MSI Z68A GD65 G3 Review

BIOS and Software

MSI Z68A GD65 (G3) Review

BIOS and Software

Some motherboards have a UEFI BIOS equipped, and some have the mouse GUI BIOS enabled as a software utility. The MSI GD65 G3 has both a UEFI BIOS and a utility version. The best part is that both work and look exactly the same.

MSI Z68A GD65 (G3) Review     MSI Z68A GD65 (G3) Review  

It's all very usable well designed with everything pretty much where you'd expect it to be and certainly a big improvement upon the legacy style.

MSI Z68A GD65 (G3) Review     MSI Z68A GD65 (G3) Review  

As well as the Click BIOS existing as a utility, there is a 'live' way of overclocking using the MSI Control Center. Being able to skip that troublesome Windows boot part of the equation should let you reach higher clockspeeds and nail down a stable overclock a lot quicker than the endless "into BIOS, reboot, test, into BIOS" routine we're all so familiar with.

MSI Z68A GD65 (G3) Review     MSI Z68A GD65 (G3) Review

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next»

Most Recent Comments

28-09-2011, 05:19:45

tinytomlogan
With the Gen3 technologies starting to appear on motherboards, we take a look at the GD65 from MSI.



Continue Reading

28-09-2011, 05:43:34

SieB
Good to see the Gen3's are starting to come out now. The GD65-G3 seems a pretty decent board and just shows how overpriced the Sniper 2 is.

The GD65-G3 might not look as good but it doesn't look bad and performance wise, at half the price, it's not far off the Sniper 2 either nothing worth spending another 150 for anyway.

Also, I have probs with my Steelseries Xai in the BIOS of my P8P67 I have to use the keyboard, I think UEFI doesn't like some gaming mice

28-09-2011, 06:40:40

murphy7801
Would be nice could test some of the Asrock gen3's ?

28-09-2011, 06:43:56

VonBlade
Quote:
Originally Posted by murphy7801 View Post

Would be nice could test some of the Asrock gen3's ?
Last I heard they were planning to send us one, so watch this space.

28-09-2011, 08:24:11

murphy7801
Quote:
Originally Posted by VonBlade View Post

Last I heard they were planning to send us one, so watch this space.
Good! then full sweep of all the gens 3 on the market.

28-09-2011, 09:17:06

Murdolator
Interesting, i've been trying to shortlist some Gen 3 motherboards for my upgrade so it's nice to see some performance results.

Shame the overclock wasn't too great but overall performance for the price seems reasonable.

28-09-2011, 11:53:24

murphy7801
Quote:
Originally Posted by Murdolator View Post

Interesting, i've been trying to shortlist some Gen 3 motherboards for my upgrade so it's nice to see some performance results.

Shame the overclock wasn't too great but overall performance for the price seems reasonable.
Thought the performance for the price is fair the looks are little dull.

28-09-2011, 12:43:08

Murdolator
Quote:
Originally Posted by murphy7801 View Post

Thought the performance for the price is fair the looks are little dull.
True, it's certainly not the nicest looking board. But worth considering for a windowless build perhaps.

The asrock board probably has it beat looks wise, be interesting to see how they compare performance wise, since i don't think there is too much difference in price right now between this and the extreme 4 gen 3 board.

And i think Asus have possibly just thrown some Gen 3 boards into the mix too.

29-09-2011, 09:59:49

murphy7801
Quote:
Originally Posted by Murdolator View Post

True, it's certainly not the nicest looking board. But worth considering for a windowless build perhaps.

The asrock board probably has it beat looks wise, be interesting to see how they compare performance wise, since i don't think there is too much difference in price right now between this and the extreme 4 gen 3 board.

And i think Asus have possibly just thrown some Gen 3 boards into the mix too.
Well asrock was created by asus and still hold majority ownership by long way so Iv always wondered if they use asrock as a Petri dish for new tech. Also the asrock extreme 4 and 3 look rather nice to me hopefully they perform well because want I liked use one for a htpc.

29-09-2011, 16:39:50

clone38
This board runs my 2600k @4.5ghz 1.29v its my first MSI and so far i like it bios needs a bit of work they are updating it every week or so now so it will get there in the end

15-10-2011, 05:26:44

Steamy
Planning a look at the new ASUS P8Z68-V Pro (etc.,) GEN3 MB's? Would be interested to know your findings as I have an eye on one of these.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.