Nvidia 780a Chipset Preview

Asus Crosshair II Board & Specs

Asus Crosshair II

The board we will be conducting our preliminary tests with is the Asus Crosshair II. While this is not a full review of the board (full in-depth review to come later) it should be enough to give us a little insight into the new offering from NVIDIA.

Asus Crosshair II Board Asus Crosshair II Board Side

The mainboard is part of the ROG (Republic Of Gamers) series and as such represents the high end release from Asus. The traditional white and blue slots on a black PCB are carried over from other ROG boards and as you can see the 780a chip immediately below the CPU socket has a large heatsink which is possibly an indication of the heat output of Nvidia's MCP. With 3 PCIe 16x ports it is clear that this board is aimed squarely at gamers who wish to make use of SLI configurations. What is interesting is the heatsink covering the mosfet area. Rather than surround the CPU socket with restrictive copper sinks Asus have crammed them all to one side providing a cleaner socket area for those who wish to use larger CPU heatsinks. A key feature of the Crosshair II is the implementation of 10 (8 for the CPU, 2 for the memory and HT controller) phase power regulation which should provide a more stable power delivery and filtering setup.

SupremeFX II SupremeFX II

Sound is delivered using a riser card, the SupremeFX II which is now commonplace among the ROG range of motherboards and while not exactly on par with Asus's own Xonar cards or indeed Creative's X-FI it its more than adequate should you not have or desire to use your own audio card.

Asus Crosshair II Contents Assu Crosshair II LCD

Contents are as per usual Asus standards, providing everything needed to get you up and running in no time at all. The LCD Poster (above right) is a handy little gadget that allows you to troubleshoot booting problems should they occur.

Asus Crosshair II Specs
 
As the spec above shows this is a feature packed board. With 3 x PCIe 16 speed slots, up to 12 USB ports. Firewire, eSATA, Dual Gigabit Lan controllers and of course the on board VGA. Everything is there for today’s multimedia connectivity apart from the now seemingly obsolete serial port.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

09-05-2008, 16:05:11

w3bbo
Find out what makes Nvidia's latest AMD chipset tick with a preview of the 780a...

Review HERE

09-05-2008, 16:11:12

FarFarAway
Great little (big) preview mate

Some of the chipsets with onboard GPU's out now are really worth looking at when you consider HTPC's

Full HD output ftw tbh

09-05-2008, 16:27:35

w3bbo
Cheers m8. Was a bit of a challenge but Jim steered me in the right direction.

I was socked about the onboard VGA actually being able to run games let alone be playable.

09-05-2008, 16:27:36

Luigi
Ooh webbo didnt know you did reviews now.. nice one

Looks like a nice board.

09-05-2008, 16:31:43

w3bbo
Yeah and I'm enjoying it more than I thought I would tbh. Especially when you get some solid backup from the more experienced reviewers here at OC3D.

Tis a very nice board, I just wish we could have exploited it more....but that comes later.

09-05-2008, 16:32:43

Luigi
Well congrats mate, you did very well i shall give it a full read when i return home

09-05-2008, 16:33:34

ionicle
nice

good to see asus havent abandoned AMD, and neither has Nvidia, back in the day they made some good boards, like mine, the A8N sli-premium

Asus board

Nforce 4 chipset

AMD processor

tis the shizz

good to see we're building back upto that

amd processors were never really good overclockers anyway, you were lucky if you got 500MHz out of your athlon 64 series....

09-05-2008, 16:46:09

w3bbo
Opty 146 and DFI Ultra-D...../hums Hovis tune

I do hope AMD can get back inline with Intel as the support is evidently still there for enthusiasts with chipsets/motherboards like this.

09-05-2008, 17:02:29

Luigi
yeah, tis looking good

You going to be doing more reviews webbo?

09-05-2008, 17:03:32

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='teknokid'
yeah, tis looking good

You going to be doing more reviews webbo?
Mate he's already done a few, pay attention :whack::banng::haha:

09-05-2008, 17:10:02

Luigi
Lol, i havent been reading as many recently... nice

Did you get my pm kemp?

09-05-2008, 17:25:24

cl0ck_ed
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='ionicle'
nice

good to see asus havent abandoned AMD, and neither has Nvidia, back in the day they made some good boards, like mine, the A8N sli-premium
Haha, I had the A8N sli-deluxe, great board.

This new 780a chip looks packed with features, great (pre)review. The layout of the asus board looks spot on aswell.

16-05-2008, 19:22:30

Azza
Hes the thing about these boards.

1. The Price!

2. Current AMD processors.

Why pay 140+ for a motherboard that uses current AMD processors? When you could spend 140+ on an X48 board and get an Intel processor that is better than current AMDs. Who would buy a 140+ motherboard just for the onboard graphics and hybrid SLI when they would be combined with an AMD processor?

16-05-2008, 19:24:19

FarFarAway
OEM's getting nice prices but still wanting to sell PC's with decent specced GPU's?

01-06-2008, 09:45:34

PP Mguire

Asus board

Nforce 4 chipset

AMD processor

tis the shizz

Spot on, cept DFI Lanparty SLI-DR, X2, 3gig DDR500

Im glad there will be another reiview on this board though. To really put it through its paces you need to test the tri-SLI capability, Quad-SLI, and have a Phenom 9850X4 BE. Also testing hybrid SLI to see how well that works and to see if there really is a dip in performance with it enabled.

For a (not so) little preview i thought this was great. Keep up the good work! And sorry ima bit late. This is the board im looking at getting in the near future so i wanna see the OC3D seal of approval before i decide on heading to Intel. (Which is going to be exspensive for me, QX9650, DDR3, 790i, ect)
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.