' to 3.4 on the same voltage and threw the towel in. 1.55v is more than safe for 24/7 usage for years, I'd liked to have seen a voltage increase and a real attempt at pushing for more mhz. This is even more important on this setup as the X2 is involved as it simply laps up cpu power, with every 100mhz it's performance increases (from my own observations and researching around the net).
IMO the whole idea behind a pre-overclocked system is to provide the customer with an added-value system. Sure I could have bumped up the voltage, sure I could have adjusted ram timings, sure i could have knocked the multi down and run at a higher FSB...hell I could have even volt modded the board. But for the not-so-tech-savvy, just ramping up the FSB a few notches can be on the borderline of their capabilities.

25-04-2008, 05:15:18

Mr. Smith
6.4's?! I used the 8.1/8.2/8.3's... It isn't a gamers card. It's for benching imo

Fair enough on the OC but I still think my point is valid. I imagine someone buying this kind of machine will look into OC'in...

I gtg... work, work, work!

25-04-2008, 05:44:24

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Mr. Smith'
6.4's?! I used the 8.1/8.2/8.3's... It isn't a gamers card. It's for benching imo
8.4's - typo.

25-04-2008, 06:28:16

w3bbo
I'm using 8.4's with an X2 on a Dell 3007 - no such troubles here. The card does suffer a little with all the bells and whistles set to max but for the price, it certainly punches above its weight. Not the best card now that the Gx2 is out but it's certainly a step in the right direction for ATI and one that seems to be matched well to that setup.

25-04-2008, 07:00:05

nunzio
Good review.. but i do hate that case.

25-04-2008, 07:13:47

Rastalovich
I still like the idea of OC3D having a review section, that suppliers submit to as they do presently. Reviewed pretty much as Jim has done here, looked at it as a product that would be bought by someone `as-is` and tested on that basis - BUT - the idea that I like is an "extreme-review" of sorts (that the supplier is aware of obviously). So u have the regular great review plus another one a few weeks later maybe where it`s been dragged through the bushes, so to speak.

I`m imagining a customer for TCC & this gaming quad not necessarily being an `enthusiast`, but some1 who would either like to be an enthusiast, or wants to be in-touch with enthusiast stuff - but has no time to actually be hands-on or something.

Let`s face it, 1k.. we here, in the majority would buy our own dfferent kit individually, install it differently, and have cash for pizza and coke afterwards.

But if u don`t have the time ? Or if the time it takes a fringe enthusiast to spend on this is more valuable to them than the overhead ? Or really if u want to buy something from a a pos (point of sale) and have the service that goes along with it ..

Other companies do these "gaming" pcs for around 1k, it`d be interesting to have a row of comparisons.

25-04-2008, 07:26:12

The Computer Council
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='nunzio'
Good review.. but i do hate that case.
With this system, you can also choose the very popular Antec P182 case via our website.

26-04-2008, 09:44:02

Hassan
Petty it isn't water cooled.

i can see why water cooling may be an issue (Transit may cause a leak)

26-04-2008, 10:09:23

llwyd
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Hassan'
Petty it isn't water cooled.

i can see why water cooling may be an issue (Transit may cause a leak)
Yes and the simple fact that someone who doesnt have the time or knowledge to build their own PC, should not use water cooling.

26-04-2008, 10:12:45

AdamR79
The review (page 1 in particular) read more like a sales pitch for the company than an independent unbiased review.

also,

Interestingly, TCC only sell their systems online, meaning that there are no salesperson pushes to 'sign on the dotted line' when viewing the systems.



I think you should of pushed on this point a bit more, and not left it at "no pushy salesmen". Very few people would choose an online only company over one with a shopfront.

I really cant help but feel that the first page was written by "the computer council". Sorry.

26-04-2008, 10:25:00

llwyd
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='AdamR79'
The review (page 1 in particular) read more like a sales pitch for the company than an independent unbiased review.

also,

I think you should of pushed on this point a bit more, and not left it at "no pushy salesmen". Very few people would choose an online only company over one with a shopfront.

I really cant help but feel that the first page was written by "the computer council". Sorry.
Perhaps that is actually a reflection of the quality of the service? And it is felt that their service deserves to be promoted, just like any review which gives pleasing results?

anyway entitled to your opinion

26-04-2008, 11:37:31

The Computer Council
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='AdamR79'

I really cant help but feel that the first page was written by "the computer council". Sorry.
I think OC3D based this opening statement on the experience they had with us throughout the review, no part of the review was written by us.

We do base a huge amount of our business on excellent service, which is why I think OC3D decided to highlight this here, since afterall - this is a huge factor of any significant purchase.

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Hassan'
Petty it isn't water cooled.

i can see why water cooling may be an issue (Transit may cause a leak)
We have an extreme watercooled system on the horizon for those with a bigger budget. We'll also be providing free delivery/setup personally by one of our technicians on this system, to eliminate the problems of shipping a watercooled system.

26-04-2008, 17:17:31

Pat123
Well done guys, looks like a nice system.. I would try and make the site a little more 'attractive' though, but in all fairness it works well and it is extremely easy to navigate.

26-04-2008, 18:50:24

The Computer Council
It's great that we're able to receive direct feedback this way - thanks for all your comments so far.

There are definate plans in place to give the site a facelift, and hopefully integrate a whole new ordering system with much better options for customer's to configure their own PC. It'll be even easier to navigate around and find exactly what you're after - with a much wider choice.

27-04-2008, 05:31:26

Kerotan
Good review, seems to me that it's a good way of getting value for your money if you're looking for an "all-in-one" solution with minimal work required. I guess it's too expensive for me, but if people were looking to buy a new PC and asked me, I'd be sure to point them in TCC's direction if they didn't want to get seperates.

13-05-2008, 19:21:14

The Computer Council
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Pat123'
I would try and make the site a little more 'attractive' though, but in all fairness it works well and it is extremely easy to navigate.
Hi all - we've been working hard since the review to make improvements.

We have now addressed this issue with the launch of a new website and ordering system. Feel free to have a nosey.

07-07-2008, 13:33:39

JN
Based on feedback given from Overclock3D TCC have just released their new website. We revisit the site to see whats changed.

07-07-2008, 16:12:01

Mr. Smith
The site is much better, also for the review price you can now have the 280, 4gb and 2x500gb in raid0 (or the review one for 300 less).

09-07-2008, 03:54:24

PV5150
Yes there is a vast improvement over the old site. Well done TCC
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.