MSI Z77A GD65 Motherboard Review

Introduction and Technical Specifications

MSI Z77A GD65 Review   

Introduction

The previous generation of Intel LGA1155 motherboards ran the range from the bargain basement all the way up to the enthusiast level. Of course because most of us only have a certain budget the ones in the middle of the sandwich usually prove to be the most popular, and so it was with the MSI P67 GD65. A very highly rated motherboard that we found to be only good, it proved such a big seller that for the Z77 range of MSI Motherboards the GD65 version has moved from the midrange to the range-topper.

Positioning it at the top of the MSI range naturally brings with it certain expectations. After all if it was considered so good that a GD85 was unnecessary then we hope it's all things to all people. Is that the case though?

Technical Specifications

Specifications wise the GD65 is a pretty standard Z77 affair, with the usual array of connectivity options and memory speeds available, alongside the PCI Express 3.0 slots.

We're pleased to note that it retains the excellent Genie Overclock, a previous winner of an OC3D Innovation award.

CPU (Max Support)i7
FSB / Hyper Transport Bus100MHz
ChipsetIntel® Z77
DDR2 MemoryN/A
DDR3 MemoryDDR3 1066/1333/1600/1866*/2000*/2133*(OC), 2200*/2400*/2600*/2667*/2800* (OC, 22nm CPU required)
Memory ChannelDual
DIMM Slots4
Max Memory (GB)32
PCI-Ex163
PCI-E GenGen3 (16, 8, 4)
PCI-Ex4N/A
PCI-Ex14
PCIN/A
IDEN/A
SATAIII4
SATAII4
RAID0/1/5/10
LAN10/100/1000*1
TPM1
USB 3.0 ports (Rear)2
USB 2.0 ports (Rear)4
Audio ports (Rear)6+Coaxial / Optical SPDIF
Serial ports (Rear)N/A
Parallel ports (Rear)N/A
1394 ports (Rear)N/A
eSATAN/A
Display PortN/A
DrMOS IIY
VGA1
HDMI1
DVI1
VGA Max Share Memory (MB)1696
4-way SLIN/A
DirectXDX11
Form FactorATX
DrMOSN/A
APSY
SLIY
3-way SLIN/A
CrossFireY

 

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 Next»

Most Recent Comments

16-07-2012, 04:59:20

tinytomlogan
http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...075737664l.JPG

Today we take a look at the latest board from MSI, the Z77A GD65, which now sits at the top of their range.


Continue Reading

16-07-2012, 09:30:31

Master&Puppet
MSI's z77 offerings have become a really popular suggestion for new builds on these forums. I'm glad that the official OC3D reviews agree!

Thanks for the review Bryan.

16-07-2012, 09:32:25

Josh Weston
Yup, MSI have really hit jackpot with Z77, and for good reason.
A very good review - glad I made the right choice, and thanks to SieB for recommending the '65 to me!

16-07-2012, 12:39:36

VengeanceUK
i took a punt on msi whilst building my new rig, never having used one before.

all i can say is, despite the bewildering options on the uefi (i really wish they'd agree on standardised namings across different uefi's) the board is godly and i'm glad my gamble paid off

16-07-2012, 13:01:15

CPMFW
very nice review...
lovely looking board

16-07-2012, 18:27:04

Excalabur50
Nice clean good looking and performing board what more could you ask for?

18-07-2012, 10:03:47

GTX670
msi just rocks !

18-07-2012, 11:49:15

VengeanceUK
having run this board for over a month now, i can officially say all my preconceptions and expectations have been massively exceeded,
the only let down is my cpu refuses to go beyond 4.8 so can't get a 5ghz clock on it lol

18-07-2012, 11:58:18

Josh Weston
What voltage have you tried to push?

18-07-2012, 12:00:27

VengeanceUK
gone as far as 1.4v but refuses to boot, happy with 4.7 stable though

18-07-2012, 12:01:39

Josh Weston
Yeah, I can't say i'd have been happy going over 1.4
And yeah, a stable 4.7 is great - what are your temps like when stress testing?

18-07-2012, 12:02:55

GTX670
with ivy bridge please do never exceed 1.3v , when you do a excessive voltage you will get less performance

18-07-2012, 12:03:15

VengeanceUK
max i've seen is 85 degrees in a 29.5 degree ambient

18-07-2012, 12:04:54

Josh Weston
Your house is hot!
What stress test were you using? And at what volts?

18-07-2012, 12:11:21

VengeanceUK
the temp probe sits directly above the h100 vent so gives and approx expellation temp
1.3v cpu core and ibt

18-07-2012, 12:17:00

Josh Weston
A little on the hot side, but not bad at all. I'd be happy with those temps after IBT at 4.7
A testament to the CPU, the H100 and the GD65

And to GTX670 - I only go over for one off overclock attempts

18-07-2012, 13:26:37

Master&Puppet
Quote:
Originally Posted by GTX670 View Post
with ivy bridge please do never exceed 1.3v , when you do a excessive voltage you will get less performance
Does rather depend on your cooling too. Aircooling is going to struggle by 1.3v but you can go over on water as long as the temps are in check!

18-07-2012, 14:04:13

Yeren
well whilst im discussing the G55 in another thread i might just have to save up and extra 20 and get this instead shouldnt be too hard to i guess :P

19-07-2012, 17:25:26

NRG!
I got this board the other day to replace my maximus iv ex-z (fed up of the usb failing and wanted a blue themed board.)

It certainly looks the dogs. Haven't had a chance to o/c on it yet as my watercooling is all a bit frankenstein.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.