Nvidia 780a Chipset Preview

Introduction

Introduction

Nvidia have just released the 780a chipset for AMD users and OC3D have been lucky enough to grab a board so we can take a better look at the latest and greatest from Nvidia. The board itself is an Asus Crosshair II which will have a full review of its own in the very near future and I will be referencing the board throughout but for now I want to give you a full run-down of the new chipset, its features and what new goodies it brings to the table.


Nvidia are no strangers to battling the CPU giants for chipset superiority, they have been waging war for years now and have been fighting battles on both fronts against Intel and AMD providing a worthy alternative. In the good old days, the nForce4 chipset even reigned supreme during AMD's heyday as it was an overclockers wet dream. Gamers were also supplied with the ability to SLI their high end GPU's and thus the 'Ultra gaming platform' was born. Nvidia were in pole position but somewhere along the line they lost the path of righteousness and thus nForce 5 and more recently nForce 6 were a very hit and miss affair, very akin to Marmite - you either loved it or you hated it. With nForce 7, Nvidia hope to turn back the clock and re-live a time when they were the teacher’s pet and shake off the 'unreliable', 'incompatible' shackles that have plagued the last two chipsets and are also keen to point out the 780a is a very different beast to the 780i, its Intel compatible sibling.

NVIDIA 780a SLI Diagram

The 780a chipset is clearly aimed at the high end AMD enthusiast and have deployed every marketing strategy in their repertoire, hoping to lure users away from the AMD flagship 790FX based motherboards which is its main target. Obviously the most prominent attraction to the 780a is the ability to run 'TRI SLI' but looking beneath the skin of this new beast there is much more than that to distinguish the new chipset from any other.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

09-05-2008, 16:05:11

w3bbo
Find out what makes Nvidia's latest AMD chipset tick with a preview of the 780a...

Review HERE

09-05-2008, 16:11:12

FarFarAway
Great little (big) preview mate

Some of the chipsets with onboard GPU's out now are really worth looking at when you consider HTPC's

Full HD output ftw tbh

09-05-2008, 16:27:35

w3bbo
Cheers m8. Was a bit of a challenge but Jim steered me in the right direction.

I was socked about the onboard VGA actually being able to run games let alone be playable.

09-05-2008, 16:27:36

Luigi
Ooh webbo didnt know you did reviews now.. nice one

Looks like a nice board.

09-05-2008, 16:31:43

w3bbo
Yeah and I'm enjoying it more than I thought I would tbh. Especially when you get some solid backup from the more experienced reviewers here at OC3D.

Tis a very nice board, I just wish we could have exploited it more....but that comes later.

09-05-2008, 16:32:43

Luigi
Well congrats mate, you did very well i shall give it a full read when i return home

09-05-2008, 16:33:34

ionicle
nice

good to see asus havent abandoned AMD, and neither has Nvidia, back in the day they made some good boards, like mine, the A8N sli-premium

Asus board

Nforce 4 chipset

AMD processor

tis the shizz

good to see we're building back upto that

amd processors were never really good overclockers anyway, you were lucky if you got 500MHz out of your athlon 64 series....

09-05-2008, 16:46:09

w3bbo
Opty 146 and DFI Ultra-D...../hums Hovis tune

I do hope AMD can get back inline with Intel as the support is evidently still there for enthusiasts with chipsets/motherboards like this.

09-05-2008, 17:02:29

Luigi
yeah, tis looking good

You going to be doing more reviews webbo?

09-05-2008, 17:03:32

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='teknokid'
yeah, tis looking good

You going to be doing more reviews webbo?
Mate he's already done a few, pay attention :whack::banng::haha:

09-05-2008, 17:10:02

Luigi
Lol, i havent been reading as many recently... nice

Did you get my pm kemp?

09-05-2008, 17:25:24

cl0ck_ed
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='ionicle'
nice

good to see asus havent abandoned AMD, and neither has Nvidia, back in the day they made some good boards, like mine, the A8N sli-premium
Haha, I had the A8N sli-deluxe, great board.

This new 780a chip looks packed with features, great (pre)review. The layout of the asus board looks spot on aswell.

16-05-2008, 19:22:30

Azza
Hes the thing about these boards.

1. The Price!

2. Current AMD processors.

Why pay 140+ for a motherboard that uses current AMD processors? When you could spend 140+ on an X48 board and get an Intel processor that is better than current AMDs. Who would buy a 140+ motherboard just for the onboard graphics and hybrid SLI when they would be combined with an AMD processor?

16-05-2008, 19:24:19

FarFarAway
OEM's getting nice prices but still wanting to sell PC's with decent specced GPU's?

01-06-2008, 09:45:34

PP Mguire

Asus board

Nforce 4 chipset

AMD processor

tis the shizz

Spot on, cept DFI Lanparty SLI-DR, X2, 3gig DDR500

Im glad there will be another reiview on this board though. To really put it through its paces you need to test the tri-SLI capability, Quad-SLI, and have a Phenom 9850X4 BE. Also testing hybrid SLI to see how well that works and to see if there really is a dip in performance with it enabled.

For a (not so) little preview i thought this was great. Keep up the good work! And sorry ima bit late. This is the board im looking at getting in the near future so i wanna see the OC3D seal of approval before i decide on heading to Intel. (Which is going to be exspensive for me, QX9650, DDR3, 790i, ect)
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.