MSI Z77 MPower Review

Up Close

MSI Z77 MPower Review

Up Close

The box packaging for the MPower is certainly eye-catching, with a chromatic effect dominating the front and the main highlights beneath a Velcro front flap. We like it a lot. Inside you have a surprisingly small selection of accessories, with just some probes standing apart from the usual array of SATA cables, manuals and driver CD.

MSI Z77 MPower Review      MSI Z77 MPower Review  

At first glance you'd be forgiven for thinking this is a Zotac motherboard, all black with yellow highlights. We so often see red or blue slots that it's nice to see a motherboard that wouldn't be out of place on a Spinal Tap album.

MSI Z77 MPower Review      MSI Z77 MPower Review  

The CPU area is well served by an enormous amount of power, and some rather attractive heatsinks. There is always a balance to be sought between form and function, and we think that MSI have done a fine job. The heatpipes between each heatsink are 8mm thick, which is the type of thickness we're more used to seeing on GPUs.

PCI slots are well spaced indeed, especially considering most people will only run a dual-card arrangement anyway. The battery placement is a bit of a faff, especially if you prefer to clear your CMOS with a battery removal.

MSI Z77 MPower Review      MSI Z77 MPower Review  

One very useful feature is the inclusion of a switch to change between the two available BIOS's. With high-end overclocking boards it's always nice to have the ability to have a stable one and then tweak the other.

The RAM section is very busy indeed. As well as the ATX power there is an additional 6pin PCIe power input for multi-GPU setups, voltage monitoring points, and the now standard power/reset buttons.

MSI Z77 MPower Review      MSI Z77 MPower Review  

Storage is handled by two SATA 6Gb/s ports and four SATA 3 Gb/s ones. At the rear we have a wealth of USB ports, DisplayPort and HDMI for iGP, WiFi/Bluetooth and the CMOS clear button.

MSI Z77 MPower Review     MSI Z77 MPower Review  

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next»

Most Recent Comments

25-10-2012, 19:09:27

tinytomlogan
http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...075614913l.JPG

Today we take a look at the top of the range Z77 motherboard from MSI, the MPower.


Continue Reading

25-10-2012, 19:44:19

SieB
Was expecting it to be more than 150, definitely a bargain at that price though.
I was going to buy this board but my GPU is dying, so I need to replace that first

Technology, why u always brake on me? :\

25-10-2012, 22:43:52

murphy7801
Because you have a crap psu that causes ripple ?

25-10-2012, 22:45:20

airdeano
after the GD65 review.. i was ready to plunk down the cash, until i heard of the
Power. the lil bells went off in my head and waited (not long) till MPower was
available. call me vain, but the MPower is worth the lil extra for the color scheme
over the GD65. the actual specs are user necessities. no extra frills, just needed
parameters to have. soon as i thin the inventories down, MPower, you are MINE!

airdeano

26-10-2012, 08:05:44

SnW
Cool to see MSI keeps the ball rolling ,
/looks at P7N SLI Platinum board (Folding related tho!)

26-10-2012, 08:47:56

Gurt11
Great motherboard! I'd pick one up with an i5 straight away if I'd have the cash

26-10-2012, 14:47:51

JMMP
Very nice review! Fantastic board!!! It is already on the list of one of my favorites!!!

26-10-2012, 18:21:56

Lollipop
Have been in love with this board since i first saw it, glad it held up to my expectations.

26-10-2012, 18:30:00

Josh Weston
I do think that i'd be forced into buying one of MSI's Lightning cards, just so the colours would be a perfect match
Great looking board, only wish that it'd been out when I was buying my motherboard
Hope they follow suit for Haswell's MPower.

27-10-2012, 03:44:19

CPMFW
nice review as usual...
a fantastic looking board and a proper bargain

13-07-2013, 09:27:06

H4LManiac
got this mobo for a while now,
and I keep getting bsod when I use utorrent, with the onboard lan

13-07-2013, 09:28:37

FTLN
Quote:
Originally Posted by H4LManiac View Post
got this mobo for a while now,
and I keep getting bsod when I use utorrent, with the onboard lan
Get the latest driver from manufacturer and not from msi website..

13-07-2013, 09:34:20

H4LManiac
Quote:
Originally Posted by FTLN View Post
Get the latest driver from manufacturer and not from msi website..

I tried a lot of different drivers and they all gave me bsods over time some after 30 mins others after a few hours

13-07-2013, 09:37:44

Feronix
Quote:
Originally Posted by H4LManiac View Post
I tried a lot of different drivers and they all gave me bsods over time some after 30 mins others after a few hours
Maybe you just have too many drivers installed by now. Try Driver Sweeper and then try again what FTLN just told you
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.