MSI Z77 MPower Review

Test Setup and Overclocking

MSI Z77 MPower Review

Test Setup

Testing the MPower was quite an adventure thanks to a flaw in the BIOS that utterly failed to recognise our ES i7-3770K and caused the board to replicate an "LN2 slow mode". Eventually MSI fixed this, and thankfully it wont affect retail CPUs. Worth noting though if you've acquired an ES CPU.

MSI Z77 MPower
Intel Core i7-3770K
8GB G.Skill Trident 2400 @ 10-12-12-31
MSI HD7950 with Catalyst 12.8
Cougar CM1000 PSU
Corsair F80 SSD
Thermalright Silver Arrow
Windows 7 x64 

Overclocking

The OC Genie is less impressive than it was when we first saw it, as CPU speeds are increasing the conservative overclock is barely above stock and perhaps even worse than the mere 4.2GHz speed was its insistence upon running our 2400MHz memory at 2133MHz, despite the XMP being good for 2400MHz.

However, you're unlikely to buy a MPower and auto-overclock it. With some tweaking we managed to obtain 5GHz from our i7 which is up there with the best we've seen, even if it wasn't stable enough to run any benchmarks with.

MSI Z77 MPower Review     MSI Z77 MPower Review  

For our OC results we'll be using the following overclock of 4.83 GHz, and the Memory at its XMP timings.

MSI Z77 MPower Review     MSI Z77 MPower Review  

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next»

Most Recent Comments

25-10-2012, 19:09:27

tinytomlogan
http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...075614913l.JPG

Today we take a look at the top of the range Z77 motherboard from MSI, the MPower.


Continue Reading

25-10-2012, 19:44:19

SieB
Was expecting it to be more than 150, definitely a bargain at that price though.
I was going to buy this board but my GPU is dying, so I need to replace that first

Technology, why u always brake on me? :\

25-10-2012, 22:43:52

murphy7801
Because you have a crap psu that causes ripple ?

25-10-2012, 22:45:20

airdeano
after the GD65 review.. i was ready to plunk down the cash, until i heard of the
Power. the lil bells went off in my head and waited (not long) till MPower was
available. call me vain, but the MPower is worth the lil extra for the color scheme
over the GD65. the actual specs are user necessities. no extra frills, just needed
parameters to have. soon as i thin the inventories down, MPower, you are MINE!

airdeano

26-10-2012, 08:05:44

SnW
Cool to see MSI keeps the ball rolling ,
/looks at P7N SLI Platinum board (Folding related tho!)

26-10-2012, 08:47:56

Gurt11
Great motherboard! I'd pick one up with an i5 straight away if I'd have the cash

26-10-2012, 14:47:51

JMMP
Very nice review! Fantastic board!!! It is already on the list of one of my favorites!!!

26-10-2012, 18:21:56

Lollipop
Have been in love with this board since i first saw it, glad it held up to my expectations.

26-10-2012, 18:30:00

Josh Weston
I do think that i'd be forced into buying one of MSI's Lightning cards, just so the colours would be a perfect match
Great looking board, only wish that it'd been out when I was buying my motherboard
Hope they follow suit for Haswell's MPower.

27-10-2012, 03:44:19

CPMFW
nice review as usual...
a fantastic looking board and a proper bargain

13-07-2013, 09:27:06

H4LManiac
got this mobo for a while now,
and I keep getting bsod when I use utorrent, with the onboard lan

13-07-2013, 09:28:37

FTLN
Quote:
Originally Posted by H4LManiac View Post
got this mobo for a while now,
and I keep getting bsod when I use utorrent, with the onboard lan
Get the latest driver from manufacturer and not from msi website..

13-07-2013, 09:34:20

H4LManiac
Quote:
Originally Posted by FTLN View Post
Get the latest driver from manufacturer and not from msi website..

I tried a lot of different drivers and they all gave me bsods over time some after 30 mins others after a few hours

13-07-2013, 09:37:44

Feronix
Quote:
Originally Posted by H4LManiac View Post
I tried a lot of different drivers and they all gave me bsods over time some after 30 mins others after a few hours
Maybe you just have too many drivers installed by now. Try Driver Sweeper and then try again what FTLN just told you
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.