MSI Z97 Gaming 9 Motherboard Review

Introduction and Technical Specifications

MSI Z97 Gaming 9 Review

Introduction

It's not often that a model name inspires us to imaging something different to that which the manufacturer has intended, but the MSI Z97 Gaming 9 definitely falls into that category. So put on your finest film trailer voice; "First there was the Famous 5, then the Magnificent 7, before the rules were changed with the Dirty Dozen. Now MicroStar International bring you : The Gaming 9. In a world..."

Just us?

So the MSI Z97 Gaming 9 is the high-end version of the excellent Gaming series, and seeks to follow on the good work we saw from the Gaming 5 when we reviewed it recently.

Despite its place at the top of the MSI Gaming range, the Gaming 9 AC is actually slightly more expensive than the MPOWER MAX AC, although we're sure that in time the price will drop. Even so it's still somewhere in the middle of the current Z97s on the market, so it provides a lot of features at a reasonable price.

Technical Specifications

If the devil is in the details, then the devil is well hidden in the plain specifications for the Gaming 9. A cursory perusal shows it to be a standard Z97 motherboard. Of course we're too experienced to limit ourselves to just a manufacturers specification table, so let's take a look at it up close.

  MSI Z97 Gaming 9 Review  

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 Next»

Most Recent Comments

05-08-2014, 05:33:20

tinytomlogan
http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...044823938l.JPG

Time for a look at the highest of the MSI Gaming models on the Z97 chipset, the Gaming 9.

Read more on the MSI Z97 Gaming 9 Motherboard Review here

05-08-2014, 07:14:23

Excalabur50
Im really looking forward to getting one of these just wish the $ hurry up.

11-08-2014, 09:14:46

colin
Here is a ASUS gaming motherboard review:

11-08-2014, 09:16:33

Dicehunter
Quote:
Originally Posted by colin View Post
Here is a ASUS gaming motherboard review:
That is a very sub par looking site and the review is seriously terrible.

Tom already covered that motherboard in great depth here - http://forum.overclock3d.net/showthread.php?t=66082

11-08-2014, 09:19:08

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dicehunter View Post
That is a very sub par looking site and the review is seriously terrible.

Tom already covered that motherboard in great depth here - http://forum.overclock3d.net/showthread.php?t=66082

I think he is spamming - who ever wrote that knows nothing about the actual board

11-08-2014, 09:21:04

Dicehunter
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
I think he is spamming - who ever wrote that knows nothing about the actual board
Probably just wants site hits/clicks

11-08-2014, 21:50:04

ccaution
Seems like MSI have put their s**t together and started producing nice motherboards again.

It been a while (AM3 era) since we saw a massive graveyard of their motherboards, right? I hope they put OCP etc. in place, on that beast...

15-08-2014, 15:24:56

Iken
yep better review is here

15-08-2014, 19:47:40

LunarNeedle
MSI have finally got a good check in my book after my friend had a non-existant BIOS in his motherboard. I'm decently impressed by this, but it's a shame I'm not in the market to overclock.

26-08-2014, 01:05:38

DeViLzzz
I still will take Gigabyte, ASRock and Gigabyte over MSI every single time right now for motherboards. There has to be a reason why MSI boards are so cheap. I want to see how many people are complaining or not complaining about MSI boards in a few years time before I give them a shot. I also think knowing how they ticked off Nvidia when it came to things they did with video cards keeps me from wanting to buy their products.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.